Page 28 of 45

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 06 Oct 2019 07:46
by piko_bianko
JackDole wrote:
piko_bianko wrote:
Source of the post This second one with geforce gt 540m is the correct one

I can not find any problems in your se.log.
But I can give you some tips.
Delete the 'cache' folder in your SpaceEngine directory.
Update your graphics card driver. Yours is already a bit old.
If that does not help, you can also delete the 'main-user.cfg' and the 'save-user.cfg'. These files are in the 'config' directory.
Maybe that helps.

Neither deleting cache folder or .cfg files did something.
Driver is the newest I could find. I already tried uninstalling it and installing previous versions.

This is the problem detail log by windows

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: BEX64
  Application Name: SpaceEngine.exe
  Application Version: 0.990.38.1740
  Application Timestamp: 5d8a66ef
  Fault Module Name: nvoglv64.DLL
  Fault Module Version: 23.21.13.9135
  Fault Module Timestamp: 5ab581c4
  Exception Offset: 0000000000fd6b69
  Exception Code: c0000409
  Exception Data: 0000000000000007
  OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.48
  Locale ID: 1033
  Additional Information 1: d340
  Additional Information 2: d3401d32bd52c8ce4f6c24724c5d39f3
  Additional Information 3: 7cc1
  Additional Information 4: 7cc189f89c33c4ac4bd334d9a87e6286

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 06 Oct 2019 08:14
by JackDole
piko_bianko wrote:
Source of the post Driver is the newest I could find.

You're right. Your driver version is the last one available for your graphics card.
This may simply mean that your computer is too old for SpaceEngine.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 06 Oct 2019 10:22
by Mosfet
piko_bianko, If you didn't reinstall Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable you could also try that, since you already reinstalled OpenAL:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=52685

IF you didn't check Steam file integrity yet, do that too.
From Steam Library, right-click on SpaceEngine > Properties > Local files > verify integrity of game files
Let us know what happens.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 07 Oct 2019 03:33
by piko_bianko
JackDole wrote:
piko_bianko wrote:
Source of the post Driver is the newest I could find.

You're right. Your driver version is the last one available for your graphics card.
This may simply mean that your computer is too old for SpaceEngine.

0.98 runs just fine

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 07 Oct 2019 03:39
by piko_bianko
Mosfet wrote:
piko_bianko, If you didn't reinstall Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable you could also try that, since you already reinstalled OpenAL:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=52685

IF you didn't check Steam file integrity yet, do that too.
From Steam Library, right-click on SpaceEngine > Properties > Local files > verify integrity of game files
Let us know what happens.

C++ re-install done.
All files successfully validated.
still same driver kernel error

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 07 Oct 2019 06:50
by piko_bianko
Inspired but a steam user that had same problem by driver shutting down on a different application.

1. Removed drivers from programs, restarted.
2. I completely removed Graphics Card from devices, restarted.
3. I installed the newest drivers w clean settings and somehow 0.99 now works.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 07 Oct 2019 07:40
by piko_bianko
JackDole wrote:
This may simply mean that your computer is too old for SpaceEngine.

how dare you 
:)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 16 Oct 2019 10:42
by Mythplayer
I can't see any galaxy over 20Mly viewer distance in planetarium mode :?(No probrem in Universe map view)
lasted steam version

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 16 Oct 2019 14:34
by Mosfet
Mythplayer wrote:
I can't see any galaxy over 20Mly viewer distance in planetarium mode :?(No probrem in Universe map view)
lasted steam version

go to Settings > Camera tab and see if you have Intergalactic vision checked.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 18 Oct 2019 08:12
by longname
Mosfet wrote:
Mythplayer wrote:
I can't see any galaxy over 20Mly viewer distance in planetarium mode :?(No probrem in Universe map view)
lasted steam version

go to Settings > Camera tab and see if you have Intergalactic vision checked.

And if that fails, go to the camera tab and reset magnitude limits.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 18 Oct 2019 11:40
by Mythplayer
Mosfet wrote:
Mythplayer wrote:
I can't see any galaxy over 20Mly viewer distance in planetarium mode :?(No probrem in Universe map view)
lasted steam version

go to Settings > Camera tab and see if you have Intergalactic vision checked.

Thanks :)

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 19 Oct 2019 01:45
by vlad01
Does anyone know what this banding effect is on the bloom?  Is that just a limitation of SE or a bug?

scr00046.jpg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 19 Oct 2019 03:13
by JackDole
vlad01 wrote:
Source of the post Does anyone know what this banding effect is on the bloom?

Maybe it's up to your graphics settings.
Or it's up to your graphics card.
I do not have these bandings and I can not reproduce them.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 19 Oct 2019 04:15
by longname
JackDole wrote:
vlad01 wrote:
Source of the post Does anyone know what this banding effect is on the bloom?

Maybe it's up to your graphics settings.
Or it's up to your graphics card.
I do not have these bandings and I can not reproduce them.

I have them too. Have you tried setting exposure to maximum? You are probably not seeing any banding because you're not near anything with enough bloom.

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

Posted: 19 Oct 2019 05:52
by vlad01
I found that the bands expand in width the more the exposure when viewing the bloom.  Seems to be the way bloom works in SE.