Page 45 of 47

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 20 Jun 2020 12:03
by longname
PopplioUser3674 wrote:
Source of the post but I couldn't focus on the black hole without everything else dimming.

Dimming everything is a camera's usual reaction to seeing something really, really bright. If you don't like that, you can use manual exposure I.E. hold < and > every time you need to focus on something that's dim or bright, or you can use HDR which makes stars painfully apparent when looking at really bright things.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 21 Jun 2020 05:58
by Stefandreus
Stefandreus wrote:
Mosfet wrote:
Stefandreus, I can confirm that others have reported this and it's something that devs are investigating. We have more or less the same configuration, but I can't reproduce the issue. Stay tuned.

Thanks for the answer, i will
in the meantime i select via steam the old version (0.990.39) for see if the crash is only related at the new update and for now seems that i don't have any single crash...hope the next update will fix the problem
at this point i use this version for now, the autoexposure obviously is much way better in the new version, but i can't literally explore nothing with that crash so i write this cause maybe it's useful for someone with my same problem

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 01 Jul 2020 07:10
by rucksackseb
Hello together :) I'm new in here and first of all I want to thank you all for keeping this awesome programme running! SE is a true miracle! :)

Now why I am here: I have the standard version on Steam and since 2 days, SE is not launching anymore. I read through the forum and tried the trick with the OpenAL or All in One Runtimes, but this just made my Launcher work. Directly after the Launcher loaded everything... instead of loading the main programme, nothing happens and Steam is synchronizing the library. No error code if I want to start the programme with the .exe data as an admin. I'm running out of ideas how to solve the problem. :)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 01 Jul 2020 07:35
by JackDole
rucksackseb wrote:
Source of the post  since 2 days, SE is not launching anymore.

Please post your 'se.log'. You can find it in the 'system' directory of SpaceEngine.
You can use 'Pastebin' for that and post the link here.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 01 Jul 2020 09:24
by rucksackseb
https://pastebin.com/QtDuUFti
Here it is. Hope, it was right like that :)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 01 Jul 2020 12:04
by JackDole
rucksackseb wrote:
Source of the post Here it is. Hope, it was right like that

There is probably an error in your 'main-user.cfg'. (In the 'config' folder.) Delete it!
In addition, your Nvidia graphics driver version is quite old.
You should update it urgently.
If there are still problems after the driver update, delete the 'cache' folder in the SpaceEngine directory.
(Actually, after a driver update SpaceEngine should automatically delete the cached files.)
If there are still problems, please report back.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 02 Jul 2020 02:24
by rucksackseb
Alright, Sir! It was indeed the main-user.cfg - file!
Thank you very much @JackDole, you saved my weekend :)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 26 Jul 2020 15:58
by ksymeon
Since last NEOWISE update, SE is Not responding immediately after launch. The music comes on but no video at all. Anybody else having similar issues? 

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 26 Jul 2020 20:03
by vlad01
ksymeon wrote:
Since last NEOWISE update, SE is Not responding immediately after launch. The music comes on but no video at all. Anybody else having similar issues? 

Mine seems to be working fine.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 27 Jul 2020 13:08
by A-L-E-X
ksymeon wrote:
Since last NEOWISE update, SE is Not responding immediately after launch. The music comes on but no video at all. Anybody else having similar issues? 

It happened to me one time right after the update, but everything has been working fine since I launched it again.
The first time I tried to run it after the update, it told me the update hadn't been completed and to try to run it again and so I did and it's worked ever since.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 27 Jul 2020 15:28
by ksymeon
A-L-E-X wrote:
ksymeon wrote:
Since last NEOWISE update, SE is Not responding immediately after launch. The music comes on but no video at all. Anybody else having similar issues? 

It happened to me one time right after the update, but everything has been working fine since I launched it again.
The first time I tried to run it after the update, it told me the update hadn't been completed and to try to run it again and so I did and it's worked ever since.

Thanks for the reply. Here's what I tried:
- Removed (renamed) the config folder -> this recreated all caches, renders, etc. and SE launched on maximized window, all black, no music.
- Removed workshop add ons from Steam config -> no change
- Reinstalled latest NVidia drivers, restarted system -> no change
- Removed SolarSystem HD addons folder -> no change (black screen, no music)
- Restored my previous config (and made all various changes above) -> same as my original problem that is music is playing, back screen and when I click I get Not Responding from Windows.
Is my only chance a full re-install you think?
We are talking about an almost brand new Win 10 Pro system with 10900K, 2070S and a lot of RAM.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 27 Jul 2020 16:34
by A-L-E-X
I think a full re-install is may be needed for you since you've already done all of the above.  I am running the full solar system package with over 80 GB of data and the 5 million star Gaia catalog to boot and I have like 10 gig worth of music I recorded for SE.  Everything seems to be working fine on mine.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 28 Jul 2020 15:36
by ksymeon
A-L-E-X wrote:
I think a full re-install is may be needed for you since you've already done all of the above.  I am running the full solar system package with over 80 GB of data and the 5 million star Gaia catalog to boot and I have like 10 gig worth of music I recorded for SE.  Everything seems to be working fine on mine.

That's what I thought. So, I reinstalled yesterday and it worked. Tonight I tried one more time and now I have the exact same issue. I haven't even put any add-ons or SolarSystemHD yet. I'm so disappointed, never had any issues on my old PC (same graphics card)... just built myself a new computer and I can't get SE to play :-(

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 28 Jul 2020 21:23
by JackDole
ksymeon wrote:
Source of the post That's what I thought. So, I reinstalled yesterday and it worked. Tonight I tried one more time and now I have the exact same issue. I haven't even put any add-ons or SolarSystemHD yet. I'm so disappointed, never had any issues on my old PC (same graphics card)... just built myself a new computer and I can't get SE to play

Post your 'se.log'. It is located in the 'system' folder of your SpaceEngine installation.
You can use Pastebin for this.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 29 Jul 2020 00:10
by ksymeon
JackDole wrote:
ksymeon wrote:
Source of the post That's what I thought. So, I reinstalled yesterday and it worked. Tonight I tried one more time and now I have the exact same issue. I haven't even put any add-ons or SolarSystemHD yet. I'm so disappointed, never had any issues on my old PC (same graphics card)... just built myself a new computer and I can't get SE to play

Post your 'se.log'. It is located in the 'system' folder of your SpaceEngine installation.
You can use Pastebin for this.

Thanks for your help. Here's my se.log: https://pastebin.com/Uu28XhVQ
What happens is SE starts, music starts, screen is blank and when I click on the window to focus I get a (Not responding) on the title and the busy cursor. 
One thing I'm suspicious of is that I have a 3dconnexion navigator with older drivers on purpose because of an old version of SketchUp. Would that cause any problems you think?