Page 73 of 78

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 09 Jul 2018 14:15
by Porrima
[quote="Mosfet"]I'm sorry, [ref]Porrima[/ref], but how exactly you change those names, via wiki info editing?[/quote]

Right click on star, info, edit, change the name.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 09 Jul 2018 15:00
by JackDole
Porrima wrote:
Source of the post Maybe. Silly as it sounds, if the name of the system, which shows on the main screen as you fly around, starts with a greek letter or a number, you cannot rename it to something else. If it doesn't, you can.

That can not be the reason. Because as I said, it works for me.
scr00005.jpg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 09 Jul 2018 18:27
by Porrima
[quote="JackDole"][quote="Porrima"][post]21475[/post] Maybe. Silly as it sounds, if the name of the system, which shows on the main screen as you fly around, starts with a [b]greek letter [/b]or a [b]number[/b], you cannot rename it to something else. If it doesn't, you can. [/quote]
That can not be the reason. Because as I said, it works for me.
scr00005.jpg[/quote]

But does it still work when you fly far away from the star, far enough that you see other stars all around? Or does the name change for you too?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 09 Jul 2018 22:28
by JackDole
Porrima wrote:
Source of the post But does it still work when you fly far away from the star, far enough that you see other stars all around? Or does the name change for you too?

Sorry, you're right. I only had names for suns enabled. Not for stars. When I enable names for stars, the original name appears.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 15 Jul 2018 12:05
by Bluepy
Hello everyone,

I just created an account here because I've recently built a new PC and wanted to enjoy the game in 4K resolution. Here are the main specs:
i7-8700k
GTX 1080 Ti w/ latest WHQL drivers (398.36)
16GB of RAM

Problem, ever since I got this PC running, the software keeps crashing after a while. I decided to monitor the GPU with GPU-Z, and noticed it will crash once reaching ~8.2 GB of vram. The 1080 Ti has 11 GB, so I'm confused since dedicated memory isn't even full.

Just before the game crashes, black tiles appear on procedural planets as I fly over them. Then it freezes and often, screen goes black (but doesn't go in sleep mode and backlight is still on) and I have to unplug, then plug back the DP cable to get an image again.

System RAM doesn't get full either as the game takes ~2.8 GB before crash.

I've looked quickly in this topic as well as in the forum section, and haven't seen people talking about this GPU in particular. And I hope mine isn't defective.
Is there a reason the game would crash like this? Is it the engine unable to handle more and failing to allocate and crashing? Is it a driver issue?
Is it documented, has this happened to anyone?

Thanks in advance!

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 17 Jul 2018 01:10
by thefliris
[img]https://imgur.com/a/OFDCPSv[/img]
I keep getting this annoying issue. The UI buttons don't appear and they are replaced by black rectangles.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 17 Jul 2018 02:41
by JackDole
thefliris wrote:
Source of the post I keep getting this annoying issue. The UI buttons don't appear and they are replaced by black rectangles.

You can open the 'main-USER.cfg' in an editor and enter the name of your favorite skin in the section 'Interface' under the parameter 'Skin'.
// Interface settings
Interface
{
    Language                "eng"    // interface localization
    Skin                    "Minimalistic Black"        // interface skin

For me this is 'Minimalistic Black'.
(The 'main-user.cfg' is located in the 'config' directory of your SpaceEngine installation.)

But as there may still be more errors in the 'main-user.cfg', it is a good idea to simply delete the file. You may also want to delete the 'save-user.cfg'.

If that does not help, you'll need to reinstall SpaceEngine.
But, definitely install SpaceEngine in an empty folder! This means that after uninstalling the old version, delete all remaining files in the folder. Preferably. delete the whole folder!

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 18 Jul 2018 09:18
by thefliris
You can open the '[b]main-USER.cfg[/b]' in an editor and enter the name of your favorite skin in the section '[b]Interface[/b]' under the parameter '[b]Skin[/b]'.

That fixed it, Thank you :)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jul 2018 11:18
by Thimenu
Oftentimes deleting space ships crashes the game for me. I think it usually happens when the ship has its engines one, and also happens more often when I delete many ships in sequence.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 27 Jul 2018 21:47
by TheMagicDragon
HOw do you add a screen shhot to your post.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 27 Jul 2018 23:13
by JackDole
TheMagicDragon wrote:
Source of the post HOw do you add a screen shhot to your post.

You can not do that yet. You must first made at least 10 posts.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 28 Jul 2018 07:46
by vlad01
Bluepy wrote:
Hello everyone,

I just created an account here because I've recently built a new PC and wanted to enjoy the game in 4K resolution. Here are the main specs:
i7-8700k
GTX 1080 Ti w/ latest WHQL drivers (398.36)
16GB of RAM

Problem, ever since I got this PC running, the software keeps crashing after a while. I decided to monitor the GPU with GPU-Z, and noticed it will crash once reaching ~8.2 GB of vram. The 1080 Ti has 11 GB, so I'm confused since dedicated memory isn't even full.

Just before the game crashes, black tiles appear on procedural planets as I fly over them. Then it freezes and often, screen goes black (but doesn't go in sleep mode and backlight is still on) and I have to unplug, then plug back the DP cable to get an image again.

System RAM doesn't get full either as the game takes ~2.8 GB before crash.

I've looked quickly in this topic as well as in the forum section, and haven't seen people talking about this GPU in particular. And I hope mine isn't defective.
Is there a reason the game would crash like this? Is it the engine unable to handle more and failing to allocate and crashing? Is it a driver issue?
Is it documented, has this happened to anyone?

Thanks in advance!


Could be a driver issue.  I was getting a black screen with the latest driver on my 980 as of 3 weeks ago when I had updated, the black screen was on windows start up for me, I didn't get to test any games or SE because I was stuck at having a black screen on start up for 5-10 min before the desktop finally appeared.   I had to uninstall and use DDU in safe mode to get rid of the driver and reverted to a known working one from January

I read that DP and the latest drivers on nvidia cards causes black screens, at least on 9 series cards and require a bios update.  I had the issue with DVI so it seems more wide spread than what was indicated.
The driver I had issues with is version 398.11

I use version 391.01 and also had no issues with drivers in the prior 2 years before that.  Only had issues with the latest series of releases.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 28 Jul 2018 16:19
by TheMagicDragon
help!! I have a problem but i dont know how to attatch a screenshot to a post. can someone help me

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 28 Jul 2018 17:40
by Propulsion Disk
TheMagicDragon wrote:
Source of the post help!! I have a problem but i dont know how to attatch a screenshot to a post. can someone help me

Well for one thing you need to have made ten posts on the forum, then, just click on the "add files" button and select the screenshot you took, after that, it should be in your post. :)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 28 Jul 2018 19:15
by TheMagicDragon
Help how do i add pictures to a post