Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

10 Aug 2017 11:42

Mosfet wrote:
I'm afraid no. your Intel hardware must be able to work with newer OpenGL extensions, and if it's possible, Intel have to update your drivers, which is possible but unlikely. Starry Night is compiled with OpenGL 1.4 and Stellarium with 2.0

So it isn't an OS issue :( I was thinking of porting my OGL 3.3 files from my XP desktop to my Win 7 laptop but I take it that won't work?  I can't use a program like Maya to shoe-horn OGL 3.3 onto the laptop can I?

You're right about SN and Stellarium using older versions- it probably explains why the moon looks so artificial on SN.  I can't believe they still use OGL 1.4 and yet don't support Win XP anymore (at least Stellarium still does.)  I use an older version (PP6) on my desktop and the newer version (PP7) on my laptop.  It runs slow on the laptop though and I have to keep AllSky off.

If I wanted to go this route with the laptop is there any way to attach an external graphics card to it?  If I did would NVidia handle OGL and I could use OGL 3.3 or even higher?
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 367
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Can my PC run Space Engine?

10 Aug 2017 13:03

A-L-E-X, the only way you can have OpenGL 3.3 working on your computer is if your graphics hardware supports it and your video drivers are up to date. Get the latest video drives from Intel, if it doesn't work after the update, you're out of luck.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

02 Sep 2017 21:14

Nicky wrote:
HarbingerDawn wrote:
Nicky, your 8300 was a relatively low-spec card even 10 years ago, it is not nearly good enough to run SE. You need a new graphics card.


I suspected it :( uff. Which video card would be good enough? My mum's pc has intel hd 520 or 530, I don't remember.

Try to get the GT 730, it is inexpensive and pretty good, try to get the one with 384 cores, they have two versions and the other one isn't so good.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 804
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

02 Sep 2017 21:15

HarbingerDawn wrote:
A-L-E-X, the only way you can have OpenGL 3.3 working on your computer is if your graphics hardware supports it and your video drivers are up to date. Get the latest video drives from Intel, if it doesn't work after the update, you're out of luck.

HD, I am thinking of looking around for the newest version of SE that used OpenGL 2.1.  Can I find that from somewhere to use on my laptop?
 
Master Yoda
Observer
Observer
Posts: 10
Joined: 08 Jan 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

06 Sep 2017 02:04

I just got a used laptop from a pawn shop that has better specs than my old laptop (intel celeron cpu n2830 64 MB dedicated video ram, dual core 2.16 GHZ)


My new laptop has  AMD A6-5200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 2.00 ghz (quad core) and 4 gb ram Windows 8 64-Bit. What settings should I put in Space Engine?
 
Hi-Angel
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Jan 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

09 Sep 2017 03:35

I'm having "Error loading texture generator shaders". It's a popular topic, there are hits on reddit, but no solution so far. I thought it'd be a good idea to post here.

I found some info here, but my system satisfy requirements posted there (i.e. it's HD6650M, and I see not errors about "unsupported" in the log)

(I hope it's the correct way to start new topic? There's no possibility to post a new top question, so I took the most relevant existing topic)
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 616
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Can my PC run Space Engine?

09 Sep 2017 05:34

Hi-Angel wrote:
Source of the post I'm having "Error loading texture generator shaders".

Post your 'se.log'. You can find it in the 'system' directory of your SpaceEngine installation.


Hi-Angel wrote:
Source of the post (I hope it's the correct way to start new topic? There's no possibility to post a new top question, so I took the most relevant existing topic)

Thats alright. Always use existing threads, if possible.
(You can open your own threads if you have 10 posts. As mentioned in the Forum rules.)
 
Hi-Angel
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Jan 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

09 Sep 2017 13:42

JackDole wrote:
Hi-Angel wrote:
Source of the post I'm having "Error loading texture generator shaders".

Post your 'se.log'. You can find it in the 'system' directory of your SpaceEngine installation.

Oh, damn, I got confused because upon looking at the log, it seemed to end at the line "[MT] GLSL   version: 1.30". My bad — I opened the log in terminal vim which moved the very long line about extensions to the next screen.
Not that now it got any better… Just saying :D

I've attached the log, but I do already see where it's failing, the line "0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, 1.30, 1.00 ES, and 3.00 E". So, this is a bug in SpaceEngine, right? Because my card definitely supports GLSL 1.30. FTR, here's the list:
$ glxinfo | grep version
server glx version string: 1.4
client glx version string: 1.4
GLX version: 1.4
    Max core profile version: 3.3
    Max compat profile version: 3.0
    Max GLES1 profile version: 1.1
    Max GLES[23] profile version: 3.0
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 17.3.0-devel (git-9573bd70e1)
OpenGL core profile shading language version string: 3.30
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 17.3.0-devel (git-9573bd70e1)
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
OpenGL ES profile version string: OpenGL ES 3.0 Mesa 17.3.0-devel (git-9573bd70e1)
OpenGL ES profile shading language version string: OpenGL ES GLSL ES 3.00
Attachments
se.log
(41 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 616
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Can my PC run Space Engine?

09 Sep 2017 15:04

Hi-Angel wrote:
Source of the post I've attached the log, but I do already see where it's failing, the line "0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, 1.30, 1.00 ES, and 3.00 E". So, this is a bug in SpaceEngine, right? Because my card definitely supports GLSL 1.30

These lines mean that your graphics card should support at least 'GLSL 3.30' to work with SpaceEngine!
[MT] ERROR: Compiling shader "#/shaders/hdr_down.glsl":
0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, 1.30, 1.00 ES, and 3.00 ES

Your graphics card supports only the versions '1.10, 1.20, 1.30, 1.00 ES, and 3.00 ES'!
This means your graphics card does not work properly with SpaceEngine.
 
Hi-Angel
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Jan 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

09 Sep 2017 15:15

JackDole wrote:
Hi-Angel wrote:
Source of the post I've attached the log, but I do already see where it's failing, the line "0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, 1.30, 1.00 ES, and 3.00 E". So, this is a bug in SpaceEngine, right? Because my card definitely supports GLSL 1.30

These lines mean that your graphics card should support at least 'GLSL 3.30' to work with SpaceEngine!
[MT] ERROR: Compiling shader "#/shaders/hdr_down.glsl":
0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, 1.30, 1.00 ES, and 3.00 ES

Your graphics card supports only the versions '1.10, 1.20, 1.30, 1.00 ES, and 3.00 ES'!
This means your graphics card does not work properly with SpaceEngine.

But no, my driver does support 3.30. You can see it in the command output from my prev. comment. More over, my driver (r600) could support even higher, but doesn't because the GPU lacks Double Precision support. I mention it just because in case SE doesn't use fp64 extensions, I could just override the version, thus providing an even higher OpenGL without problems.
Anyway, could it possibly be that SpaceEngine for some reason asks the compatibility OpenGL profile?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 749
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Can my PC run Space Engine?

09 Sep 2017 16:15

Hi-Angel, I see you're using X.org. Apparently you incurred in some emulation issue. I'm afraid SE is not really well tested under Linux.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Hi-Angel
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Jan 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

21 Sep 2017 15:39

Mosfet wrote:
Hi-Angel, I see you're using X.org. Apparently you incurred in some emulation issue. I'm afraid SE is not really well tested under Linux.

Recently came up an unrelated discussion, and I looked up AppDb for SpaceEngine. It says it's working with NVidia proprietary drivers, so it's sure not an emulation issue, but a problem with SpaceEngine using compatibility profiles. Now, by acknowledge of Dolphin devs in their drivers hall of shame, Mesa drivers are one of the best. And the post is 5 years old, when AMD hardly participated, if at all!
SpaceEngine funding have crossed long ago the native port to GNU/Linux. I understand the low amount of resources for stuff — but could you at least make it working in Wine?? Like, really, it's the smallest thing you could do.
 
Hi-Angel
Observer
Observer
Posts: 8
Joined: 24 Jan 2017

Can my PC run Space Engine?

21 Sep 2017 15:41

"you" — I didn't mean Mosfet personally, I guess it's rather to SpaceEngineer if he reads these forums.
 
User avatar
gamadh
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 56
Joined: 03 Jan 2017
Location: Earth/Brazil

Can my PC run Space Engine?

02 Oct 2017 09:12

I have an i5 processor 2.80 GHZ, RAM 8.00 GB, windows 10 64 bit, and still no more than 20 FPS
In such a hostile universe it is not necessary be the center to be special, just be alive
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 749
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Can my PC run Space Engine?

02 Oct 2017 12:35

gamadh wrote:
Source of the post I have an i5 processor 2.80 GHZ, RAM 8.00 GB, windows 10 64 bit, and still no more than 20 FPS

My specifications are in my signature, and I have ranges between 20-50 FPS. The GPU makes the difference in SpaceEngine.

Hi-Angel wrote:
Source of the post I looked up AppDb for SpaceEngine. It says it's working with NVidia proprietary drivers, so it's sure not an emulation issue, but a problem with SpaceEngine using compatibility profiles.

I don't know much about it, but that page is referring to SE v. 0.9.6 which according the changelog is mid 2012. Much is changed in the meantime.
As for linux support, I'm waiting with you :) but I can't read Vladimir's impenetrable motivations (read: lots of money to finally hire someone for help?). I presume the next thing he must do in order to be able to gather resources is the Steam launch, as of now I believe donations are not enough to support expenses for full-time coding.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest