Ultimate space simulation software

 
QuanticMeme
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Feb 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

05 Feb 2020 10:47

btw:
      GPU: RTX 2060
      CPU: Ryzen 7 2700X
      NVIDIA Driver: 442.19
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1864
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

05 Feb 2020 11:50

QuanticMeme wrote:
Source of the post Space Engine is crahing after I start it. Log:

SE 0.980 no longer works with newer Nvidia driver versions (436.02 and higher).
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
spectrallens
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Feb 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

13 Feb 2020 03:39

Hello,

I have no idea why, but SE just does not want to load onto my desktop. It is a brand new system with the specs below but it just does not go beyond the splash screen. I've even tried installing it onto different hard drive just in case it was my M.2 drive that could've been the problem. Does not load any cache or anything. Any suggestions as to why?

SYSTEM SPEC:
Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16-core
Memory: 32GB RAM
Graphics: 6GB GeForce 2060 RTX (latest drivers)

Cheers!
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1483
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

13 Feb 2020 03:48

Unfortunately recent Nvidia drivers are incompatible with SE 0980 in some hardware combinations.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
Fiery Phoenix
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: 24 Jan 2020
Location: Earth

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

13 Feb 2020 07:05

The Obliquity parameter does not seem to update for custom objects. I created a star system of 5 planets and many moons from scratch and I can't seem to change the obliquity for any of them. It's always stuck to the same value no matter what I assign to it in the script.

Just figured I'd mention this. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, it definitely seems like a bug to me.
 
Fiery Phoenix
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: 24 Jan 2020
Location: Earth

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

13 Feb 2020 07:13

Fiery Phoenix wrote:
The Obliquity parameter does not seem to update for custom objects. I created a star system of 5 planets and many moons from scratch and I can't seem to change the obliquity for any of them. It's always stuck to the same value no matter what I assign to it in the script.

Just figured I'd mention this. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, it definitely seems like a bug to me.

Update: It appears this is an issue only with tidally locked objects, which in retrospect makes a lot of sense. 
However, there is still a problem with the value of inclination overwriting the value of the obliquity upon launching the planet editor. I am not sure if this is supposed to happen. 
 
Fiery Phoenix
Observer
Observer
Posts: 15
Joined: 24 Jan 2020
Location: Earth

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

13 Feb 2020 07:26

My apologies. I should have posted the above in the 0.990 thread. This is definitely not related to 0.980.
 
User avatar
Lujo
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 57
Joined: 27 Dec 2017
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

23 Feb 2020 01:06

I have Nvidia RTX 2070 and after latest driver update i can't run 0.990 anymore. Procedural planets are not working. HELP!
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1483
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

23 Feb 2020 01:51

This tipici Is for 0980.
Can you please upload your se.log? It's in spaceengine /system folder.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Lujo
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 57
Joined: 27 Dec 2017
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

23 Feb 2020 23:57

Here it is
Attachments
se.log
(70.34 KiB) Downloaded 104 times
 
PopplioUser3674
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 Feb 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

24 Feb 2020 17:29

Hey. Whenever I land on an exoplanet, the surface texture is blurry and it doesn't fit the textures I see in the youtube videos. I first set the graphics to the highest quality, but it didn't do anything. I then looked on the forum, and it said to set the PlanetVSFetching in config/main-user.cfg to true. I couldn't find it, so I set all related parameters to true, but it did nothing. Does anyone have a solution? 
Attachments
2020-02-24.png
se.log
(136.54 KiB) Downloaded 107 times
 
PopplioUser3674
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 Feb 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

24 Feb 2020 19:08

Whoops, that was the wrong screenshot. Here is the right one
Attachments
2020-02-24 (1).png
 
User avatar
Trolligi
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Mar 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 Mar 2020 00:28

Hello all. I've been using Space Engine for 1.5 years now, and I've gotten pretty used to the soundtracks. Is it possible to add custom soundtracks to SE?
 
User avatar
tavotrio
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Mar 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Mar 2020 09:07

Hi all,
I'm trying to build my own system on SE (I used to have it on Celestia) but I have been with some issues.
For example, in the first image is a SE system that looks like what I want. And on the second is that exact export only with the barycentre changed on the .sc file. Why did the surface temperatures changed so greatly?? This is very annoying as planet B1 doesn't have a dark night side.
Attachments
scr00018.jpg
scr00019.jpg
 
User avatar
Arturo100
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 141
Joined: 10 Mar 2019
Location: Some random place on Earth

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Mar 2020 18:34

Textures for sol sys objects and the rings for J1407b won't load.
With the number of realities that exist, a world where [REDACTED] can exist.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest