Free planetarium

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
 
Markk786
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Jul 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

29 Jul 2017 19:30

Pluto wrote:
My PC has the following,

* Windows 10  
* 6th Gen Intel Core i3, 6100U mobile processor
Intel HD Graphics 520
* 4GB memory

Hi I have the same specs,but win 7.....will it make a difference??
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 579
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Can my PC run Space Engine?

30 Jul 2017 01:56

No, the answer is still valid. You could have graphical glitches or issues, depending on the lack of dedicated video RAM.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

31 Jul 2017 16:02

Some helpful info: by far the most important piece of hardware for determining how well SE will run on your system is your graphics processor. I've made a list below showing all GPUs that should be able to run SE at minimum or recommended levels.

Minimum Requirements:

Nvidia GeForce:
  • 8 Series: 8800 GT (1024 MB)
  • 9 Series: 9800 GT (1024 MB), 9800 GTX+ (1024 MB)
  • 100 Series: GTS 150
  • 200 Series: GTS 240, GTS 250 (1024 MB), GTX 280, GTX 285
  • 400 Series: GTS 450 (1024 MB or more), GTX 460 SE, GTX 460 (1024 MB or more), GTX 465, GTX 470, GTX 480
  • 500 Series: GT 545, GTX 550 Ti, GTX 555, GTX 560 SE, GTX 560 (1024 MB), GTX 560 Ti (1024 or 1280 MB), GTX 570 (1280 MB), GTX 580 (1536 MB), GTX 590
  • 600 Series: GT 630, GT 635, GT 640, GT 645, GTX 645, GTX 650, GTX 650 Ti (1024 MB), GTX 660 (1536 MB)
  • 700 Series: GT 730, GT 740, GTX 745, GTX 750 (1024 MB), GTX 760 (1536 MB)
  • 900 Series: GT 945A (1024 MB)
  • 10 Series: GT 1030

ATI/AMD Radeon:
  • 4000 Series: HD 4650 (1024 MB), HD 4670 (1024 MB), HD 4830 (1024 MB), HD 4850 (1024 MB), HD 4860 (1024 MB), HD 4870 (1024 MB), HD 4890 (1024 MB), HD 4850 X2 (1024x2 MB), HD 4870 X2
  • 5000 Series: HD 5550 (1024 MB or more), HD 5570 (1024 MB or more), HD 5610, HD 5670 (1024 MB or more), HD 5750 (1024 MB), HD 5770 (1024 MB), HD 5830, HD 5850 (1024 MB), HD 5870 (1024 MB), HD 5970 (1024x2 MB)
  • 6000 Series: HD 6570, HD 6670 (1024 MB), HD 6750 (1024 MB), HD 6770 (1024 MB), HD 6790, HD 6850, HD 6870 (1024 MB), HD 6930 (1024 MB), HD 6950 (1024 MB)
  • 7000 Series: HD 7510, HD 7570 (1024 MB), HD 7670 (1024 MB), HD 7730, HD 7750, HD 7770 (1024 MB), HD 7790 (1024 MB), HD 7850 (1024 MB)
  • 8000 Series: HD 8570, HD 8670, HD 8730
  • 200 Series: R5 240, R7 250, R7 250E, R7 250X (1024 MB), R7 260, R7 260X (1024 MB)
  • 300 Series: R5 330, R5 340, R7 340, R7 350
  • 400 Series: R5 430, R5 435, R7 430, R7 435
  • 500 Series: 520, 530

Recommended Requirements: *highly recommended (will run SE very well)

Nvidia GeForce:
  • 500 Series: GTX 560 (2048 MB), GTX 560 Ti (2048 or 2560 MB), GTX 570 (2560 MB), GTX 580 (3072 MB)
  • 600 Series: GTX 650 Ti (2048 MB), GTX 660 (2048 MB or more), GTX 670, GTX 680, GTX 690
  • 700 Series: GTX 750 (2048 MB), GTX 750 Ti, GTX 760 (2048 MB or more), GTX 760 Ti, GTX 770, GTX 780, GTX 780 Ti, GTX Titan, GTX Titan Black, GTX Titan Z
  • 900 Series: GT 945A (2048 MB), GTX 950, GTX 960, GTX 970, GTX 980, GTX 980 Ti, GTX Titan X
  • 10 Series: GTX 1050, GTX 1050 Ti, GTX 1060, GTX 1070, GTX 1080, GTX 1080 Ti, Titan X, Titan Xp

ATI/AMD Radeon:
  • 4000 Series: HD 4850 (2048 MB), HD 4870 (2048 MB), HD 4890 (2048 MB)
  • 5000 Series: HD 5850 (2048 MB), HD 5870 (2048 MB), HD 5970 (2048x2 MB)
  • 6000 Series: HD 6870 (2048 MB), HD 6930 (2048 MB), HD 6950 (2048 MB), HD 6970, HD 6990
  • 7000 Series: HD 7770 (2048 MB), HD 7790 (2048 MB), HD 7850 (2048 MB), HD 7870, HD 7870 XT, HD 7950, HD 7970, HD 7990
  • 8000 Series: HD 8760, HD 8770, HD 8950, HD 8970, HD 8990
  • 200 Series: R7 250X (2048 MB),, R7 260X (2048 MB), R7 265, R9 270, R9 270X, R9 280, R9 280X, R9 285, R9 290, R9 290X, R9 295X2
  • 300 Series: R7 360, R9 360, R7 370, R9 370, R9 370X, R9 380, R9 380X, R9 390, R9 390X, R9 Fury, R9 Nano, R9 Fury X, Pro Duo
  • 400 Series: R7 450, R7 455, RX 460, RX 470D, RX 470, RX 480
  • 500 Series: RX 540, RX 550, RX 560, RX 570, RX 580
  • Vega Series: RX Vega 56, RX Vega 64
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Nicky
Observer
Observer
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Jul 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

31 Jul 2017 17:15

[quote="HarbingerDawn"]Some helpful info: by far the most important piece of hardware for determining how well SE will run on your system is your graphics processor. I've made a list below showing all GPUs that should be able to run SE at minimum or recommended levels.

WOW THANK YOU!!! :) It's really really helpful! :)
 
User avatar
Andromeda
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 18 Nov 2016

Can my PC run Space Engine?

02 Aug 2017 02:28

Decent Intel GPUs also work if you don't mind ~30 fps. It looks like OP's computer doesn't have enough RAM or processing power to compensate though.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

02 Aug 2017 04:51

Andromeda wrote:
Source of the post Decent Intel GPUs also work if you don't mind ~30 fps

My list was made to show what GPUs meet SE's listed minimum and recommended requirements, which no Intel GPUs do. SE may run on some Intel GPUs, but it's still not recommended.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 56
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Can my PC run Space Engine?

03 Aug 2017 15:04

Well, FWIW, I have a GeForce GT 610 and the program runs. Slowly, sometimes going down as low as 2 FPS, but it displays everything. I can even fly ships.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

03 Aug 2017 17:06

JCandeias wrote:
Source of the post Well, FWIW, I have a GeForce GT 610 and the program runs. Slowly, sometimes going down as low as 2 FPS, but it displays everything. I can even fly ships.

I doubt that anyone consulting the list is doing so because they want to get a card which cards run SE at 2 fps, hence the 610 not making the list.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
Marko S.
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 133
Joined: 02 Jul 2017
Location: Serbia

Can my PC run Space Engine?

03 Aug 2017 17:24

I have AMD Radeon r7 with 1024 MB of VRAM and it runs good. Sometimes I would get crashes or low fps, but it's normal. When I would wait to render some terrain on planets, it would have fps like 20 or lower. But, I am satisfied with this I have now.
Specs: Ram: 8gb | Vram: 1gb | Graphics card: AMD Radeon | Hard-drive: 1tb | Processor: AMD Athlon X4 750 Quad Core Processor | CPU: 3.40 GHz | OS: Win 10 and XP (lol) |
We use time just to orientate through space.
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 56
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Can my PC run Space Engine?

03 Aug 2017 17:35

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Source of the post I doubt that anyone consulting the list is doing so because they want to get a card which cards run SE at 2 fps, hence the 610 not making the list.

Well, they might if they could get the card cheap and can't afford any more than that (or if there's some issue with older hardware archietctures preventing the installation of newer stuff) and the alternative is not being able to run the program at all. I've seen several users talking in this forum about not being able to upgrade their hardware for financial reasons. It happens.

Besides, 2 fps is the minimum, and the program only drops that much on/near planetary surfaces. Up in space it's usually in the range 10-15, unless you get close to some planet, where it tends to drop to half that much. Jumpy, but playable. And renders everything, eventually, if one's patient enough to wait.
 
User avatar
Salvo
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

04 Aug 2017 00:44

JCandeias wrote:
Up in space it's usually in the range 10-15, unless you get close to some planet

Weird. My old card was an ATI Radeon HD 4650 that is just slightly better but I had 30-40 fps in space, maybe it's the "new" star rendering that is very heavy.
Are you sure you didn't deactivate galaxy/nebulae impostors? Having those check-boxes deactivated drops the framerate a lot.
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

04 Aug 2017 00:51

JCandeias wrote:
Source of the post Up in space it's usually in the range 10-15, unless you get close to some planet, where it tends to drop to half that much. Jumpy, but playable. And renders everything, eventually, if one's patient enough to wait.

You can see why this would be considered below minimum requirements. Minimum requirements don't mean nothing lower than that can run it, it means that nothing lower than that can run it at a level that most people would consider acceptable. A potato could run SE if you had a magic OpenGL 3.3 compatible potato and didn't care about waiting a half-hour for a frame to render. But you won't see any potatoes on the minimum requirements.

JCandeias wrote:
Source of the post Well, they might if they could get the card cheap and can't afford any more than that

A GT 630 can be got for $30-40 on Ebay, and a 9800 GT for $10-25 (the same price as a GT 610). Obviously prices vary by country, but this gives a sense for the relative value of the cards. There are cheap cards that are far better than a GT 610 and which are on the list.

Salvo wrote:
Source of the post My old card was an ATI Radeon HD 4650 that is just slightly better but I had 30-40 fps in space

HD 4650 is more than twice as powerful as a GT 610.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 56
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Can my PC run Space Engine?

04 Aug 2017 07:00

Salvo wrote:
Source of the post Weird. My old card was an ATI Radeon HD 4650 that is just slightly better but I had 30-40 fps in space, maybe it's the "new" star rendering that is very heavy.

My card used to have way higher fps values in space than it has now. Usually it was in the upper 20s and, occasionally, it even went up as high as 60. It has always been slow on planets, especially on those with several cloud layers, auroras, and so on, but never got even close to 2. I even flew around with a LOD of 2 back then.

With the latest versions, though, fps fell precipitously. Not even by putting every setting in the lowest possible value it gets much better.

And yes, all impostors are always on.
 
A-L-E-X
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 378
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

09 Aug 2017 20:57

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Andromeda wrote:
Source of the post Decent Intel GPUs also work if you don't mind ~30 fps

My list was made to show what GPUs meet SE's listed minimum and recommended requirements, which no Intel GPUs do. SE may run on some Intel GPUs, but it's still not recommended.

My old 8800GTS 640 mb worked fine with it even with higher settings, I just had to lower resolution to 800x600
Question, my desktop which has windows XP has Open GL 3.3 and works fine with SE.  But my laptop with Intel graphics and Windows 7 only supports up to Open GL 2.1.  Can I somehow run SE with it- how can I get Open GL 3.3 to work on it?  I mean OGL 3.3 works with my XP desktop so why shouldn't it work with my Windows 7 laptop?  Is there a workaround to get SE to work on it?  Both Starry Night and Stellarium run on it.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 579
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Can my PC run Space Engine?

10 Aug 2017 06:38

I'm afraid no. your Intel hardware must be able to work with newer OpenGL extensions, and if it's possible, Intel have to update your drivers, which is possible but unlikely. Starry Night is compiled with OpenGL 1.4 and Stellarium with 2.0
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests