Free planetarium

 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 217
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 May 2017 01:26

Kermit wrote:
Type Y brown dwarf @ .08 AU, temp -182   ... ummm,  brown dwarfs come with air conditioning?

Yeah, so? Never heard of that one Y-class brown dwarf colder than room temperature? Thoser things don't heat themselves up much.
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 685
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 May 2017 03:40

Kermit wrote:
Source of the post Type Y brown dwarf @ .08 AU, temp -182   ... ummm,  brown dwarfs come with air conditioning?

WISE 0855−0714 surface temperature was measured ranging from -48 to -13 Celsius, as of April 2014.
I'm guessing here that the algorithm used by SE is based on actual models giving that range. Sure, given the position of the object around its binary, maybe the temperature should be slightly different.
Quite an interesting system, by the way.
Attachments
scr00008.jpg
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Kermit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Nov 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 May 2017 17:25

If it weren't for the much warmer planets much further out, I could see the low temp. Maybe if an equivalent hypothetical gas giant in same location were to come  out warmer, adjust temp upwards to match?
 
Kermit
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Nov 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 May 2017 17:37

addendum to last post -- that Y-type should be receiving quite a bit more energy from the real stars nearby.  If I take a lit candle and stick it next to a bonfire, I guarantee that candle will be warmer than one that's not.
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 884
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 May 2017 22:17

Kermit, I believe you are correct -- these brown dwarfs should be heated by the proximity to the stars, and it appears that the calculation is not being applied for them.  After some searching I found some other examples, so this was not just an isolated case.

I don't see this listed as a known bug or a fix.  I did also look around in the new beta (still in development) for a while and did not find any cases of it, so I'm not sure if it has been fixed or not.  

Thanks for pointing it out!
 
User avatar
Mouthwash
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 22 May 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

22 May 2017 03:27

1. I'm having difficulty locating galaxy M60-UCD1 - nothing comes up when I search for it. Wikipedia claims that it is a satellite of NGC 4649, but that galaxy is 72 million light-years away from us in SE, instead of the claimed 55 million (although NGC 4647 appears to be in the correct position in relation to it). What is the reason for the discrepancy and how do I find UCD1?

2. Is the Rayleigh scattering tied to actual light sources or only the planet's parent star? I've been on a planet less than a light-year from a supermassive black hole that filled the sky, but everything seemed dark until the sun rose.
 
User avatar
realmezzzz
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 May 2017
Location: Home

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

23 May 2017 23:40

This happened to me:
Image
Maybe because the distance is very big, but it runs smoothly on resuming, taking only 10 seconds to turn.
The big distance crashed it later on the journey, though, when it went near a star cluster.

What I did:
  1. Park a ship in interstellar space.
  2. Explore a faraway planet and decrease the FOV to a few arcseconds.
  3. Pause time.
  4. Go back to the ship and try to autopilot-goto to a target many Gly away. (Do not resume time)
My ship has thrusters which enable it to turn properly.
(I was unable to replicate it with some planets)
They call me Cuban Pete
I'm the king of the rhumba beat
When I play the maracas I go chick chicky boom, chick chicky boom
 
User avatar
Mouthwash
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 22 May 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

27 May 2017 15:11

I saved a location on a planet near IC 1101's central black hole, but that planet (and star system) no longer seem to exist when I go to that location, even though I tested it earlier and it worked fine. I just materialize into empty space

Going to the current time makes the system appear. Anyone know what this is?
 
User avatar
Mouthwash
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 22 May 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 May 2017 09:09

There are *four* pulsars in PSR J0737-3039, plus I'm seeing some really weird graphic artifacts: http://imgur.com/a/pIgI9
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 685
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 May 2017 11:31

Mouthwash wrote:
There are *four* pulsars in PSR J0737-3039, plus I'm seeing some really weird graphic artifacts: http://imgur.com/a/pIgI9

I see 2 pulsars. You do have some weird issues, could you please share your se.log file which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, as requested in the topmost message of this thread?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Mouthwash
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 67
Joined: 22 May 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 May 2017 11:48

Mosfet wrote:
Mouthwash wrote:
There are *four* pulsars in PSR J0737-3039, plus I'm seeing some really weird graphic artifacts: http://imgur.com/a/pIgI9

I see 2 pulsars. You do have some weird issues, could you please share your se.log file which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, as requested in the topmost message of this thread?

Sure. The image is cropped and doesn't show the fourth pulsar, but if you look at what appears to be the farther one you'll see that there are two there. You could just view it directly in SE anyway.

New issue: when I'm in planet RSC 8474-6704-2-42-314 9's (not sure if that transfers between games) atmosphere, it says that my temperature is exactly that of the planetary sea level (58.089 Celsius) no matter where I am.
Attachments
se.log
(544.07 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Last edited by Mouthwash on 29 May 2017 12:22, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 217
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 May 2017 12:00

I also have four pulsars in that system tbh
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
User avatar
JackDole
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 569
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 May 2017 13:29

Mouthwash wrote:
Source of the post There are *four* pulsars in PSR J0737-3039

XBrain130 wrote:
Source of the post I also have four pulsars in that system tbh

PSR J0737-3039 is incorrect
They are double in the star script, once as 'PSR J0737-3039A' and once as 'PSR J0737-3039B'.
DoppelPSR1.jpg
DoppelPSR1.jpg (124.35 KiB) Viewed 807 times

They are also double in the planet script.

Put the attached .pak file in the 'addons' folder. It removes the superfluous stars and corrects them.
PSR_J0737-3039.pak
(1.23 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
 
REASER
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 May 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 May 2017 15:10

Hello everyone, I have an issue at least 70% of the times i start the simulation: for some reason this brownish effect happens and the game crashes. Any solutions to this problem? Thanks for the help. http://imgur.com/a/FHCbM
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 685
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

29 May 2017 15:31

Mouthwash wrote wrote:
http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?p=8022#p8022 There are *four* pulsars in PSR J0737-3039

Ah, I see now. Sorry, I had a .pak fix for this system since september 2016, it was published in the old website but I can't find the author.

Mouthwash wrote:
Source of the post RSC 8474-6704-2-42-314

Can't find that system, I'll pass to someone else :) 'night
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests