Free planetarium

 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 246
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 14:47

snuggles, JackDole is right. Those are indeed sediment layers, and the vast majority of the time, they look good, and while none of the screenies above show glitched sediment lines, they can become glitchy on mountainous peaks that breach the total bump height of a planet:

SpaceEngine 2017-03-06 16-53-54.png
Example of glitched sediments
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 18:50

Hi, I am wondering what can be done to speed up the simulator and remove lags.  I am near the bottom end of the specs necessary, but cannot update at this time because this motherboard is ancient.  I have a Core 2 Quad Q6600 CPU (4 cores x 2.4 GHz), 2 GB of DDR2 RAM, Nvidia 8800 GTS 640MB 112 SP GPU.  I set LOD to -2 and turned Threaded Optimization off and set minimum video memory used to 2048 MB.  The other issue I am having is GPU overheating, the temp of the chip is at 101 C right now and I'm not even doing anything- it's just sitting there!  I even reduced the resolution of the window to 800x600.  Is there any way to place less burden on the chip and lower its temp and remove the lag?  Can I lower the FPS somehow?  Sometimes it zooms up to 300 fps and that's when the lag comes in.  When it's around 10-15 fps there is no lag so maybe I can set the maximum fps to a low number somewhere?  I attached the se.log

Also I had a little error when I tried to run the program for the first time, right after installing it.  I ignored the error and the program seemed to run okay, the error notification mentioned there was some file it was not able to delete.  It should be somewhere in the log file I uploaded.
Attachments
se.log
(485.09 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 19:45

Also something is happening that is causing the stars I visit to blink in and out, weird. I increased the window resolution to 1024x768.  For some reason when I go to fullscreen everything disappears and all I see is black?
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 606
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 20:05

A-L-E-X,
you may need to update your graphics drivers, if this is possible.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 20:08

I believe 340.52 were the last nVidia drivers released for XP 32 bit.  I don't think newer ones are available.
Well, I tried to land on a star in fullscreen mode and I got a Visual C runtime error.  I have dual LCD monitors, each is 1280x1024, but it won't work at full screen although it does seem to work at 1024x768 in window mode.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 20:15

Question, if I change settings and later on Visual C crashes, will the new settings be saved or will the program revert to default settings?
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 606
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 20:23

A-L-E-X,
according to the Nvidia driver page, the latest Nvidia driver should be 342.01.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 21:12

I've gotten it to where the program starts quickly (less than 1 min) and there are no errors on start up, but the program always crashes upon exit, I have to use ctrl-alt-delete to get rid of the process and restart it.

I will go check about the drivers, but I remember them saying they discontinued updates (I haven't gotten a notification from them) so I'll try again,
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Mar 2017 21:13

Meanwhile is there any way to put a cap on FPS? I find there is no lag when the FPS is 10-15, but sometimes the program zooms up to 300 FPS.  I'd like to cap the FPS to 15, like you can do with Stellarium and that gets rid of lag and high CPU usage.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 Mar 2017 12:15

I rechecked the NVidia driver site, and 340.52 are the latest available drivers.


http://www.geforce.com/drivers

[color=white][size=150]Manual Driver Search
ImageSearch all GeForce drivers including WHQL, beta and legacy, by providing your system information.
[/size][/color]
GeForceLegacy3D VisionIONGeForceGeForce 10 SeriesGeForce 10 Series (Notebooks)GeForce 900 SeriesGeForce 900M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 800M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 700 SeriesGeForce 700M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 600 SeriesGeForce 600M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 500 SeriesGeForce 500M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 400 SeriesGeForce 400M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 300 SeriesGeForce 300M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 200 SeriesGeForce 200M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 100 SeriesGeForce 100M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 9 SeriesGeForce 9M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 8 SeriesGeForce 8M Series (Notebooks)GeForce 7 SeriesGeForce Go 7 Series (Notebooks)GeForce 6 SeriesGeForce 5 FX SeriesGeForce 8 SeriesGeForce 8800 UltraGeForce 8800 GTXGeForce 8800 GTS 512GeForce 8800 GTSGeForce 8800 GTGeForce 8800 GSGeForce 8600 GTSGeForce 8600 GTGeForce 8600 GSGeForce 8500 GTGeForce 8400 GSGeForce 8400 SEGeForce 8400GeForce 8300 GSGeForce 8300GeForce 8200GeForce 8200 /nForce 730aGeForce 8100 /nForce 720aGeForce 8800 GTSWindows 10 32-bitWindows 10 64-bitWindows 7 32-bitWindows 7 64-bitWindows 8.1 32-bitWindows 8.1 64-bitWindows 8 32-bitWindows 8 64-bitWindows Vista 32-bitWindows Vista 64-bitWindows XPWindows XP 64-bitWindows Server 2003 x64Linux 32-bitLinux 32-bit ARMLinux 64-bitSolaris x86/x64FreeBSD x86FreeBSD x64macOS Leopard 10.5.7Mac OS X SnowLeopard 10.6.8Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5macOS Mountain Lion 10.8.5macOS Mavericks 10.9.5macOS Yosemite 10.10.5macOS El Capitan 10.11.6macOS Sierra 10.12macOS Sierra 10.12.1macOS Sierra 10.12.2macOS Sierra 10.12.3Windows XPEnglish (US)English (UK)English (India)Chinese (Simplified)Chinese (Traditional)JapaneseKoreanDeutschEspañol (España)Español (América Latina)FrançaisItalianoPolskiPortuguês (Brazil)РусскийTurkishOtherEnglish (US)AllRecommended/CertifiedBetaAllSTART SEARCH
 

[font={defaultattr}]
 [/font]

[color=white][size=150]Results


ImageGeForce 340.52 Driver
Version: 340.52 - Release Date: Tue Jul 29, 2014
ImageGeForce 340.43 Driver (BETA) - BETA
Version: 340.43 - Release Date: Tue Jun 17, 2014
[/size][/color]
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 Mar 2017 12:17

Everything seems to be working today, when I started the program right from start up, without having my browser open.  I'm thinking it's Chromodo and Dragon, the two browsers I use, that are the memory hogs.  The only problem I am still having is that the program freezes when I try to close it- either via clicking Exit or trying to X out.  It's not a big deal, it seems to restore my previous session when I restart it so I just x out and manually turn off the program using ctrl-alt-del or wait for the Windows stopped responding dialog to pop up and close it using that.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 Mar 2017 12:18

Also, today my GPU seems not to be as hot- 73C instead of 101C!  Even though I've been running it for an hour now.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 Mar 2017 13:50

GPU is back up to 105C.  Is this normal and a concern or can I use the program normally without worrying about something happening to my GPU?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 719
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 Mar 2017 14:48

A-L-E-X, unfortunately you're right and I can confirm that your drivers are the latest available for Win XP.

Depending on the conditions and accumulated mileage of your graphic card, and if heating is discarded with the help of a fan or only passive radiators, I think it's possible that your GPU reach 100 Celsius, Space Engine make abundant use of that chip and video RAM memory, which in your case is less than 1GB minimum suggested.
This could also be the reason for some crash, high temperature and aging VRAM could raise the chances of a memory addressing problem.

I think it would be better for the card to work with lower temp so I'd suggest you to check if said fan is working and to use something like a can of compressed air to clean up possible dust clogs from the card.
If it's a custom PC case, sometimes even if it isn't, there's the possibility to force better air flowing with the installation of a 80mm case fan, thus lowering overall internal temperature. Your mainboard could have pins to attach and control that fan via BIOS, but it's not really necessary.
Last edited by Mosfet on 07 Mar 2017 14:49, edited 1 time in total.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 921
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 Mar 2017 14:49

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post today my GPU seems not to be as hot- 73C instead of 101C


There is nothing cool about that.  That is well into the thermal throttling range.  A GPU should only ever hit 70 to 80C when running a demanding game or program, and even then that is pushing it.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest