Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Black boxes around text

17 Jan 2017 10:02

Space Engine does not work, there is black boxes around text and planets are completely black. When it loads it also loads something "BUILDING SHADER CACHE". I have tried completely removing SE from my computer and reinstalling it again, and the black boxes arent removed. also it does not show my mouse, however it doesnt crash and i can still move in the game.
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1468
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Black boxes around text

17 Jan 2017 14:38

Hi, did you check the Troubleshooting and bug reports - 0980 section of the thread? Does your computer meet minimum specifications as described in the topmost message of that thread?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Black boxes around text

18 Jan 2017 10:16

Where?
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Black boxes around text

18 Jan 2017 10:25

Also btw it did not do it before the 15th January 2017, it ran perfectly fine before (probably 3 months)
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1468
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Black boxes around text

18 Jan 2017 10:33

If it worked before then I guess it meets specifications...
Could you please attach your se.log which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1794
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Black boxes around text

18 Jan 2017 11:14

Xoran,
delete the 'main-user.cfg' in the 'config' directory. SpaceEngine will then re-create this file from the 'main-def.cfg'.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Black boxes around text

19 Jan 2017 10:29

main-user.cfg keeps coming back whenever i start SE
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Black boxes around text

19 Jan 2017 10:41

And it doesnt show diffraction spikes
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1794
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Black boxes around text

19 Jan 2017 10:47

Then post your 'se.log', as Mosfet said.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
GhoststarKat
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Location: Washington

Black boxes around text

19 Jan 2017 22:28

im having the same problem. my pc meets requirements and worked fine until today. altho i hadnt played it since the 15th or so.

here is se log. also planets will black out if i get too close and lots of stars seem to be missing

Image
Attachments
se.log
(194.56 KiB) Downloaded 278 times
 
User avatar
GhoststarKat
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Location: Washington

Black boxes around text

19 Jan 2017 22:30

i just saw the "delete main config" post and that has fixed my problem for now.
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Black boxes around text

20 Jan 2017 10:17

what do you mean "post your se.log" ?
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
GhoststarKat
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Location: Washington

Black boxes around text

20 Jan 2017 10:36

find your log file here

Image
Image

post it with this

Image
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Black boxes around text

21 Jan 2017 03:16

is it this?
Attachments
se.log
(194.42 KiB) Downloaded 197 times
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1794
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Black boxes around text

21 Jan 2017 04:54

Xoran,
I've recommended you to delete the 'main-user.cfg' because it is possible that an error has occurred in this file. This happens sometimes.

If you delete this file, SpaceEngine restores it. From the 'main-def.cfg'. Thats alright.

If the deletion of the 'main-user.cfg' does not solve your problem, then this is not the reason for your problem, and you should leave the 'main-user.cfg' in the future in peace.

I can not say then what is the reason for your problem. I can only recommend SpaceEngine to uninstall and then reinstall.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest