Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

13 Jul 2019 23:23

TobyCasterTroy wrote:
Source of the post So, I just bought the game last night and whenever I try to launch the game a message pops up saying "Your system has an obsolete OpenGL version. Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware. seWindow::CreateGLCoreContext(): Can't set a pixel format: code 0x0. AMD Radeon HD 7700 graphics

Post your 'se.log'. It is in the 'system' directory of SpaceEngine.
But you probably need to update your video driver.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
f2d
Observer
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Jun 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

14 Jul 2019 06:58

Taellyn wrote:
Like a planet that is furthest from a star is the hottest one. And found another system where each planet had the exact same temperatures. Help please!

By the way, location code ("RS XX-XX", etc) of the place you are in may be copied by pressing F3 → current → Ctrl+C, so you don't have to type it by hand and possibly make a mistake in some digit.
PC: years old Intel i7-4770, 32 GB RAM, Radeon RX 460, 4 GB VRAM, 2560x1440 (main) + 4k (secondary), Win7x64.
 
User avatar
Taellyn
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jul 2019
Location: Texas

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

14 Jul 2019 07:51

I've run into this issue with each planetary system I visit. Here is an example: RSC 1229-89-2-28-54 (Located in the Triangulum Galaxy [M33]) The 4th planet is hotter than the first two, the ringed 8th planet is is hotter than the 6th planet. The 10th planet is hotter than 6th. I just may not understand planetary dynamics, as much as I thought I did. 
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

14 Jul 2019 11:16

Taellyn wrote:
Source of the post I've run into this issue with each planetary system I visit. Here is an example: RSC 1229-89-2-28-54 (Located in the Triangulum Galaxy [M33]) The 4th planet is hotter than the first two, the ringed 8th planet is is hotter than the 6th planet. The 10th planet is hotter than 6th. I just may not understand planetary dynamics, as much as I thought I did.

That seems completely normal to me.
You have to pay attention to the greenhouse effect.
For example, the 4th planet has a greenhouse effect of over 500 degrees. (And also the 5th planet.) (Just like Venus in our solar system!)
The eighth and the tenth planet are an ice giant and a gas giant, which have very high atmospheric pressure and high atmospheric density (and possibly high levels of radiation) and are by nature probably warmer than rocky planets.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Taellyn
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jul 2019
Location: Texas

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

14 Jul 2019 12:50

JackDole

  Thank you for your response. Should have thought of that in the first place!  :)
 
maticitidal
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jul 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 Jul 2019 10:39

I am having problems with stars, they are not visible, only the corona is visible, can I get help with this, Stars are enable, due to them being seen in the picture as your usual stars
Attachments
Screenshot_1.png
Photo of missing textures
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1397
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 Jul 2019 16:29

maticitidal, please attach your se.log file wich is in your SpaceEngine \system folder.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
maticitidal
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jul 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

19 Jul 2019 18:51

Here
Attachments
se.log
(106.63 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
 
maticitidal
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jul 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

20 Jul 2019 19:29

Uh Mosfet?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

20 Jul 2019 23:50

maticitidal wrote:

You have an 'Intel (R) HD Graphics 2000' graphics card. SpaceEngine does not work with this video card.
If you have a laptop with a second, switchable graphics card, make sure in the settings for this graphics card that SE uses that card.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
fxmodels
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Jul 2019 07:06

I cant create new topics for some reason, perhaps because I am new to the forum? But that isnt the issue.. I have noticed and couldnt find mention of it (I looked), that SE has incorrect distances to stars in some cases that off pretty badly.

SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

So how can I go about fixing erroneous distances? I am willing to make it a task I do on an update basis to repair the star catalogs. I love to use SE in m astronomy lectures around the world and would like it to be more accurate.

Happy to help here! Again sorry I cannot post a new topic so I am tagging this on to an existent bug post.

Marc Dantonio
Join SkyTour LiveStream on Youtube for clear night deep sky tours LIVE from our research grade remotely operated observatory
Listen to SkyTour Radio on KGRAradio.com Sunday Nights 20:00-22:00 ET ... Your Astronomy ONLY show!
 
User avatar
fxmodels
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Jul 2019 07:42

  a silly question:

I cannot seem to post a new topic but only reply to existing topics. Is this because I am a new user? I only see "post reply" in the forums,

I use SE in my lectures around the world in Astronomy and love this program... Would love to contribute somehow.

Marc Dantonio
Join SkyTour LiveStream on Youtube for clear night deep sky tours LIVE from our research grade remotely operated observatory
Listen to SkyTour Radio on KGRAradio.com Sunday Nights 20:00-22:00 ET ... Your Astronomy ONLY show!
 
User avatar
fxmodels
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Jul 2019 07:44

fxmodels wrote:
SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

So how can I go about fixing erroneous distances? I am willing to make it a task I do on an update basis to repair the star catalogs. I love to use SE in m astronomy lectures around the world and would like it to be more accurate.

Happy to help here! Again sorry I cannot post a new topic so I am tagging this on to an existent bug post.

Marc Dantonio

Ok I was wrong on this... My bad!  I didnt realize I had moved several LY away from the earth... I did it while fat fingering... Sorry...
Join SkyTour LiveStream on Youtube for clear night deep sky tours LIVE from our research grade remotely operated observatory
Listen to SkyTour Radio on KGRAradio.com Sunday Nights 20:00-22:00 ET ... Your Astronomy ONLY show!
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1617
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Jul 2019 08:16

fxmodels wrote:
Source of the post I cant create new topics for some reason, perhaps because I am new to the forum? But that isnt the issue.. I have noticed and couldnt find mention of it (I looked), that SE has incorrect distances to stars in some cases that off pretty badly.

SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

For errors in the SpaceEngine catalogs, there is this thread: COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE
(So you do not need to create your own thread!)

Besides, what kind of SpaceEngine version do you have?
For me, Sirius is 8.44 light years and Procyon 11.4 light years from the Sun.
scr00182.jpg
scr00184.jpg

This is true for SE 0990 and also for SE 0980 and SE 0.980_e.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
fxmodels
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jul 2019
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

26 Jul 2019 08:56

JackDole wrote:
fxmodels wrote:
Source of the post I cant create new topics for some reason, perhaps because I am new to the forum? But that isnt the issue.. I have noticed and couldnt find mention of it (I looked), that SE has incorrect distances to stars in some cases that off pretty badly.

SIrius in SE is shown to be 6.26 ly away. Its 8.6 in reality
Procyon is shown to be 9.56 ly when its really over 11ly away..

For errors in the SpaceEngine catalogs, there is this thread: COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE
(So you do not need to create your own thread!)

Besides, what kind of SpaceEngine version do you have?
For me, Sirius is 8.44 light years and Procyon 11.4 light years from the Sun.
scr00182.jpgscr00184.jpg
This is true for SE 0990 and also for SE 0980 and SE 0.980_e.

HI Jack,
Yea I caught my error as mentioned in the post just above your response. Sorry for the exercise there... But I still cant post new topics... Is that a new user thing? After so many replies I can post new topics?
Thanks...
Marc Dantonio
Join SkyTour LiveStream on Youtube for clear night deep sky tours LIVE from our research grade remotely operated observatory
Listen to SkyTour Radio on KGRAradio.com Sunday Nights 20:00-22:00 ET ... Your Astronomy ONLY show!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest