Ultimate space simulation software

 
Aveah
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 May 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

03 May 2020 14:45

If you are having trouble with the limited physics, as if like me you are trying to make a ship travel faster than light speed, but the game prevents it from reaching over 1.00c.

common > SpaceEngine > config > main-def.cfg
You can find the physics toggles under VR Settings.
main-def.cfg - Notepad 2020-05-03 16.13.04.png
 
User avatar
Maximus
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 May 2020
Location: Peru

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

03 May 2020 18:05

Hello again! I recentyl discovered a strange bug with a partial soulution

CONDITIONS:
I made it happen on Flight Simulator, when using a spacecraft and Graphics Settings Preset are [Ultra] or [Custom]
Everytime I build a new ship, or change view from orbit trajectory to spacecraft.

WHAT HAPPENS:
FPS drop to 17~20 From A stable 60FPS

PARTIAL SOLUTION:
However, I got a workaround that solves easily. I go to graphics Settings, Alternate the Ultra Settings with Custom, wathever of both. And DONE! FPS are back to 60!!
I dont ever need change any setting, just alternating the profiles ULTRA <->CUSTOM, sometimes need to repeat twice.

NOTE: This happens same at 1080p or 4k, tested on my both screens.
If i am on a ship, and move to another ship, the fps drop again (20~17FPS)

MY SPECS:
Win 10 LTSC
Geforce GTX 1080TI OC 11G
I7 4960X
16GB Ram
NNvidia Drivers 442.19
 
Jonahrf1999
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Apr 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

08 May 2020 08:30

Jonahrf1999 wrote:
How do I stop this?
When i play Space Engine everytime random bright spots appear on planets and tiles appear too and aftter i go to like every planet i have to restart it


Attatched log file
Attachments
se.log
(177.29 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1830
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

08 May 2020 23:36

Jonahrf1999 wrote:
Source of the post How do I stop this?

Delete the 'cache' folder in your SpaceEngine installation!

You also have a lot of error messages regarding some addons.
First of all: Addons do not belong in the 'data' folder! They belong in the 'addons' folder. (And its subfolders, which you may have to create first.)

Furthermore: Some error messages are harmless. For example:
[MT] "data/catalogs/planets/AlphaCentauri.sc" line 1824: ERROR: Body "Alf Cen B 3" has Ocean.Depth or Ocean.Height (9.957000) different from Surface.BumpOffset (11.561360)

Others may cause problems, for example:
[MT] "data/catalogs/planets/Alectronaplanets.sc" line 514: ERROR: Unexpected end of file in the string constant

and:
[MT] "data/catalogs/planets/Alectronaplanets.sc" line 238: ERROR: Closing bracket '}' expected in the tag 'Moon'
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
ASASASAS77
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 May 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

10 May 2020 05:00

HEY GUYS I USED SE 0.99 VER,MY GPU DRIVER INSTALLED,WHEN I TRY TO OPEN THE MUSIC PLAYER IS SAW THE PLAYLIST WITH THE SONG BUT I CANT PLAY THEM THE PLAY BUTTIN NOT RESPOND.
THIS IS THE LOG WITH THE ERROR.

INITIALIZING OPENAL
[MT] Creating OpenAL context
[MT] ERROR: seSoundRenderer::CreateContext(): Error opening default sound device
[MT] Vendor:   (null)
[MT] Renderer: (null)
[MT] OpenAL Version: (null)
[MT] OpenAL Extensions: (null)
[MT] Loading sounds
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/menu/button.ogg"
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/menu/menu.ogg"
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/spacecraft/Shuttle_engine.ogg"
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/spacecraft/Shuttle_hover.ogg"
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/spacecraft/Shuttle_thruster.ogg"
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/spacecraft/Starship_engine.ogg"
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/spacecraft/Starship_thruster.ogg"
[MT] Loading  sound "data/sounds/spacecraft/Starship_warp.ogg"
DONE

PLEASE HELP THANK YOU.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1470
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

10 May 2020 14:41

ASASASAS77, could you please attach your entire se.log?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
ASASASAS77
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 May 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 May 2020 02:02

MOSFET,YOU MEAN ALL THE TEXT IN SE.LOG?
I PUT IN THE MESSAGE THE AUDIO LOG FROM THERE.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1830
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 May 2020 03:29

Yes, the whole text. But you don't have to paste the whole text here.
You can use Pastebin and post the link here.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
ASASASAS77
Observer
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 May 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 May 2020 10:03

thx jackdole,here the full log https://pastebin.com/BGSHfpkX
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 264
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

11 May 2020 11:45

Strange things happen: Yesterday I was playing with the latest release (0.990.40.1810) and I was getting constant 30fps in low orbit around edmund planet (from the interstellar addon by DoctorOfSpace) @ 5760x1080 on ultra settings and today I am getting ~10-11 fps.
Nothing has changed, no hardware or software/drivers were changed. Actually I was getting even higher fps when not facing the planet or the blackhole with the planet and spacecraft in FOV ~ 60. Today no matter what I do I can't get any higher than ~11 max 14 (momentarily). I don't know what happened. Ideas are welcome..
PS: tried to upload the se.log but site errors with file is too large. Anyway my specs are in my sig. Using latest driver for my gpu.
PS2: I tried switching back and forth between ultra <---> custom preset as suggested by maximus above. No luck..
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1830
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

12 May 2020 23:02

ASASASAS77 wrote:

You have an outdated version of SpaceEngine. Which indicates that you are using an illegal version. Purchased versions are usually updated automatically by Steam.
(Among other things, an update that fixes problems with newer versions of the Nvidia graphics card driver.)
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 2104
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

13 May 2020 10:52

Mosfet wrote:
Salvo, Looking at your Windows version, you have Windows 10 version 1809, published in october 2018. SInce then there were other 3 major Windows updates, the latest being version 1909. If you refer to Windows updates when you say you have the most recent version, you're probably right. I don't think that Microsoft updated those in a while, since it's ending the support for 1809 this same month.
Unless you received previous notice from Microsoft suggesting you to update to an updated Windows version, I guess you'll be stuck with an outdated one.
This is the page from AMD for latest drivers available for your graphics card, which are usualy preferable instead of ones from Windows anyway.
As a matter of fact, the latest beta has an optimization of the engine (implemented uniform buffer objects), which appears to be related to your issue:
WARNING: seUboManager::AllocAndBindBuffer(): failed to map uniform buffer
Personally I would try at least to use AMD drivers and see if the beta works again.

I would suggest sticking with 1809.  I did the update thing awhile back and 1909 has a lot of bugs (among other things it made both my taskbar and desktop disappear!)  I found that this is a common problem.  I rolled back to 1809.   I think these complaints are the reason that MS chose not to automatically update to that build.

The new se update looks BEAUTIFUL but alas it is running a little slow for me on my 1060 6 GB card at 1280x1024 resolution (I see the circular icon on the top right when I load planet surfaces, I can move around and see surface details but the circular icon means everything isn't completely loading?  It is the same on all planets I visit.  I will try to lower my resolution to 720P and see if that fixes it.)

I set it to 1200x800, seems to be okay for now.
 
Jonahrf1999
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Apr 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

14 May 2020 20:01

I have tried everything, removing all addons and all that and its still happening where tiles apear on planets as i open the game ande have to restart the game every time. and also everytime i delete the cache folder it keeps coming back. attached new log file
Attachments
scr00008.jpg
se.log
(124.85 KiB) Downloaded 65 times
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 264
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

15 May 2020 03:42

Jonahrf1999 wrote:
I have tried everything, removing all addons and all that and its still happening where tiles apear on planets as i open the game ande have to restart the game every time. and also everytime i delete the cache folder it keeps coming back. attached new log file

That's strange from your se.log:
► Show Spoiler

Maybe an expert from the SE team can help..
 
PopplioUser3674
Observer
Observer
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 Feb 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

15 May 2020 07:32

I have 2 problems: First, I was exploring planets around a black hole in a procedurally generated galaxy, but I couldn't focus on the black hole without everything else dimming. To fix it, I tried toggling things in settings, but none of it seemed to work. After I was done exploring the area, I moved to other places but I couldn't see any stars or galaxies, save the black hole and stars around the galactic center. Does anyone know any solutions? I tried setting all the GRaphics, Display, and Objects settings back to default, but it didn't work.
Attachments
se.log
(114.51 KiB) Downloaded 64 times

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest