Page 94 of 97

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 May 2019 00:32
by JackDole
AllinBilly wrote:
Source of the post And how to attach files to my post?

You can use Pastebin to post your SE.log here.
Just paste the link for the Pastbin page here.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 May 2019 10:07
by snyper1188
Hey guys, anyone been able to figure out my issue with planet texture mapping going weird?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 May 2019 11:38
by Mosfet
snyper1188, sorry for the late reply. I noticed you're using SE 0980 with the "e" patch. The issues with the texture are one of the bugs resulting from that patch. I'm afraid the only way is reverting to a pristine 0980 version. If you don't plan to stay in the Solar System, other than the accurate orbit data, you won't miss much.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 May 2019 15:45
by A-L-E-X
Mosfet wrote:
snyper1188, sorry for the late reply. I noticed you're using SE 0980 with the "e" patch. The issues with the texture are one of the bugs resulting from that patch. I'm afraid the only way is reverting to a pristine 0980 version. If you don't plan to stay in the Solar System, other than the accurate orbit data, you won't miss much.

Oh, is that why I get weird texture bugs too? I exclusively use the patch version.  It's not a big deal because you just have to wait a minute or so and the textures finish loading properly.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 30 May 2019 16:18
by snyper1188
Mosfet wrote:
snyper1188, sorry for the late reply. I noticed you're using SE 0980 with the "e" patch. The issues with the texture are one of the bugs resulting from that patch. I'm afraid the only way is reverting to a pristine 0980 version. If you don't plan to stay in the Solar System, other than the accurate orbit data, you won't miss much.

Hey, no worries, we're all busy people lol, so how would I go about reverting to 0980?  Is it easy to do? (i hope)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 30 May 2019 19:02
by JackDole
snyper1188 wrote:
Source of the post so how would I go about reverting to 0980?  Is it easy to do? (i hope)

You have to reinstall SE completely. And in an empty folder.
That is, you have to delete any remaining files after a deinstallation!

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 31 May 2019 17:32
by themohawkninja
I am trying to run SpaceEngine through [url=https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/psexec]psexec[/url] as part of a project, but despite trying to run it both under my user account (which has local admin privileges) and the Windows SYSTEM profile, the game throws a "Error loading texture generation shaders" error, despite running perfectly fine if I just double-click on the .exe.

I noticed somebody mentioned that error is caused by an out-of-date OpenGL, but that would imply that Powershell is calling an older version of OpenGL, which isn't possible, right?

Is there a log somewhere I can check to get more information about the error that SE is throwing? The "se.log" file in the "system" folder didn't change between successful and failed attempts to run SE.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 31 May 2019 18:00
by themohawkninja
As an update, even in cmd I get the error, however there is something interesting to note:

Trying to execute the game in an Admin cmd results in the aforementioned error, however running cmd just as me results in a "Cannot create the log file! Check access rights to the SpaceEngine folder!" error.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 31 May 2019 18:33
by themohawkninja
Nvm, it's related to the fact that I call the .exe file it's full path instead of changing directory into the system folder and running the .exe.

Strange...

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 31 May 2019 19:05
by JackDole
themohawkninja wrote:


That's not strange, it's completely normal. I do not know a program which loads further files, with which this would not be the case.
The program can only find these files if it is started from the correct working directory.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 01 Jun 2019 16:07
by ocornoc
Exporting a planet's surface color map for any of the five formats (PNG, TGA, DDS, JPG, TIF) [b]except JPG[/b] produces incorrect diff maps of the planet, and extremely weird results when enabling "Paint up oceans". (My tests were only cylindrical projections and were a resolution of 1024, but i have reproduced this with PNG at 4k and 8k resolutions with both cylindrical and cubemap projections. In the screenshots I have Rodrigo's Mod, but I reproduced identical problems with just vanilla SE) The clouds seem to end up fine, though.

With all but JPG, when exporting the surface without "Paint up oceans", the ocean floor and polar ice caps are exported. With "Paint up oceans", the ocean and polar ice caps are exported. JPG is the only one that actually outputs the correct map (presumably).

As an example, [url=https://mega.nz/#!S3RUBSrK!CeReg8LDBmMZhTBs8A769VEzZR-uFPvghUY84r395kw]as you can see on this planet[/url], the centered land feature is a body of water. But, in the attached exports (without "Paint up oceans" and except for JPGs), only the "ocean" floor is exported.

[url=https://mega.nz/#!HmZyxKaR!XFbA4j0inKYMooaerg8SaMvILNJ0f7mMTVrUAfZi54k]Diffs with "Paint up oceans"[/url]
[url=https://mega.nz/#!vyYwkCrJ!YELIVHHZO6E_Na_E2VW9nOKdemhtjgnL-PBJII4Xl-w]Diffs without "Paint up oceans"[/url]
[url=https://mega.nz/#!KiYAwIzZ!sRffDCevWJPVdDM_2fAl3SHoDzj78E_r2QFcVKMPU8k]se.log[/url]

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 01 Jun 2019 17:28
by HarbingerDawn
Specular information is stored in the alpha channel. The correct information should still be there in RGB. If you only want that and want to remove the alpha channel information, then you need to edit the image to get rid of the alpha channel without affecting the RGB channels (I could tell you how to do that in GIMP, but not any other program).

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 01 Jun 2019 18:50
by 01000101
I'm encountering an issue with the planetary system browser. When I turn on MSAA anti aliasing artifacts appear over the planets in the system browser. I started having this issue when I updated my GPU drivers. Also, my MSAA is limited to 8.

Log: [url=https://pastebin.com/nT5CveN5]https://pastebin.com/nT5CveN5[/url]

Images: [url=https://imgur.com/a/mCFB84O]https://imgur.com/a/mCFB84O[/url]

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 01 Jun 2019 19:28
by ocornoc
[quote="HarbingerDawn"]Specular information is stored in the alpha channel. The correct information should still be there in RGB. If you only want that and want to remove the alpha channel information, then you need to edit the image to get rid of the alpha channel without affecting the RGB channels (I could tell you how to do that in GIMP, but not any other program).[/quote]

Thanks!

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 02 Jun 2019 07:33
by Mr. Abner
01000101 wrote:
I'm encountering an issue with the planetary system browser. When I turn on MSAA anti aliasing artifacts appear over the planets in the system browser. I started having this issue when I updated my GPU drivers. Also, my MSAA is limited to 8.

Log: https://pastebin.com/nT5CveN5

Images: https://imgur.com/a/mCFB84O

Did you delete the SpaceEngine\cache\ folder after updating the drivers before restarting Space Engine?