Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1493
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

19 Nov 2020 05:56

Messier, this is how I see that brown dwarf. One of the screenshots is taken in HDR mode, the other in Auto mode. Luminosity of brown dwarfs is treated a bit differently from oher stars, it should be illuminated by the other star if you switch in HDR mode.

It could also be related to your graphic card, as your graphic drvers are very old (2017).
This is a link to the latest graphic drivers for your Geforce 940MX, windows 10 64bit english:
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverR ... 6629/en-us
Attachments
scr00001.jpg
HDR mode
scr00003.jpg
Auto mode
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Messier
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 92
Joined: 26 May 2018
Location: UK

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

19 Nov 2020 08:12

Mosfet wrote:
Messier, this is how I see that brown dwarf. One of the screenshots is taken in HDR mode, the other in Auto mode. Luminosity of brown dwarfs is treated a bit differently from oher stars, it should be illuminated by the other star if you switch in HDR mode.

It could also be related to your graphic card, as your graphic drvers are very old (2017).
This is a link to the latest graphic drivers for your Geforce 940MX, windows 10 64bit english:
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driverR ... 6629/en-us

Thanks man, I don't play very often with HDR on so I'll give it a whirl.
The only Astrogriff
 
User avatar
Messier
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 92
Joined: 26 May 2018
Location: UK

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

19 Nov 2020 08:49

It works!

So, would it mean that not being able to see Brown Dwarves in Auto-exposure is still a bug?
The only Astrogriff
 
User avatar
JediTrekkie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 74
Joined: 04 May 2017
Location: Gliese 581 g

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

19 Nov 2020 20:11

Mosfet wrote:
JediTrekkie, can we see your se.log file? It's in your SpaceEngine\system\ folder 

here it is: 
se.log
(763.87 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
 
Space Nerd
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Jul 2019

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

20 Nov 2020 23:33

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but how to keep a separate install that won't be auto updated by steam?
I tried copying the SE folder to another location, but it's still running from steam.
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 482
Joined: 02 May 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

23 Nov 2020 00:39

What version of nvidia drivers are the newest that will run SE 0.991 without problems?


I just got serious sam 4 but my drivers are too old so I need to update but I recall someone saying the newer ones wont run SE?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1493
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

23 Nov 2020 04:00

vlad01 wrote:
What version of nvidia drivers are the newest that will run SE 0.991 without problems?

You probably are referring to issues with recent drivers that 0.980 users have. As far as I know there are not peculiar issues with recent Nvidia drivers.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
vlad01
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 482
Joined: 02 May 2018

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

23 Nov 2020 23:35

Thanks for that, I ended up trying one of the newest ones and everything works fine now.
 
User avatar
InterstellarTraveler
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Nov 2020
Location: Königsberg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

25 Nov 2020 02:41

One of the basic problems (flaws) of the new 0.991 public beta
Testing a new beta version for SE now. One moment caused the most disappointment. With the search tool now is almost impossible to find a habitable earth-like (with earth-like size and earth-like mass) planet. I could not find any one, although [color=#00a0c6][font=roboto, sans-serif]I checked this in different galaxies, including the Milky Way. 
Only super-earths and even mega-earths with high gravity. I hope that this will be corrected.

[/font][/color]
 
Megamauz
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Nov 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

25 Nov 2020 22:24

Hey, I've been trying to play Space Engine, but lately it just crashes on "Intializing Engine", from the log file it seems that it can't find fonts. Could be it the problem because I have three keyboard layouts installed(ENG,RUS,JAP)?
Attachments
se.log
(241.72 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1871
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Nov 2020 12:18

Megamauz wrote:
Source of the post Hey, I've been trying to play Space Engine, but lately it just crashes on "Intializing Engine", from the log file it seems that it can't find fonts. Could be it the problem because I have three keyboard layouts installed(ENG,RUS,JAP)?

The cause are probably some incorrect entries in the 'main-user.cfg'. Delete this file. (You can find it in the 'config' directory of SpaceEngine.)

SpaceEngine then creates a new 'main-user.cfg' file.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
Megamauz
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Nov 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

26 Nov 2020 16:42

JackDole wrote:
Megamauz wrote:
Source of the post Hey, I've been trying to play Space Engine, but lately it just crashes on "Intializing Engine", from the log file it seems that it can't find fonts. Could be it the problem because I have three keyboard layouts installed(ENG,RUS,JAP)?

The cause are probably some incorrect entries in the 'main-user.cfg'. Delete this file. (You can find it in the 'config' directory of SpaceEngine.)

SpaceEngine then creates a new 'main-user.cfg' file.

That worked! Thank you!
 
User avatar
InterstellarTraveler
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Nov 2020
Location: Königsberg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

28 Nov 2020 06:45

InterstellarTraveler wrote:
One of the basic problems (flaws) of the new 0.991 public beta
Testing a new beta version for SE now. One moment caused the most disappointment. With the search tool now is almost impossible to find a habitable earth-like (with earth-like size and earth-like mass) planet. I could not find any one, although [color=#00a0c6][font=roboto, sans-serif]I checked this in different galaxies, including the Milky Way. 
Only super-earths and even mega-earths with high gravity. I hope that this will be corrected.

[/font][/color]

First of all, the type "sea terra" was meant. And many terra-planets are set too high density in 0.991 public beta.
Were also examples of strange display of planetary surfaces parts (only dark, nothing else).
 
TG779
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Nov 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

29 Nov 2020 15:51

Hi All,

Need your help im totally stuck, purchased Space Engine on Steam yesterday. Worked perfectly fine first time round. Then updated my graphics cards drivers and now when i load SE, i can hear the music, i can see the mouse icon, but the whole screen is black. So it's just the mouse icon and music. Weirdly, if you hover over the menu items on the left (which you can't see) you can hear the clicking for each different menu item. Really weird. Please help!

I have a Nvidia Geforce GTX 970m with game ready drivers version 457.30.

I have already tried deleting the cache folder and the main-usr.cfg file. Didn't work. Then i uninstalled SE and then reinstalled it. Still does not work. So am stuck now. Thank you!

se.log file attached.
Attachments
se.log
(368.51 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
 
User avatar
InterstellarTraveler
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 25 Nov 2020
Location: Königsberg

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.990

30 Nov 2020 06:41

Screen-images to confirm the obvious flaws of the 0.991 public beta SE.
1.[size=65][font=Times New Roman]   [/font][/size]Unreasonably high density of many objects. Despite the real features of the geological structure.
2.[size=65][font=Times New Roman]   [/font][/size]Unrealistic strange looking space objects. Irregular dark "spill" as part of the planet's surface structure. Regardless of the illumination.
Attached the visual proofs.
Attachments
No_core_str_look_pl.jpg
No_core_str_look_pl2.jpg
No_core_str_look_pl3.jpg

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest