Free planetarium

 
Explo
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Jun 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jun 2017 19:06

2.53 GHz 8 RAM and the graphics card is good but it says space engine has stopped working and crashes.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jun 2017 19:09

Explo, please upload your log file as described in the opening post.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Explo
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Jun 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jun 2017 19:37

this one
Attachments
se.log
(536 Bytes) Downloaded 15 times
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 252
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jun 2017 23:13

Explo, you're using Intel HD graphics, which is not ideal for running SE. On top of that, your OpenGL version is not sufficient for running SE. Try updating your video drivers.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Dracontes
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jan 2017
Location: Algarve, Portugal
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 Jun 2017 04:14

Here's some tersely described events logged earlier this year. My apologies for not reporting on them sooner but such are the vagaries of life. These crashes involved a fair bit of previous star browser use, often enough extending search radii beyond 100 light-years (up to 400) and good amount of galaxy hopping as well. While after enough of these happening prompted me to attempt a cache purge I don't think it did much good. 
  • zooming out while traversing intergalactic space provokes a runtime crash.
    se201702020725rfvs.log
    (90.96 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
  • Runtime crash after apparently too many consecutive zooming in and out on the universe map.
    se201702021319rfvs.log
    (77.19 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
  • Runtime crash after deactivating orbits while going from RSC 3644-19-0-0-0 S13 to RS 9385-63-6-262143-8964 4.
    se201702021347rfvs.log
    (57.68 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
  • Runtime crash after resetting magnitude when moving a relatively small distance through intergalactic space between the vicinity of Centaurus A and M 83.
    se201702021724rfvs.log
    (104.28 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
  • A black box formed around the Antennae Galaxies when approached by rotating/pivoting around the Sombrero galaxy. IIRC I managed to exit the program in time. Event reported here due to parallels with others that did result in a crash.
  • Runtime crash after pivoting around the supermassive black hole system of M 87.
    se201702022012rfvs.log
    (54.63 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
  • Runtime crash after pivoting around  M 87 at a substantial intergalactic distance.
    se201702022035rfvs.log
    (53.83 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
  • Runtime crash while distancing myself from M 81.
    se201702022127rfvs.log
    (61.23 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
  • Runtime crash while distancing myself from M 82.
    se201702031250rfvs.log
    (55.95 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
  • Runtime crash while using the star browser at RSC 5649-2399-0-0-0 S4 towards the end of an hour of exploration. The loading indicator hadn't stopped and the object description on the upper left corner started flickering.
    se201702031850rfvs.log
    (861.8 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
[Seems I ran afoul of a file upload number limit so I'll have to split the post to have things in context.]
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit SP1 | CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.40GHz | RAM: 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (only 4GB usable) | Motherboard: Gigabyte P61-DS3-B3 | Monitor: SAMTRON ([email protected]) | GPU: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
 
User avatar
Dracontes
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jan 2017
Location: Algarve, Portugal
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 Jun 2017 04:40

[Continued from Part 1 ]
  • Runtime crash while traversing intergalactic space between:
    • NGC 6240 and NGC 2442, see se201702031850rfvs.log
    • NGC 7331 and NGC 1316, see se201702032035rfvs.log
    • NGC 1316 and NGC 5426, see se201702032051rfvs.log
    • NGC 3256 and M 86, see se201702040610rfvs.log and Snap 2017-02-04 at 06.11.24.png . Probably the most errors I saw displayed
    • NGC 4013 and NGC 4449, see se201702040726rfvs.log
    • M 65 and M 95, see se201702040918rfvs.log and Snap 2017-02-04 at 09.19.15.png . Note that the destination object was replaced by a black box.
    • M 60 and M 85, see se201702061840rfvs.log and Snap 2017-02-06 at 18.40.50.png . Destination object apparently isn't rendered.

[As much as I'd like to have things as nicely formatted as in the previous post the forum seems to throw an odd glitch when images uploaded along with *.log files. Onward to the next part...]
Attachments
se201702031850rfvs.log
(58.85 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
se201702032035rfvs.log
(66.47 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
se201702032051rfvs.log
(55.1 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
se201702040610rfvs.log
(57.39 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Snap 2017-02-04 at 06.11.24.png
se201702040726rfvs.log
(58.15 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
se201702040918rfvs.log
(61.51 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Snap 2017-02-04 at 09.19.15.png
se201702061840rfvs.log
(59.91 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Snap 2017-02-06 at 18.40.50.png
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit SP1 | CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.40GHz | RAM: 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (only 4GB usable) | Motherboard: Gigabyte P61-DS3-B3 | Monitor: SAMTRON ([email protected]) | GPU: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
 
User avatar
Dracontes
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jan 2017
Location: Algarve, Portugal
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 Jun 2017 04:51

[Continued from Part 2 ]
 Finally there was a program crash that happened while entering Planetarium mode and starting up another program while said mode was loading.
se201701311606rfvs.log
(45.48 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit SP1 | CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.40GHz | RAM: 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (only 4GB usable) | Motherboard: Gigabyte P61-DS3-B3 | Monitor: SAMTRON ([email protected]) | GPU: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
 
Mouthwash
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 42
Joined: 22 May 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

30 Jun 2017 05:05

1. On planet RS 0-9-88682392-286-2-2-37-44 4, it looks as though the aurora on the ice caps is below the ground. You can see it perfectly despite the intervening terrain, though.

2. Sun glitter still seems to appear even when the sun is blocked from view. Since the brightness of a star changes when it meets the horizon, SE should be capable of detecting when it is blocked... or maybe not, because I don't see any shadows?

3. I enlarged a watery moon of a gas giant to maximum size for fun, but after resetting, it appears that the gas giant and all of its moons have turned blue! They aren't oceans, the solid ones still have surfaces, but they're the exact color of the moon I enlarged. Restarting didn't help. Neither did reinstalling a fresh copy of SE (although I did save the locations). What can I do? EDIT: They turn back to normal when I activate clouds. I didn't realize this because it doesn't have any effect on our Solar System's gas giants.
Last edited by Mouthwash on 13 Jul 2017 22:35, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 64
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

02 Jul 2017 07:45

The latest Nvidia driver (384.76) has issues with this version of SE. Gas giant cloud textures don't load up properly. I only noticed this on Polyphemus (Avatar Add-on) but its game breaking for me so rolled back to previous (382.53) - sorry didn't take any pictures. Please tell me if you require a se.log with this driver version for troubleshooting because posting one now will be from 382.53 and hence not useful.
 
SpaceNerd
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

02 Jul 2017 18:55

I have a problem. My Intel Celeron 900 exceeds the minimum requirements with 2.2 Ghz, and I don't have an Intel HD graphics card. However, when I start up the application, it just stops responding. That's it, no OpenGL error, it just crashes, and I don't know why.


Here is my se.log
se.log
(315 Bytes) Downloaded 6 times
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 553
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

03 Jul 2017 00:18

SpaceNerd wrote:
Source of the post Intel Celeron 900 exceeds the minimum requirements with 2.2 Ghz

It's a single-core processor, per minimum requirements you need a dual-core processor. It means SE is built with hardware instructions used by multi-core processors, so it can't work with a single core.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 449
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: International Space Station
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

03 Jul 2017 07:50

Asteroid 2005 TO74's orbital period is way too fast for it's distance away from the sun
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 155
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

03 Jul 2017 08:22

Hornblower wrote:
Asteroid 2005 TO74's orbital period is way too fast for it's distance away from the sun

You're right. it should 164.5 years, not 18.5
 
Space
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

03 Jul 2017 17:05

Everytime I launch Space black boxes cover the menu words and everything is bright and I can't see my cursor, nor the options to select like the space ship one. I always have to reinstall it a couple of times to make it work and it's getting annoying, can you help me find a way to fix this?
 
User avatar
Luxor
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

03 Jul 2017 22:48

Hello, I have a really annoying problem with SE after installing ReShade 3.0.7.

For some reason, after doing so, planets do not show their surface textures, with exception of gas giants when seen from distance (zooming in causes them to disappear as others), as seen below.

Image

When zooming in even more, clouds disappear, not sure about aurora borealis though.

Hoping for quick help and solution to this problem.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest