Page 69 of 74

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 25 May 2018 15:16
by stewartIM
Not sure if this has been answered before, but the texture on the surface of my neutron stars doesn't render correctly. It just looks like a pure white ball.

I am running SpaceEngine version 0.980 with NVidia graphics.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 26 May 2018 23:03
by Wyddershins
Oh, thanks! I guess I didn't search hard enough for a report of something like that happening, sorry for wasting time with a known issue :p

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 10 Jun 2018 05:04
by An'shur
Sometimes while editing a planet and exporting, canyonFraction drops to 0. Then I have to rewrite it manually to canyonsFraction and add the value I want (I believe plural form with s to be correct, since the other two parameters for canyons use it).

It mostly happens to me while editing deserts and sometimes terra planets, but this occurence may be coincidental, since these are the planet types I play with the most.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jun 2018 03:30
by vlad01
Version 0.9.8.0e plain version with no mods.

I seem to have a consistent crash only when exploring the center of the galaxy NGC 4889 for large black holes, have had no issues at all exploring any other galaxies since I have had SE for the last month or so.

First I noticed the star search appears to break in this area, the background UI flickers like mad and the loading indicator does the same. This happens even with the search complete and most things can't be clicked on unless you click stop search which really shouldn't do that as the search has already completed. It's as if the search is looping really quick in the background without the search field showing this.

Then the graphics go strange, fine one direction but completely white looking behind

After some few sec it crashes with a runtime error which I have been unable to get a screen shot as anything I do after that causes everything to close and disappear.

I have had this about 3 times in a row without fail and it does not remember the last location I last was in any of the crashes after restarting and ends up where I was the previous time I ran it which was a few days ago.

I have attached the log file and there is a heap of errors relating to vertex mapping.

se.log
(59.02 KiB) Downloaded 41 times

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jun 2018 04:33
by JackDole
vlad01 wrote:
Source of the post
I have attached the log file and there is a heap of errors relating to vertex mapping.

This error message:
[MT] ERROR: seStarBlock :: InitParticles (): Unable to map the vertex buffer

I only have, if I have set the star brightness too high.
Try to reduce the brightness of the stars.
scr00014.jpg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jun 2018 06:04
by vlad01
Ok thanks. Is there a reason why this happens?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jun 2018 06:17
by JackDole
vlad01 wrote:
Source of the post Is there a reason why this happens?

The brighter you set the stars, the more stars must be kept in memory at the same time. At some point, there probably will not be enough memory left.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jun 2018 07:03
by vlad01
system or Vram?

That seemed to do the trick but reducing the brightness.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jun 2018 10:04
by JackDole
vlad01 wrote:
Source of the post system or Vram?

I suspect Vram, but I'm not sure.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 14 Jun 2018 19:29
by vlad01
I do as well as my 4GB 980 seems to run out in many applications including SE.

SpaceEngine F.A.Q.

Posted: 18 Jun 2018 23:05
by Circles [GD]
I am new to SpaceEngine. It is just absolutely amazing, and I love every aspect of it. It's just that I am running through several problems.. when I look at several other videos made with this Engine, I see fantastic sightings, large canyons and mountains, rivers, craters, hurricanes, tremendous views as well as many other amazing textures. But unfortunately, my laptop doesn't display such. Is there anything that I can do to apply these materials into the Engine without having to edit planets? I was trying to play around with the graphics and test certain things out, including opening the console itself and typing "set landlod 2". It worked a bit, but barely anything has happened, just some small mountain bumps. Of course I am already happy with what I have, but if supposedly "better" textures exist, I am just curious how come its just myself who doesn't have those advantages. I have been spending days and hours trying to figure this out, and I have even been cutting through my school time and wasn't studying for my finals just so I could hopefully figure this out, but I guess it didn't happen. I have spoken about this with some other developers, and they have mentioned that my case in particular is strange. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jun 2018 01:12
by Mosfet
Circles [GD] wrote:
Source of the post I am just curious how come its just myself who doesn't have those advantages.


Could you please use https://pastebin.com/ to post your se.log file, which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, and give us here the address of the file?
There's a big difference in terms of quality between textured Solar System bodies and procedurally generated planets. Could you link some screenshot (ctrl-F11)?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jun 2018 06:37
by Propulsion Disk
Circles [GD] wrote:
I am new to SpaceEngine. It is just absolutely amazing, and I love every aspect of it. It's just that I am running through several problems.. when I look at several other videos made with this Engine, I see fantastic sightings, large canyons and mountains, rivers, craters, hurricanes, tremendous views as well as many other amazing textures. But unfortunately, my laptop doesn't display such. Is there anything that I can do to apply these materials into the Engine without having to edit planets? I was trying to play around with the graphics and test certain things out, including opening the console itself and typing "set landlod 2". It worked a bit, but barely anything has happened, just some small mountain bumps. Of course I am already happy with what I have, but if supposedly "better" textures exist, I am just curious how come its just myself who doesn't have those advantages. I have been spending days and hours trying to figure this out, and I have even been cutting through my school time and wasn't studying for my finals just so I could hopefully figure this out, but I guess it didn't happen. I have spoken about this with some other developers, and they have mentioned that my case in particular is strange. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Okay I've got a few questions for you.
What videos were you watching?
What planet(s) are you on?

And if you answer what I think you'll answer, then.
You're watching a video of 0.9.9.0.
And you're on one of the solar system planets.

And if you want better textures for said planets then go here.
http://spaceengine.org/download/official-addons/solar-system-hd/

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jun 2018 10:03
by Circles [GD]
[quote="Mosfet"][quote="Circles [GD]"][post]21007[/post] I am just curious how come its just myself who doesn't have those advantages.[/quote]

Could you please use [url=https://pastebin.com/]https://pastebin.com/[/url] to post your [b]se.log[/b] file, which is located in your [b]SpaceEngine/system/[/b] folder, and give us here the address of the file?
There's a big difference in terms of quality between textured Solar System bodies and procedurally generated planets. Could you link some screenshot (ctrl-F11)?[/quote]

https://pastebin.com/Va0wkikj for you, my friend

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

Posted: 19 Jun 2018 10:23
by Circles [GD]
[quote="Propulsion Disk"][quote="Circles [GD]"]I am new to SpaceEngine. It is just absolutely amazing, and I love every aspect of it. It's just that I am running through several problems.. when I look at several other videos made with this Engine, I see fantastic sightings, large canyons and mountains, rivers, craters, hurricanes, tremendous views as well as many other amazing textures. But unfortunately, my laptop doesn't display such. Is there anything that I can do to apply these materials into the Engine without having to edit planets? I was trying to play around with the graphics and test certain things out, including opening the console itself and typing "set landlod 2". It worked a bit, but barely anything has happened, just some small mountain bumps. Of course I am already happy with what I have, but if supposedly "better" textures exist, I am just curious how come its just myself who doesn't have those advantages. I have been spending days and hours trying to figure this out, and I have even been cutting through my school time and wasn't studying for my finals just so I could hopefully figure this out, but I guess it didn't happen. I have spoken about this with some other developers, and they have mentioned that my case in particular is strange. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.[/quote]
Okay I've got a few questions for you.
What videos were you watching?
What planet(s) are you on?

And if you answer what I think you'll answer, then.
You're watching a video of 0.9.9.0.
And you're on one of the solar system planets.

And if you want better textures for said planets then go here.
[url=http://spaceengine.org/download/official-addons/solar-system-hd/]http://spaceengine.org/download/official-addons/solar-system-hd/[/url][/quote]


well, several. Here are some of the many:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ve0Bpmx8Fk0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRJgYOgf8xc

I also saw some videos that involved animations, such as exploding nebulae, or a magnificent view of a planet with a massive hurricane. I'm not quite sure which update those are from anyways. I understand that there aren't that much textures in our Solar System, maybe Vladimir is trying to get a more realistic view of certain parts of the planets to have the textures exact, who knows? It is alright either way. I even end up going into random Galaxies and random Solar Systems, but still, I just get plain terrain (including the titans that I visit, the desert-like planets, and more)

here are some screenshots:

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... _58_PM.png

and then my graphics

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... apture.PNG

afterwards I changed my loading speed to 25

it loaded a bit better, but I know this wasn't the best that it could get

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... _15_PM.png

when I arrived at a desert-like planet, there were barely any features involved
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... _36_PM.png

I have explored several other planets randomly, and it was nothing like what showed up in those videos.

I did see some 0.9.9.0 trailers, and I know that those updates haven't came yet. I was trying to refer to the present update.

and besides, thank you for that link