Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1423
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

31 Dec 2019 01:57

Transit7 wrote:
Source of the post I downloaded SE recently and the planets are not showing when I go to a planet, it doesn't appear.

press F4 to open the Settings window, go to the "Filter objects" tab and see if you have Planets (Real, Procedural, Procedural on real stars) enabled
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Transit7
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Dec 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

31 Dec 2019 07:21

Thank you for your response. I already tried that. I'm running this off of Bootcamp, but not sure if that would make a difference.
 
User avatar
kandedong
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Location: Switzerland

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

07 Jan 2020 01:13

Is there any way to toggle comet and asteroid orbits directly via the keyboard or indirectly via a script? Under RENDERING COMMANDS I only found Hide/Show Orbits, but nothing like CometsOrbits.
 
User avatar
Transit7
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Dec 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

07 Jan 2020 18:04

Space engine is up and running now. Woo!

Question: Can you change the colour of the cursor? Is there a setting for that? Couldn't find it - Thanks :) 
 
Astronus
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Sep 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Jan 2020 01:26

I have been using SpaceEngine 0.990 since August 2019 but only since December 2019 has the game started to act really weird. A few minutes after launching the game, it begins to render many artifacts on the screen. Planets start glowing like stars, rocky worlds have tiles on them and bright orbs appear randomly on the screen. Even the main menu page of the game displays these glitches. I updated my graphics card Intel(R) UHD Graphics 620 and NVIDIA GeForce MX130 to the latest version, yet the problem persists. I have posted some images below. Please tell me how to fix this. 
Attachments
Main Menu Glitch SE.png
The main menu itself starts rendering extra bright planets!!
scr00072.jpg
Planets and stars glow equally bright. The smaller sphere is actually a planet.
scr00076.jpg
Glowing orbs appear randomly on screen.
scr00078.jpg
Tall spike like artifacts appear on planet surfaces!!
 
Toast433
Observer
Observer
Posts: 12
Joined: 29 Apr 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

09 Feb 2020 16:16

Can anyone tell me why the life and ocean on my ferria planet won't show up?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1714
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

09 Feb 2020 18:05

Not without seeing the script.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Heaven's Disciples
Observer
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 19 Dec 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

10 Feb 2020 07:43

I tried to export the Sol asteroid "2005 VD/(434620) 2005 VD" several times and Space Engine version 0.990 kept crashing every time.

I pulled the object's data from Asteroids-NEO.sc and used it for a differently named asteroid in my custom planetary system.
Asteroid    "2005 VD/(434620) 2005 VD"
{
    ParentBody "Sol"
    AsterType  "Damocloid"

    DiscMethod     "Imaging"
    DiscDate       "2005.11.01"

    AbsMagn     14.3
    SlopeParam  0.15

    Radius      3    // http://www.johnstonsarchive.net/astro/tnoslist.html

    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            2458000.5
        MeanMotion       0.05725373123485444
        SemiMajorAxis    6.667047039047786
        Period           17.22
        Eccentricity     0.252307838183434
        Inclination      172.8680464228311
        AscendingNode    173.269721496736
        ArgOfPericenter  178.1335342627848
        MeanAnomaly      240.4995877305635
    }
}


I then tried to export the object from my custom planetary system only to see SE crash again.
I changed various settings but nothing would work.
Nothing showed up in the se.log file.

I was finally able to export the script when I commented out the following line:
AsterType  "Damocloid"
 
User avatar
Chris94_NOR
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Jan 2020
Location: Bodø, Norway
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

10 Feb 2020 09:22

Hi! I am back again after some years and wanted to get back into Space Engine.
I have it on Steam, but it just keeps crashing.
Is newest version(0.990) working with latest Nvidia driver(442.19), or do i have to go a lot back to get it working?

The startup screen pops up, but immediately disappears
First time, i had Steam application error, but i think that was because of F-Secure so had to let through SpaceEngine.exe
Attachments
se.log
(12.98 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
 
User avatar
Chris94_NOR
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 26 Jan 2020
Location: Bodø, Norway
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

10 Feb 2020 09:35

Don't mind my post. I eventually have got Space Engine to launch normally
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1714
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 Feb 2020 00:05

Heaven's Disciples wrote:
Source of the post I was finally able to export the script when I commented out the following line:

Usually, extrasolar asteroids do not have an 'AsterType'. These types only refer to asteroids in our solar system.
However, this parameter should not cause SE to crash. And it doesn't do that for me either:
scr00669.jpg

So I'm guessing that you have some other bug in your script.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
Toast433
Observer
Observer
Posts: 12
Joined: 29 Apr 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 Feb 2020 17:01

Here's the code for my planet, changing diffraction map from "none" to "water" caused the ocean to show up but the surface still looks gray and lifeless


Planet    "GM 427 Ac"
{
    ParentBody     "GM 427 A"
    Class          "Ferria"
    Mass            0.3922
    Radius          4455.1
    InertiaMoment   0.3315
    Obliquity       0.1629
    EqAscendNode    27.216
    TidalLocked     true

    AlbedoBond      0.15
    AlbedoGeom      0.36
    Brightness      1
    BrightnessReal  1

    Life
    {
        Class   "Organic"
        Type    "Multicellular"
        Biome   "Marine/Terrestrial"
    }

    Surface
    {
        SurfStyle       0.80916
        Randomize      (-1.542, -0.278, 0.641)
        colorDistMagn   0.056279
        colorDistFreq   497.79
        detailScale     16384
        seaLevel        0.20374
        snowLevel       0.053435
        tropicLatitude  0.055062
        icecapLatitude  0.85496
        icecapHeight    0.41194
        climatePole     0.63359
        climateTropic   0.5625
        climateEquator  0.5625
        climateSteppeMin -1
        climateSteppeMax 0.26491
        climateForestMin -1
        climateForestMax 0.25191
        climateGrassMin  -1
        climateGrassMax  0.25771
        humidity        0.22495
        heightTempGrad  0.475
        beachWidth      0.0012991
        tropicWidth     0.5
        mainFreq        0.44238
        venusFreq       1.2281
        venusMagn       0
        mareFreq        1.188
        mareDensity     0
        terraceProb     0.15203
        erosion         0.1145
        montesMagn      0.15467
        montesFreq      219.75
        montesSpiky     0.94896
        montesFraction  0.3283
        dunesMagn       0.060722
        dunesFreq       39.561
        dunesFraction   0.46334
        hillsMagn       0.13937
        hillsFreq       305.34
        hillsFraction   0.096237
        hills2Fraction  0
        riversMagn      0.76336
        riversFreq      2.2901
        riversSin       4.602
        riftsMagn       3.0534
        riftsFreq       1.374
        riftsSin        1.6031
        canyonsMagn     0.026932
        canyonsFreq     108.33
        canyonsFraction 0.08662
        cracksMagn      0.078633
        cracksFreq      0.31598
        cracksOctaves   0
        craterMagn      0.56612
        craterFreq      15.306
        craterDensity   0.19413
        craterOctaves   4
        volcanoMagn     0.71784
        volcanoFreq     0.61372
        volcanoDensity  0.4
        volcanoOctaves  3
        volcanoActivity 1.6159
        volcanoFlows    0.49622
        volcanoRadius   0.54731
        volcanoTemp     1465.6
        lavaCoverTidal  0
        lavaCoverSun    0
        lavaCoverYoung  0
        stripeZones     2.2088
        stripeTwist     0.38437
        cycloneMagn     2.8377
        cycloneFreq     0.76336
        cycloneDensity  0.18321
        cycloneOctaves  2
        BumpHeight      20
        BumpOffset      1.473
        DiffMapAlpha   "Water"
        SpecBrightWater 0.5
        SpecBrightIce   0.5
        SpecPowerWater  55
        SpecPowerIce    180
        SpecularScale   1
        RoughnessBias   0.5
        Hapke           0.7
        SpotBright      2.0384
        SpotWidth       0.05
        DayAmbient      0.07
    }

    Ocean
    {
        Depth           4.0746
        Hapke           0
        SpotBright      2
        SpotWidth       0.15
        DayAmbient      2
        ModulateBright  1

        Composition
        {
            H2O           87.1
            CO2           9.15
            NaCl          3.65
        }
    }

    Clouds
    {
        Height          15.9
        Velocity        154.34
        BumpHeight      2.9504
        Hapke           0.5
        SpotBright      2
        SpotWidth       0.03
        DayAmbient      0.07
        ModulateBright  1
        mainFreq        0.7
        mainOctaves     10
        Coverage        0.17856
        stripeZones     2.2088
        stripeTwist     0.38437
    }

    NoLava          true

    Atmosphere
    {
        Model          "Earth"
        Height          107.68
        Density         0.32049
        Pressure        0.38626
        Bright          10
        Opacity         1
        SkyLight        3.3333
        Hue             -0.081216
        Saturation      0.8425

        Composition
        {
            N2            70.448
            H2O           11.978
            CH4           12.406
            CO2           2.863
            SO2           1.6503
            C2H4          0.57903
            H2S           0.064616
            Ar            0.004947
            NH3           0.0036912
            C3H8          0.0017636
            C8H18         5.6191e-05
        }
    }

    NoAurora        true

    NoRings         true

    NoAccretionDisk true

    NoCometTail     true

    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane        "Equator"
        SemiMajorAxis   0.0274331578
        Eccentricity    0.003922
        Inclination     0.1629
        AscendingNode   27.216
        ArgOfPericenter 157.69
        MeanAnomaly     50.903
    }
}
 
User avatar
VoyagerX
Observer
Observer
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 Feb 2020 19:01

some solar systems have invisible planets. i restarted the game but the problem keeps going. the orbits are also missing. the only thing that stays is the star.

EDIT: i figured it out already nevermind. my bad sorry, the problem was that i was looking at a real star but the procedural planets were turned off.. i would delete the post but perhaps someone runs into the same mistake so if theres no problem i'll leave it.
Attachments
SE.jpg
 
User avatar
Lujo
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 53
Joined: 27 Dec 2017
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 Feb 2020 20:13

I'm getting this message after last nvidia update. "Error loading texture generator shaders. Press YES to run program with procedural planets disabled"
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1714
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

12 Feb 2020 06:21

Toast433 wrote:
Source of the post but the surface still looks gray and lifeless

You have to play around with 'SurfStyle' in the editor.
But mostly it's probably because you have a 'Ferria' planet. 'Ferria' planets only have gray color palettes.
Make a 'Terra' planet of it.
scr00673.jpg

(And if you want green, you have to take a yellow star, not a red star.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest