Free planetarium

 
jbane1988
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Jul 2017 06:11

Hey, I have ran into and issue and not sure if its a bug or if i'm doing something wrong. But whenever I go to warp to another planet or star or galaxy I have an issue where it tells me I need to burn in retro for 32.62 ly/sec. And if I try and warp to get that number down then the game freaks out and I never actually get closer to bringing that number down. I've done this under wine on Ubuntu with stock space ships and add-on ones I have downloaded and I have done it under windows with no add-on's at all. Happens on both. I could be doing something wrong because sometimes it works but most of the time I get this issue.
Attachments
scr00002.png
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 216
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Jul 2017 06:39

jbane1988 wrote:
Hey, I have ran into and issue and not sure if its a bug or if i'm doing something wrong. But whenever I go to warp to another planet or star or galaxy I have an issue where it tells me I need to burn in retro for 32.62 ly/sec. And if I try and warp to get that number down then the game freaks out and I never actually get closer to bringing that number down. I've done this under wine on Ubuntu with stock space ships and add-on ones I have downloaded and I have done it under windows with no add-on's at all. Happens on both. I could be doing something wrong because sometimes it works but most of the time I get this issue.

Warping is a very complex manouver, and is likely to confund, because I'm pretty sure what you need to go warp is not burn in retro faster than light.
It's really better letting the computer do everything by using the "warp to" key (the square one on the left of the rectangular "Target" one)
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
jbane1988
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Jul 2017 06:50

Ive tried that before when this happens and it doesn't work. I even get this issue when following the flying guide that's on the main space engine website. I've tried to do it from an orbit of a body, not in orbit, in-between bodies with many AUs between me and another body and have tried it from empty space. Only sometimes it will work, using the warp to button or trying to do it myself. And I was warping all over the place last night once it was down to having to get that change velocity down by only -20-40 km/sec.
 
User avatar
elemental
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 34
Joined: 17 Jun 2017
Location: RS 5510-1826-8-77487-1101 4

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 Jul 2017 02:28

Reporting a confusing technical problem ----- SE crashes randomly.  The window freezes and then '' Space Engine has stopped running'' window pops out. After I restart SE, it went back to the initial planet or star in the session which crashed, but records of the objects I visited is always saved in the journal. I checked that my memory is NOT ran out when SE is active, nor during the crash. 
 
User avatar
VirgelFromage
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Jul 2017
Location: United Kingdom

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 Jul 2017 09:03

I am rusty with Space Engine and may well have used a command I wasn't familiar with, but at some point, by accident I have lost texturing for my Planets. It was there one minute, I closed the game, and now it is gone.

Here is Earth and Mars as they appear in my game.

It is very strange, but as I say, because I am rusty I may be forgetting about a setting or two. It just seems odd that it was fine one moment and gone the next. Cheers.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 316
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 Jul 2017 13:09

VirgelFromage, please attach your log file as described in the opening post.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
WildOne657
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 24
Joined: 20 Dec 2016
Location: México

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 Jul 2017 17:50

I have a issue creating a mod:

When I use the parameter "Remove" it works, but it doesn´t with Venus, I don´t know why...
"The universe seems neither benign nor hostile, merely indifferent"

-Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
WildOne657
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 24
Joined: 20 Dec 2016
Location: México

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 Jul 2017 20:47

WildOne657, Forget it, I solved it...
"The universe seems neither benign nor hostile, merely indifferent"

-Carl Sagan
 
User avatar
TypicalPerson
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 40
Joined: 10 Jun 2017
Location: Earth

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

24 Jul 2017 08:37

Hello, I have an issue where water is not showing up on an addon planet (the original planet had no water).

Yes, I did set DiffMapAlpha to "Water".

However, when I change the planet's temperature in the editor and update it, the water appears like it should.

Here's my log:
se.log
(46.18 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
 
User avatar
Victorbrine Orionis
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

24 Jul 2017 10:33

Alright, I have a sad problem here that involves stars. And because of it Space Engine looks more dull.

Usually in the game, stars are very bright and have a bright horizontal line across them. This is the default visualization of the star and I really like that lighting effect. Then I had landed on Betelgeuse, stayed AFK on it for almost an hour (doing some Internet surfing) and then went off again. Suddenly, stars no longer look like what they were before.

Here are some images to compare, both were taken from Earth:

Before landing on Betelgeuse

Image

After landing on Betelgeuse

Image

Both images were not taken in the atmosphere. The star on the front on both images is the Sun and the Earth was at the same distance from the Sun. As you can see something changed, I can't fix it. Please I want to know how to fix it :( Is Betelgeuse cursed or not? Did I push a button?
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 316
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

24 Jul 2017 10:47

Victorbrine Orionis wrote:
Source of the post Did I push a button?

Probably. Open the graphics settings and make sure diffraction spikes are turned on.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Victorbrine Orionis
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

24 Jul 2017 11:00

Yep, it was turned off. Now all stars are back to normal. Thanks! Though I don't know how can Betelgeuse turn diffraction spikes off...
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 93
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

24 Jul 2017 13:56

N0B0DY wrote:
The latest Nvidia driver (384.76) has issues with this version of SE. Gas giant cloud textures don't load up properly. I only noticed this on Polyphemus (Avatar Add-on) but its game breaking for me so rolled back to previous (382.53) - sorry didn't take any pictures. Please tell me if you require a se.log with this driver version for troubleshooting because posting one now will be from 382.53 and hence not useful.

I have finally managed to save se.logs and pics regarding this issue:
Driver Version: 384.94 (also occurs with 384.76):
► Show Spoiler

se_WITHNVIDIADRIVER384_94.log
(151.54 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

and driver version 382.53:
► Show Spoiler

se_WITHNVIDIADRIVER382_53.log
(590.34 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

I can not check if this occurs with SE ver 0.9.8.1 since I don't have access to it so if someone with NVidia card and access to it can check I'd be grateful.
This issue occurs mainly with procedural gas giants (almost 10 out of 10 times) and about 50% with procedural ice giants. Procedural terrestrial planets and catalog solar system planets are not affected. I checked almost all systems within a 10Ly radius from Sol.
 
OX-NFLS
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 24 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 Jul 2017 01:49

Bug found: Brown dwarfs with extremely low luminosity disappear in map-view( and sometimes, in-game). 
 
User avatar
Victorbrine Orionis
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jul 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 Jul 2017 02:42

OX-NFLS wrote:
Bug found: Brown dwarfs with extremely low luminosity disappear in map-view( and sometimes, in-game). 

Same with planets orbiting around a pulsar (but far enough so that they're completely dark)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest