Free planetarium

 
Pluto
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Can my PC run Space Engine?

14 Dec 2016 12:41

My PC has the following,

* Windows 10  
* 6th Gen Intel Core i3, 6100U mobile processor
Intel HD Graphics 520
* 4GB memory
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 330
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Can my PC run Space Engine?

14 Dec 2016 14:34

Judging by benchmarks I see around, you could have graphical issues or texture problems. SE needs dedicated video memory, but some users have SE running on Intel HD 4000-5000.
edit:
Thanks Ostarisk.
Last edited by Mosfet on 14 Dec 2016 15:44, edited 1 time in total.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
Ostarisk
Astronaut
Posts: 47
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Mimas Crater Base

Can my PC run Space Engine?

14 Dec 2016 15:23

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post but some users have SE running on Intel HD 4400-5000.

My SE is running on Intel 4000, and It works seamlessly, with a few lag spikes sometimes.
My Mods(Old Forum)
My Mods(New Forum)
"I think of space not as the final frontier but as the next frontier. Not as something to be conquered but as to be explored." - Neil Degrasse Tyson
 
User avatar
Salvo
Space Pilot
Posts: 93
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

15 Dec 2016 01:25

Ostarisk wrote:
My SE is running on Intel 4000, and It works seamlessly, with a few lag spikes sometimes.

The Intel HD 520 graphic card should be slightly more powerful than Intel HD 4000, so I guess it should work just fine.
If you have weird artifacts you can try to ask Ostarisk, maybe he knows the solution.  :P
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
User avatar
SwordL
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Dec 2016
Location: Blue Springs, US
Contact:

Grphics Settings

18 Dec 2016 12:18

Hi my computer is low budget, so i don't have very high specs. I just wanted to know, what was the lowest graphics settings possible?
smallspecs.png
A little bit of specs, mainly processor, ram and Windows experience index.
smallspecs.png (13.5 KiB) Viewed 372 times
why are you staring
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
Astronaut
Posts: 52
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

19 Dec 2016 14:16

SwordL wrote:
Source of the post Hi my computer is low budget, so i don't have very high specs. I just wanted to know, what was the lowest graphics settings possible?

Change the following settings in the Graphics menu:
  • Anisotropy level: off
  • MSAA antialiasing: off
  • FXAA antialiasing: off
  • Dithering: off
  • Aurora quality: low
  • Black hole quality: low
  • Ship warp quality: off
  • Diffraction spikes: off
  • Lens flares: off
  • Landscape LOD: -2
  • Loading speed: (higher numbers will load faster, but will lower framerate while loading terrain)
  • Eclipse shadows: off
  • Ring shadows on sky: off
  • Planet shine: off
  • Night side lights: off

Those are the least demanding graphics settings possible in SE. If those aren't good enough, you can try disabling some objects or layers from rendering (like galaxies, nebulae, aurora, comet tails, clouds, water, etc.)

If that still doesn't work, then there's not much you can do. SE is a fairly demanding 3D program, and generally requires dedicated graphics hardware to run well.
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 4096 MB VRAM
 
User avatar
SwordL
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Dec 2016
Location: Blue Springs, US
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

28 Dec 2016 15:58

it works better now, thanks
why are you staring
 
User avatar
Pepethecat
Observer
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Feb 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

11 Mar 2017 08:06

Run the game and find out ffs.
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Explorer
Posts: 280
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Can my PC run Space Engine?

11 Mar 2017 17:04

Pepethecat, please refrain from making posts that are terse and unhelpful.  You can see how others have contributed thoughtful and constructive advice.
 
User avatar
Xoran
Explorer
Posts: 260
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Can my PC run Space Engine?

14 Mar 2017 10:51

Watsisname wrote:
Source of the post Pepethecat, please refrain from making posts that are terse and unhelpful.  You can see how others have contributed thoughtful and constructive advice.

I agree with you, but i think the post that Pepethecat made was meant as a joke  :)
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest