Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 579
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

04 Jul 2017 02:25

Space, could you please attach your se.log file which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, as requested in the fist post of this thread?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Huntingknight
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

04 Jul 2017 10:10

What the hell is wrong with this damn engine? I am crashing way more often than before, and what the hell is up with LOCKING ONTO A PLANET? If you hit "Go to object" good luck ever getting your camera fixed or getting away from that object! "Follow object" is automatically selected, AND CAN'T BE UNSELECTED? What the hell is it? This game used to be so good! Now I can't do anything because I either crash, or it doesn't let me explore!
 
Huntingknight
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Jan 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

04 Jul 2017 10:11

I also forgot to mention THERE IS NO SETTING for Following/Unfollowing objects. Needs to be fixed or game is broken as hell.
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 746
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

04 Jul 2017 15:27

Huntingknight,

First, I want you to calm down and stop swearing as it is against the forum rules.  You also do not need to yell in caps to make yourself understood.

Secondly, this thread is for troubleshooting and error reporting.  You are not reporting a bug nor have you submitted a proper crash report as explained in this thread's opening post.  Then you are complaining about a feature that you want, which instead should have been posted in feedback and suggestions.
 
User avatar
Dr. Kaii
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 116
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Manchester England
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

05 Jul 2017 00:19

Thirdly, this is a beta, if you are frustrated that it has problems, understandable but coming on to the forum and breaking the rules swearing is not acceptable at all. 
i7 7700K - 4.7MHz, Inno3D GeForce GTX 1080 HerculeZ Twin X2 8192MB, 32GB DDR4 3000MHz, CV1 + Oculus Touch
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Extreme lag in Irregular Galaxies and lag in general.

06 Jul 2017 16:16

Whenever I go to an irregular galaxy, once I fly into it it is going good for a few seconds and then it just stops, and I try to click and move around but nothing happens, then I get a message saying the program isn't responding.

I've also been having general lag issues, and I usually run other programs. (Only Opera, sometimes the weather app.) 

Here is my system. Is it all good? How do I update my drivers and stuff? 

Image
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Jul 2017 16:48

Starlight Glimmer, you should have posted your issue here. Please attach your log file as described in the OP.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Jul 2017 17:01

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Starlight Glimmer, you should have posted your issue here. Please attach your log file as described in the OP.

Sorry. Here is the log file. 
Attachments
se.log
(73.47 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Jul 2017 17:02

You have an Intel Core i3 processor and Intel HD graphics with no dedicated graphics hardware. This isn't good enough to run SE properly. Your only option would be to upgrade your computer or buy a new one.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 228
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

06 Jul 2017 17:04

HarbingerDawn wrote:
You have an Intel Core i3 processor and Intel HD graphics with no dedicated graphics hardware. This isn't good enough to run SE properly. Your only option would be to upgrade your computer or buy a new one.

Ah. Understood, thank you.
 
User avatar
KodLod
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2017
Location: France

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Jul 2017 05:33

Hello, I have a bug that I don't know to which category it belongs to.

I created a star in a .sc file which I put in the SpaceEngine/addons/catalogs/stars folder. The problem is that when I run SpaceEngine and come close to that star, the white dot representing the star moves in a kind of anarchic way when I move the camera.

Image

The star is selected, and I really think that crazy white is supposed to be that star from not so far away, because when I come closer, the star doesn't appear in the reticle marking the selected object. How could I solve that ? Could it be a mistake in the star's .sc file ?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 426
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Jul 2017 06:16

KodLod wrote:
Source of the post Hello, I have a bug that I don't know to which category it belongs to.

You can post your script here, then someone can see if it contains an error.
But this is probably because of the limited accuracy at great distances. All the custom made objects positioned far outside the Milky Way may have this problem.
 
User avatar
KodLod
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2017
Location: France

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Jul 2017 06:32

Well, this is a really simple script, I don't think there is an error
StarBarycenter   "Rardiakal System"
{
   RA      00 40 50
   Dec     41 15 07
   Dist    782000
   Lum     1
   Class  "G6V"
   MassSol 0.9
   RadSol  0.9
   Teff    5778
   Age     4.45
   NoPlanets true
}
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 579
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Jul 2017 07:39

KodLod, I used your script but I changed StarBarycenter in Star, I had no problem. Still, as JackDole said in certain conditions stars in scripts may behave like that due to the great distance from the Sun and SE limited precision in those circumstances.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
KodLod
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Jul 2017
Location: France

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

08 Jul 2017 07:45

Okay, it seems logical, do you know if this issue could be solved in the future ? Not that it is a big problem, it's just aesthetical 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest