Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Locations saved return me to empty space

04 Jan 2017 01:57

Recently I experienced the Black Screen of Death on SE. (Which was, when loading SE, I could never see the menu screen). Reading the forums, the solution I seem to have found was to delete the main-user.cfg file and re-start the program, which would make a new version of the file. I also believe the Black Screen issue when starting SE, was caused by me taking control of a space-craft in a previous session and not setting the Reference Object correctly. Since having removed the old main-user.cfg file, the Black Screen issue is no longer a problem, plus I can see comets, and interestingly enough, SE now plays music all the time, which it never did before.

But now I have another new problem. Most, but not all (90%) of locations I save, when returning to it, leaving me floating in empty space. The object that I had saved is usually a few AU away. But since I am saving these locations as positions I want to start filming a video while in game, I never get to start where I left off. Locations that I saved prior to the Black Screen issue are all there, and a select few that I saved after removing the file do return me to the proper place and time.

I guess I just want to do a new install. But of course I would like to save all the locations and planet names I've made and import them into a new install, if possible. What is the best course of action to fix this? Thanks!

(One other note: I noticed my clock said the year 7 billion or something. I never reset it to current time, until after having this problem. Resetting it to current time did not help.)
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Locations saved return me to empty space

04 Jan 2017 18:33

So, I removed 9 different files from the SE config directory:
Journal.cfg
keys.cfg
main-user.cfg
save-user.cfg
spacecraft.cfg
user-eng-db.cfg
places-def.cfg
places-user.cfg
user-eng-db.bak

All had the same Date modified time staps that had changed since last loading of SE program. Restarted the engine and it re-wrote the new replacement files for all, starting me off near a random planet ( RS 8474-946-7-817561-60 A4 ) with a great view BTW. Not sure of it's signifigance, if any.

Then I replaced 2 of the newly written files with my old backups of:
places-def.cfg
places-user.cfg

Now, I have no clock issue with it being the year 7 billion when loading saved locations and I have all my old saved locations. Best of all, I can save locations now and return to them! The few that still send me to empty space don't affect the clock. I simply deleted those. I guess you can delete this too, :)
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Locations saved return me to empty space

17 Jan 2017 03:10

It seems I have this problem often when I must close SE either by closing the window with the little red x in the corner or it simply crashes from a run time error. These errors or crashes only happen when recording video and I'm sure I'm maxing my system.

When I restart I get the blurry splash screen of where I was last time I ran the engine successfully, but when clicking Planetarium it takes me to a place a few AU away from Earth each time, not the location I was at when exiting the last game. Plus the clock is all wonky. I start out in the year 47,483,648 on New Year's Eve.
Attachments
return to empty space.jpg
return to empty space.jpg (51.07 KiB) Viewed 722 times
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 690
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Locations saved return me to empty space

17 Jan 2017 07:46

Did you check the Troubleshooting and bug reports - 0980 section of the thread? Could you please attach your se.log which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, as requested in the topmost message of that thread?

The blurry splash screen is saved just when you properly close the program (menu or Esc > Exit), if you can't, it doesn't get updates.
I suggest you to hit "set current time" button on the time control panel, then close properly the program, in order to save time/date infos on your user configuration file.
If you don't, continuous crashes will lead probably to writing errors in config files, hence your problems.
Deleting main-user.cfg file it will place your camera at default initial coordinates for a fresh installed 0980 like you did before (the great view, indeed).
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Locations saved return me to empty space

17 Jan 2017 10:58

Thanks Mosfet, I did glance through the initial posting and troubleshooting tips. My drivers should be fairly recent updates, I have never used any mods. I neglected to follow the instructions though. I will do the time reset as you suggested right away.
From the log file , two things I noticed are:

WARNING: LoadUserConfig(): Unknown reference body "", using universal coordinates

ERROR: Script::Load(): Can't write the file "config/save-user.cfg"

[color=#ffffff]
se.log
(45.82 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
[/color]
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Locations saved return me to empty space

17 Jan 2017 11:14

Update to my progress; I removed the main-user.cfg file and restarted the engine. I noticed the save-user.cfg file has a size of 0kb, opening it shows there is no data in it. Time stamp matches the other 7 or so files. In Settings, under the Player section, I can change temperature from Celsius to Fahrenheit and it will save my selection for the next start up, but changing the Player name is not saved for the next start up. Clicking change time to current time does so in game but on the next start up it is back to the year 47 million.
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 690
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Locations saved return me to empty space

17 Jan 2017 14:15

Gnargenox, delete the file save-user.cfg, it will be replaced by a default copy from save-def.cfg. it's the one containing player's name and time/date references. Other parameters are saved in main-user.cfg and I got confused, sorry. There was a bug regarding the player's name so ignore it, I think it's fixed for the next update.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Pioneer
Pioneer
Topic Author
Posts: 363
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Locations saved return me to empty space

17 Jan 2017 14:22

Done. Everything is wonderful now. I hope I can use my old places-user.cfg file without any problems. Thanks for the walk through and confidence booster.
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest