Free planetarium

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 22
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 Aug 2016 12:03

Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all issues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!

Fixing graphics card-specific issues

If you do not know which graphics card (chip) do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

INITIALIZING OPENGL
[MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


Then look for a solution for you:

Nvidia: Major lag spikes
► Show Spoiler


Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets
► Show Spoiler


Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth
► Show Spoiler


Fixing common issues

1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers
► Show Spoiler


2) Weak system
► Show Spoiler


3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)
► Show Spoiler


4) Artifacts on procedural planets
► Show Spoiler


5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface
► Show Spoiler


6) Blurry textures on Solar system planets
► Show Spoiler


7) Problems with very high resolution displays
► Show Spoiler


List of known issues

Green items have been fixed for the next release

Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:
► Show Spoiler


Real bugs:
► Show Spoiler
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Posts: 157
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Re: Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Nov 2016 05:51

I just found this :
scr00000.jpg
Sagittarius S102 appears as if the accretion disk before her...

scr00001.jpg
... while this is not the case

And I want to say that the stars especially when it is a rogue system appear through the vessel and the rogue system don't affect the vessel (gravity) :
scr00003.jpg
The rogue system display through the vessel and don't affect the vessel

I join my
se.log
My log
(156.23 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
.
 
Azta
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Nov 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

20 Nov 2016 15:38

Hello, i followed the installing instructions for the HD and Ultra Solar system texture packs. But none of them are working, even tho when i start up the game it says it opens these add ons and at the first run after installing them, it was loading for a while.
se.log
(53.51 KiB) Downloaded 18 times


se.log
(53.51 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
Attachments
space engine text pack not working.png
space engine text pack not working.png (3.14 KiB) Viewed 1772 times
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 228
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

20 Nov 2016 23:16

Azta, why do you think they aren't working? Made a screenshots in the same place on Earth with addons installed and without them (move their folder outside SpaceEngine's folder), and compare them.
 
Azta
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Nov 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Nov 2016 04:56

SpaceEngineer wrote:
Source of the post (move their folder outside SpaceEngine's folder)

Done this, and texture stays the same.
Both screenshots are from Earth:
scr00001.jpg

scr00001.jpg
Attachments
scr00000.jpg
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 423
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

21 Nov 2016 05:35

First two attachments seem to be the same screenshot (scr00001.jpg), from what I see the last one (scr00000.jpg) it's the one without high resolution textures. scr00001.jpg has more details. The fact is that SE HR textures are nonetheless limited by hardware/software choices right now, so we can't have Google Earth type resolutions (yet). This is true for all known/visited objects of the solar system, for which textures resulting by  images from space probes are applied. As an example, you may look at Pluto, which has surface textures as imaged by New Horizons regarding only limited areas at different distances.
The FAQ page, in the troubleshooting session, does mention this:

Q: Planets are flat and blurry.
A: You are probably on Earth, Mars or some other Solar system planet. Go to another star system and look for its procedural planets.
 
Q: Why are Solar system planets flat and blurry?
A: This is not a bug. They use real photo textures with limited resolution, so when viewed from a close distance they look blurry. To increase quality, download hi-res texture add-ons. But even then procedural planets will have a much greater level of detail.

See also "Fixing common issues", point number 6 of the topmost message of this thread.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
Quarior
Explorer
Posts: 157
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

25 Nov 2016 13:41

Have you this problem with the wormhole and black hole when the planetary system is open ?
Wormholes problem with solar browse open.gif
The problem with wormhole (for black hole, look the planetary system)
Wormholes problem with solar browse open.gif (58.98 KiB) Viewed 1700 times

se.log
My log
(155.32 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
 
AidanTBM
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

10 Dec 2016 07:31

I tried everything I could but every object is invisible when I have everything on. (except galaxies and nebulae) Can anyone please help :(
Attachments
se.log
(96.51 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
 
User avatar
JackDole
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

10 Dec 2016 07:58

AidanTBM wrote:
I tried everything I could but every object is invisible when I have everything on.

Your Intel graphics card is too old. It does not work with SpaceEngine. Only newer Intel graphics cards work with SE.
 
AidanTBM
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

10 Dec 2016 09:27

how do I fix that though?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 423
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

10 Dec 2016 09:54

If you you're using a laptop, you need a more recent laptop which meet at least minimum specifications as described in the main webpage
If you have a desktop computer, usually you can change the graphic card onboard with a new one, more recent and again with minimum specifications.
It's a hardware issue, anyway, nothing can be done by software.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
Teterrimo
Observer
Posts: 16
Joined: 03 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

10 Dec 2016 15:18

Hi guys! Recently, i have discovered some problems with the axial tilt of the planets of the solar system. The first among all, the Earth ImageIn SE the Earth has a axial tilt of 20°53'5.22'' or 20.88478°... is obviously wrong... Average axial tilt is 23.44°
Also others planets have this mistake. Jupiter has 2.362064° (DD convertion) while it is in reality 3,131°
Also Neptune has in SE 26.88239° axial tilt, while should be 28,32°
Pluto has an axial tilt of 39.54783°! Should be 122.53°! Pluto

Why there are these errors?
Image 

P.S. I've the last version of SE
 


I hope that these errors :
- Solar system moons don't have extremely accurate orbits (requires implementation of custom orbit models, e.g. VSOP-87)
- Solar eclipses on Earth, Moon, Jupiter and other real planets are inaccurate (the same as above)

will be fixed in next version! (but i see that aren't green...)
This program have really potentiality, also for be a professional program, but i think that will be also more professional in the future! the premises are excellent. :)
 
AidanTBM
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

10 Dec 2016 18:07

I can't get a new laptop!
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
Astronaut
Posts: 52
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

10 Dec 2016 18:55

AidanTBM wrote:
I can't get a new laptop!

Then, unfortunately, you can't use SpaceEngine. You need to have a computer with an Nvidia GeForce or AMD Radeon graphics card to reliably run SE. Trying to use SE on incompatible hardware would be like trying to win a boat race using a non-amphibious car. It's just not possible.
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 4096 MB VRAM
 
Frosty Frost
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

13 Dec 2016 10:06

Whenever I take a screenshot with a higher resolution than my screen allows, the game doesn't seem to render lens flares and stuff like that. Any ideas on how to fix it?

Here are examples of what happens: http://imgur.com/a/IWj4C
The top one is in normal resolution, the bottom one at 4K resolution, no settings changed.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 22

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest