Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Victorbrine Orionis
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: 24 Jul 2017

Cannot move orbit of planets with editor

22 Sep 2017 09:25

So I try to move the orbit of Saturn in our solar system with the planet editor... but it doesn't work...

And after testing many things, I realized that I can't move the following objects:

-Mercury
-Venus
-Earth
-Mars
-Jupiter
-Saturn
-Uranus
-Neptune
-Pluto

(I will refer to these as MVEMJSUNP)

However all other objects in the solar system can be affected. And every other objects in the universe can move.

Also there is something in the orbital parameters called "RefPlane". It should be on "Ecliptic" but for MVEMJSUNP it isnt and instead it's blank but I can change it to Ecliptic but it wont move those planets.

Please help? Is it because I need 0.9.9.0 (which I can't get because I have no means to get a private beta). If yes does any of you know when will it be released to the public? If not then what should I do?

What I found
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 749
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Cannot move orbit of planets with editor

22 Sep 2017 10:34

Victorbrine Orionis wrote:
Source of the post  It should be on "Ecliptic" but for MVEMJSUNP it isnt and instead it's blank

It should be indeed "Ecliptic" in a standard 0980 version. Could you please attach your se.log file which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder?
You didn't specify also if you did export the script of the planet in order to save your modifications, as manual says.
Modifications of existing catalog objects, usually contained in .pak files, need to be exported since SpaceEngine can read the contents of a .pak file but it can't write it back. 
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 619
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Cannot move orbit of planets with editor

22 Sep 2017 11:46

Victorbrine Orionis wrote:
Source of the post So I try to move the orbit of Saturn in our solar system with the planet editor... but it doesn't work...

Are you using SE 0.980e?
Then this is because SpaceEngine does not use the 'Orbit' data for these objects, but the ephemerides from the 'DE436.pak' file.

If you extract the file 'SolarSys.sc' from the 'Catalogs0980.pak' archive into the 'data\catalogs\planets' folder and deactivate the parameter 'AnalyticModel  "Saturn-DE"' in the file, it should work for Saturn. (I have not tested it.)
 
User avatar
Victorbrine Orionis
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: 24 Jul 2017

Cannot move orbit of planets with editor

22 Sep 2017 12:41

How to deactivate?
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 619
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Cannot move orbit of planets with editor

22 Sep 2017 13:06

Victorbrine Orionis wrote:
Source of the post How to deactivate?

Make two slashes before the parameter.
     // AnalyticModel "Saturn-DE"
 
User avatar
Victorbrine Orionis
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: 24 Jul 2017

Cannot move orbit of planets with editor

22 Sep 2017 23:38

oh, I actually removed it completely xd (someone on the Discord told me) and it worked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest