Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Zefnoly
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 10 Jan 2017
Location: Norway
Contact:

Crashes when exporting 8k textures

26 Mar 2017 09:06

I would love some highress textures from my planet but the furthest I can push it at times is 6144 but it is not exactly the size I want. I need 8k textures for a project.
I'm not sure why it crashes at the moment I press the button. I'm in version 9.8.0. I've tried to give it maximum priority in taskemanager but it refuses to work.

The only times I've been able to make this work is with gas giants. There I had no problems doing it with 8k textures.

Specs:
OS: Windows 10 64bit
MOBO: ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
CPU: i7 Skylake 6700k 4Ghz (Water cooled with Cooler Master Nepton 240M)
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 2x8GB (16GB in total) (2300Mb/s speed)
GPU: MSI GTX 960 4GB Twinfrozer
The 4 eyed humanoid alien lizard (Fizarian race)
 
User avatar
Zefnoly
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 10 Jan 2017
Location: Norway
Contact:

Crashes when exporting 8k textures

31 Mar 2017 06:47

Bump I want to know a way to make this possible please...
The 4 eyed humanoid alien lizard (Fizarian race)
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 528
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Crashes when exporting 8k textures

31 Mar 2017 08:42

What resolution are you using exactly? 

When I export in 7680 it works just fine, it exported at 7680x3840.  I was able to export all surface maps and clouds within a minute, the program acts frozen but it is exporting to the export folder.  You should be able to go as high as 16384
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Zefnoly
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: 10 Jan 2017
Location: Norway
Contact:

Crashes when exporting 8k textures

20 Apr 2017 08:34

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
What resolution are you using exactly? 

When I export in 7680 it works just fine, it exported at 7680x3840.  I was able to export all surface maps and clouds within a minute, the program acts frozen but it is exporting to the export folder.  You should be able to go as high as 16384

Well it freezes but after 1-2 seconds it crashes. It works just fine on ressolutions like 4096. But higher than that crashes the program even if I dont touch it. Exporting as high as 16384 is a dream right now. As higher than around 6000p crashes it no matter what. The only planet I managed to export on higher ressolutions was a Gas giant, but I guess it is becuase it is pretty simple as it is mostly clouds.
I'm trying to export cubemap textures of the planet I generated for my species so I can use them in other rendering softwares like blender. And I would love some high quality textures for closer views of the planet. But it just refuses to work. It freezes (like normally) but suddenly crashes without me doing anything. Ive tried everything making higher textures work on this planet. Turn off various layers and export only selected once, giving Space Engine full access to system power.
I dont know what to do about it anymore and the only thread I find about this belongs to the old forums I cant access anymore...
I have fairly powerfull specs for this program and if what you say is possible (16k textures) it should work on my system or what you say is a joke. Because it barely even works on 6k textures. It only goes fine around 4k and lower ressolutions. But I need 8k and preferable 16k as you say is possible... My specs is in the mainpost up above.
The 4 eyed humanoid alien lizard (Fizarian race)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest