Page 29 of 45

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 19 Oct 2019 06:05
by JackDole
If I set 'Bloom' to maximum, then I have banding.
But only very weak.
scr00190.jpg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 19 Oct 2019 10:45
by SpaceEngineer
This artifact is caused by bloom algorithm. Can be reduced by more complex sampling method in shader (software bicubic instead of hardware bilinear), in cost of performance.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 02 Nov 2019 20:25
by SceneOfAction
I can't seem to able to start a new thread so I'll just post here.

I can't turn off the red and green lines coming out of the Vive controllers.
I've posted on the discord but I guess I'll try here too.

I looked through the menu but don't see anything. Those lines kill the immersion. Would love to be able to toggle them.
Thanks.................

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 04 Nov 2019 22:35
by PlutonianEmpire
The latest version of SE keeps giving me the error dialog about the procedural shaders. I continued to get it even after uninstalling shader mods.

Dell Inspiron 5547, Win 7 x64, i5-4210U, Intel HD 4400, 16gb ram, and Intel Stopped making new shaders for HD 4400 three years ago, afaik.

Image

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 05 Nov 2019 07:20
by JackDole
PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post I continued to get it even after uninstalling shader mods.

Did you delete the 'cache' folder? If you remove shaders, you must also delete the 'cache' folder.

You should also remove the file 'data/models/custom/BambusDude.cfg'. This file is outdated.

Furthermore, you could have your installation checked by Steam.

If all this does not help, you should remove all addons and then add them back one at a time.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 05 Nov 2019 13:00
by soldies502
For some odd reason which I could not figure out, whenever I started up SpaceEngine, it never loaded the main menu and just left it with a blank screen.Image This just started randomly happening. When I first got it, this never happened.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 05 Nov 2019 16:08
by PlutonianEmpire
JackDole wrote:
PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post I continued to get it even after uninstalling shader mods.

Did you delete the 'cache' folder? If you remove shaders, you must also delete the 'cache' folder.

You should also remove the file 'data/models/custom/BambusDude.cfg'. This file is outdated.

Furthermore, you could have your installation checked by Steam.

If all this does not help, you should remove all addons and then add them back one at a time.

Turns out the offending addon was RM099.pak. Removed it, SE started loading again. I should really remind myself to double check things lol

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 08 Nov 2019 12:56
by longname
SpaceEngineer wrote:
This artifact is caused by bloom algorithm. Can be reduced by more complex sampling method in shader (software bicubic instead of hardware bilinear), in cost of performance.

In 'Moar Graphics' we trust!

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 08 Nov 2019 21:02
by vlad01
When it comes to the raymarched nebula, are they primarily calculated by the CPU or GPU? I am trying to work out a bottleneck.

When moving near them my fps drops to about 3-7 fps at 1440p but once I actually stop traveling, the fps when panning the nebula in view is fine, up around 100 fps, its only when actually traveling near/towards/away from it tanks the performance to the point my controls stop responding and single digit fps.

Since the GPU utilization shows 100% all the time anyway I can't tell if its GPU or CPU, CPU usage is sporadic and doesn't seem to show any pattern when this happens.   So I am wondering what the nature of the nebula are, is it CPU or GPU intensive or both?

I have no issues near sprite generated nebula, only the raymarched ones.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 11 Nov 2019 11:16
by A-L-E-X
Question, how does one maintain constant velocity without having to press the forward arrow key constantly?  So let's say I want to fly to a star at 10C, I want to press the forward arrow key until it reaches that speed and have it maintain that speed until I press the back arrow key to decelerate.  Is this possible?  Because right now I have to keep pressing the forward arrow key to stay at that speed, otherwise it goes back to 0.  This is very annoying.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 11 Nov 2019 14:27
by Mosfet
That's because your camera is in free mode [1]. Press [2] to select spacecraft mode or [3] for aircraft mode. Also available on the navigation toolbar at bottom left.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 11 Nov 2019 14:57
by A-L-E-X
Mosfet wrote:
That's because your camera is in free mode [1]. Press [2] to select spacecraft mode or [3] for aircraft mode. Also available on the navigation toolbar at bottom left.

Thanks, it works now!  Can you tell me what the difference is between spacecraft mode and aircraft mode?
Also will playing soundtracks all the time (I keep my computer on 12 hours a day) cause any damage or lessen the longevity of my sound card?  And I wont blow out my 7.1 Creative speakers either?
I fixed my other sound issues by deleting some of the larger .ogg files (I had some files almost 400 MB in size!)  I kept it to files between 1 MB and 150 MB.  The largest sound tracks I have right now are about an hour and a half long.  I assume the 100 in the settings menu for music means it can play up to 100 sound tracks before it repeats?
Here are some of the movie sound tracks and songs I've converted to .ogg for SE.
-Matrix (all 3 movies so far)
-Flash
-Tron Legacy
-Man of Steel
-Batman Begins
-Dark Knight
-Superman (original)
-Back to the Future (all three movies)
-The Time Machine
-Van Helsing
-Dark Tower
-Knight Rider
-Sorcerers Apprentice
-X-files
-Star Trek

I'm using Flashback Express to make the movies, since it results in a smaller file size than the built-in movie recorder.  I've made one hour movies that are 950 MB long (including the soundtrack.)  720P

Here is one of them:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rz1hW2bqCR4&feature=youtu.be

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 11 Nov 2019 15:37
by Mosfet
Spacecraft mode makes the camera movements affected by inertia exactly like a real spaceship in space. Aircraft mode makes the camera movement similar to an airplane during atmospheric flight.
Every piece of technology has a life cycle of months, years... I'd say that the answer to your question is, yes, given a fixed amount of lifetime, keeping a computer 12h a day on will eventually make some components to reach the end of their life cycle earlier than if they were used let's say 6h per day.
If your speakers are off as I seem to remember from your other thread that you said so, I don't see how they could blow out.

If you're using your movies as personal project I think that's fine, but I would advice against the use of copyrighted music if your goal is to share them publicly.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 11 Nov 2019 15:51
by A-L-E-X
Mosfet wrote:
Spacecraft mode makes the camera movements affected by inertia exactly like a real spaceship in space. Aircraft mode makes the camera movement similar to an airplane during atmospheric flight.
Every piece of technology has a life cycle of months, years... I'd say that the answer to your question is, yes, given a fixed amount of lifetime, keeping a computer 12h a day on will eventually make some components to reach the end of their life cycle earlier than if they were used let's say 6h per day.
If your speakers are off as I seem to remember from your other thread that you said so, I don't see how they could blow out.

If you're using your movies as personal project I think that's fine, but I would advice against the use of copyrighted music if your goal is to share them publicly.

Thanks, it's mostly for friends to see, as my acct on there is new.  Speakers are usually off.  I didn't know if sound cards function differently from video cards.  I've left SE on 12 hrs a day for years without any video card I've owned going bad (knock on wood lol), but I dont know if my Creative Audigy RX 7.1 is built to the same standards.  The reason I keep my speakers off is because I've had speakers blow out on me in the past (they were Creative 5.1, the one I have now are Creative 7.1)  Would this sound card and speakers  have a life time similar to a radio or car speakers?

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 11 Nov 2019 15:59
by Khorrah
I need a help, why I cant see the planet's surfaces, textures, the same with the gas giants and other objects, even the stars, I can't see their body, only their shine, in the case of the rocky planets (I will use the Earth as example) when I disable the atmosphere there's... Nothing lol just like I disabled the view for planets.