Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Topic Author
Posts: 563
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

08 Feb 2019 21:34

The purpose of this thread is to help you determine whether your computer's hardware is capable of running SpaceEngine, or to help you choose hardware that is in case you're shopping for a new computer or components. This thread supersedes an older thread (archived here).

Note: the information listed below applies to hardware requirements for the upcoming version 0.990. Older versions of SE have lower requirements for GPU and VRAM.



GPU and VRAM

By far the most important piece of hardware for determining how well SE will run on your system is your graphics processor (GPU) and its associated dedicated video memory (VRAM). I've made a list below showing all desktop GPUs that should be able to run SE at minimum or recommended levels.

Minimum Requirements:

Nvidia GeForce:
  • 500 Series: GTX 560 (2048 MB), GTX 560 Ti (2048 MB or more), GTX 570 (2560 MB), GTX 580 (3072 MB)
  • 600 Series: GTX 650 Ti (2048 MB), GTX 660 (2048 MB or more), GTX 660 Ti, GTX 670, GTX 680 (2048 MB), GTX 690
  • 700 Series: GTX 750 (2048 MB), GTX 750 Ti (2048 MB or more), GTX 760 (2048 MB or more), GTX 760 Ti, GTX 770 (2048 MB), GTX 780 (3172 MB), GTX 780 Ti
  • 900 Series: GT 945A (2 GB), GTX 950, GTX 960
  • 10 Series: GT 1030 (GDDR5), GTX 1050, GTX 1050 Ti, GTX 1060 (3 GB)

ATI/AMD Radeon:
  • 4000 Series: HD 4850 (2048 MB), HD 4870 (2048 MB), HD 4890 (2048 MB)
  • 5000 Series: HD 5850 (2048 MB), HD 5870 (2048 MB), HD 5970 (2048x2 MB)
  • 6000 Series: HD 6870 (2048 MB), HD 6930 (2048 MB), HD 6950 (2048 MB), HD 6970, HD 6990
  • 7000 Series: HD 7770 (2048 MB), HD 7790 (2048 MB), HD 7850 (2048 MB), HD 7870, HD 7870 XT, HD 7950, HD 7970 (3072 MB), HD 7990
  • 8000 Series: HD 8760, HD 8770, HD 8950, HD 8970, HD 8990
  • 200 Series: R7 250X (2048 MB), R7 260X (2048 MB), R7 265, R9 270, R9 270X, R9 280, R9 280X, R9 285, R9 285X
  • 300 Series: R7 360, R9 360, R7 370, R9 370, R9 370X, R9 380 (2048 MB)
  • 400 Series: R7 450, R7 455, RX 460
  • 500 Series: RX 540, RX 550, RX 560

Recommended Requirements: *highly recommended (will run SE very well)

Nvidia GeForce:
  • 600 Series: GTX 680 (4096 MB)
  • 700 Series: GTX 770 (4096 MB), GTX 780 (6144 MB), GTX Titan, GTX Titan Black, GTX Titan Z
  • 900 Series: GTX 970, GTX 980, GTX 980 Ti, GTX Titan X
  • 10 Series: GTX 1060 (5 GB), GTX 1060 (6 GB), GTX 1070, GTX 1070 Ti, GTX 1080, GTX 1080 Ti, Titan X, Titan Xp
  • Volta Series: Titan V
  • 16 Series: GTX 1660, GTX 1660 Ti
  • 20 Series: RTX 2060, RTX 2070, RTX 2080, RTX 2080 Ti, Titan RTX

AMD Radeon:
  • 7000 Series: HD 7970 (6144 MB), HD 7990 (6144 MB)
  • 200 Series: R9 290, R9 290X, R9 295X2
  • 300 Series: R9 380 (4096 MB), R9 380X, R9 390, R9 390X, R9 Fury, R9 Nano, R9 Fury X, Pro Duo
  • 400 Series: RX 470D, RX 470, RX 480
  • 500 Series: RX 570, RX 580 (4 GB), RX 580 (8 GB), RX 590
  • Vega Series: RX Vega 56, RX Vega 64, Radeon VII



CPU

Regarding CPUs, SpaceEngine is much more flexible. Most desktop-grade CPUs made within the last 8 years or so will be able to meet at least the minimum requirements for SE, though of course it will benefit from faster hardware.

To see if your CPU meets the minimum requirements, go to the link below and change one of the CPUs to the one you have or are thinking about getting. If the difference is 0% or is some percentage in favor of the one you picked, then it meets SE's minimum requirements.

Minimum requirements tester

To see if your CPU meets the recommended requirements, follow the same procedure for the link below.

Recommended requirements tester



RAM

The requirements for your computer's RAM are even simpler: if it has at least 4 GB of RAM, then it meets minimum requirements. If it has at least 8 GB of RAM, then it meets recommended requirements.



Operating System

Currently, SpaceEngine is only natively compatible with Microsoft Windows operating systems. The minimum requirement is for Windows XP, but Windows 7 or newer is recommended.

Support for additional operating systems is planned for the future, and users of some Linux operating systems should be able to run SpaceEngine right now using Wine.
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Topic Author
Posts: 563
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

SpaceEngine System Requirements

09 Feb 2019 16:46

(reserved)
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Stellarator
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 798
Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Location: Sagittarius A*

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

09 Feb 2019 20:19

Thank you HarbringerDawn! This thread is indeed very useful for me as I am currently sniffing around for a new rig set-up 8-). I hope to run 0990 without the machine undergoing type Ia supernova on me!
Futurum Fusionem
 
User avatar
N0B0DY
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 195
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

10 Feb 2019 00:30

Nicely laid out. However, regarding the GPUs I am a bit surprised: The increase in the GPUs and VRAM requirements I think is way too high. I can understand that SE 0.990 has advanced a lot from its predecessors but still a 100% increase is way too high IMHO. To not be able to run the program even on a GTX 4xx series or to barely run it on a GTX 5xx series (especially on a GTX 580 with 3Gigs VRAM - that was a special edition, normal releases had 1.5GBs VRAM) is a bit too demanding.
Other games for example Elite Dangerous, and No Man's sky have lower system requirements and I think this might have a negative impact on the sales on steam. Again that is my opinion and by no means intended to diminish the value of the program.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Topic Author
Posts: 563
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

10 Feb 2019 03:09

N0B0DY wrote:
Nicely laid out. However, regarding the GPUs I am a bit surprised: The increase in the GPUs and VRAM requirements I think is way too high. I can understand that SE 0.990 has advanced a lot from its predecessors but still a 100% increase is way too high IMHO. To not be able to run the program even on a GTX 4xx series or to barely run it on a GTX 5xx series (especially on a GTX 580 with 3Gigs VRAM - that was a special edition, normal releases had 1.5GBs VRAM) is a bit too demanding.
Other games for example Elite Dangerous, and No Man's sky have lower system requirements and I think this might have a negative impact on the sales on steam. Again that is my opinion and by no means intended to diminish the value of the program.

NMS and ED are different programs with different requirements, and aside from the slight difference in listed VRAM floor, the requirements are very similar to NMS (in fact the NMS requirements are higher than SE in every way except the difference in VRAM).

Anyway, as many - if not most - people know, it is often possible to get a program to run if your hardware falls below the listed minimum specs, it's just that it will perform more poorly than most people are willing to tolerate. You could technically get 0.990 to run on a 1024 MB 8800 GT, but that doesn't mean it would be a pleasant experience.
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Onox
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Nov 2017

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

12 Feb 2019 02:32

Hello,
What about a 4K resolution ?
For a laptop PC ?
Thank's
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1422
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

13 Feb 2019 05:49

HarbingerDawn wrote:
N0B0DY wrote:
Nicely laid out. However, regarding the GPUs I am a bit surprised: The increase in the GPUs and VRAM requirements I think is way too high. I can understand that SE 0.990 has advanced a lot from its predecessors but still a 100% increase is way too high IMHO. To not be able to run the program even on a GTX 4xx series or to barely run it on a GTX 5xx series (especially on a GTX 580 with 3Gigs VRAM - that was a special edition, normal releases had 1.5GBs VRAM) is a bit too demanding.
Other games for example Elite Dangerous, and No Man's sky have lower system requirements and I think this might have a negative impact on the sales on steam. Again that is my opinion and by no means intended to diminish the value of the program.

NMS and ED are different programs with different requirements, and aside from the slight difference in listed VRAM floor, the requirements are very similar to NMS (in fact the NMS requirements are higher than SE in every way except the difference in VRAM).

Anyway, as many - if not most - people know, it is often possible to get a program to run if your hardware falls below the listed minimum specs, it's just that it will perform more poorly than most people are willing to tolerate. You could technically get 0.990 to run on a 1024 MB 8800 GT, but that doesn't mean it would be a pleasant experience.

It actually worked fine for me on a 640 MB 8800 GTS for years until my hard drive crashed.  I even had AA turned on and high settings, I just kept my resolution to 1024x768.  I had a Q6600 quad core CPU and 2 GB of RAM and Win XP on my old system.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Topic Author
Posts: 563
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

17 Feb 2019 14:20

Onox wrote:
Source of the post What about a 4K resolution ?
For a laptop PC ?

LOL my suggestion is that you don't try to run SE at 4k on a laptop. Almost no laptop in existence has the hardware needed to do that at a reasonable framerate. The few laptops that possibly could do it cost $3000 or more.

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post It actually worked fine for me on a 640 MB 8800 GTS for years until my hard drive crashed.  I even had AA turned on and high settings, I just kept my resolution to 1024x768.  I had a Q6600 quad core CPU and 2 GB of RAM and Win XP on my old system.

Keep in mind that the list I made in this thread is for what is needed to run 0.990 at 1920x1080. Obviously older versions, or using a very low resolution, will allow you to use much weaker hardware.
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Tarquin
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Feb 2019

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

17 Feb 2019 23:08

I have a Acer laptop using NVIDIA 840M with 2 GB dedicated VRAM. I note that the NVIDIA GPUs mentioned at the beginning does not include any of the 800 series. Does that mean my laptop (with an extra screen) won't run SE?
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1211
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

18 Feb 2019 13:12

Tarquin, it will run it, just not well.  0.9.9.0 can run on an Intel 4000, it just isn't recommended and won't be great. 
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Topic Author
Posts: 563
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

18 Feb 2019 22:46

Tarquin wrote:
Source of the post I note that the NVIDIA GPUs mentioned at the beginning does not include any of the 800 series

As I mentioned in the OP, that list only contains desktop GPUs. The 800 series was exclusive to laptops.

How well SE would run depends on the resolution of the screen you want to use. If it's 1080p or higher, then it will probably not run very well.

If your question is "will the program run at all?", then yes, it will.
Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8 GHz, 64 GB DDR4-3200 RAM, GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1422
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

04 Mar 2019 21:00

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Onox wrote:
Source of the post What about a 4K resolution ?
For a laptop PC ?

LOL my suggestion is that you don't try to run SE at 4k on a laptop. Almost no laptop in existence has the hardware needed to do that at a reasonable framerate. The few laptops that possibly could do it cost $3000 or more.

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post It actually worked fine for me on a 640 MB 8800 GTS for years until my hard drive crashed.  I even had AA turned on and high settings, I just kept my resolution to 1024x768.  I had a Q6600 quad core CPU and 2 GB of RAM and Win XP on my old system.

Keep in mind that the list I made in this thread is for what is needed to run 0.990 at 1920x1080. Obviously older versions, or using a very low resolution, will allow you to use much weaker hardware.

Yep, and I'm actually quite excited to run the new version on my new hardware.  The timing couldn't be better ;-) Getting my new computer last October actually gave me some time to get used to everything.  Got SNPP8 in February and soon the new version of SE and will run each full screen on different monitors.
 
User avatar
LBV 2012-26
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 Nov 2018

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

15 Mar 2019 21:12

Will 0.990 have better configuration requirements?
Last edited by LBV 2012-26 on 06 Apr 2019 06:19, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
xingqiu1
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 126
Joined: 30 Jun 2018
Location: Earth2.0

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

16 Mar 2019 07:50

If you want to run SE, the most suitable configuration is officially recommended, which can have better performance, especially at 1080P resolution.
Exporting 4K or higher resolution textures requires more memory, and more than 4G memory is the best.
There are many problems with the minimum configuration, and long waiting loads are unbearable.
 
Onox
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Nov 2017

Can My PC Run SpaceEngine?

18 Mar 2019 06:30

[quote="HarbingerDawn"][quote="Onox"][post]26927[/post] What about a 4K resolution ?
For a laptop PC ?[/quote]
LOL my suggestion is that you don't try to run SE at 4k on a laptop. Almost no laptop in existence has the hardware needed to do that at a reasonable framerate. The few laptops that possibly could do it cost $3000 or more.

[quote="A-L-E-X"][post]26962[/post] It actually worked fine for me on a 640 MB 8800 GTS for years until my hard drive crashed.  I even had AA turned on and high settings, I just kept my resolution to 1024x768.  I had a Q6600 quad core CPU and 2 GB of RAM and Win XP on my old system.[/quote]
Keep in mind that the list I made in this thread is for what is needed to run 0.990 at 1920x1080. Obviously older versions, or using a very low resolution, will allow you to use much weaker hardware.[/quote]

OK, there is a new Nvidia card : Geforce 1660Ti, not in the cards list but powerfull like Geforce 1070...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest