Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1465
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

01 May 2020 14:08

You have an Intel HD Graphics 4400 integrated card, driver issues mentioned are related to what owners of NVidia graphic cards are experiencing with SE 0980, so your problem is not related to that.
The se.log you posted doesn't show errors and it appears to be a SpaceEngine session where the program loaded then closed correctly.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1995
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 May 2020 10:14

Cantra wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Cantra wrote:
Well, it worked before and now it suddenly doesn't. 

hmmm that's weird.  I was trying to run both 0980 and 0990 at the same time and my second screen went out (but the power button stayed on....strange.)  But both versions work fine individually even with the latest drivers on my end.  Did you try installing an earlier driver?

How do I install an earlier driver. Why doesn't it work with new drivers?

I'm not sure, NVidia drivers have been a bit funky lately; they update drivers to make them compatible with newer games (not to add features) and sometimes that breaks them for older sims.  It's pretty easy to roll back your driver..... 
https://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/150300/en-us
I just typed in the latest version that works with 0980 (which JD stated is 436.02) into my search engine and that came up as the first result.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1995
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 May 2020 10:16

Mosfet wrote:
You have an Intel HD Graphics 4400 integrated card, driver issues mentioned are related to what owners of NVidia graphic cards are experiencing with SE 0980, so your problem is not related to that.
The se.log you posted doesn't show errors and it appears to be a SpaceEngine session where the program loaded then closed correctly.

Oh nevermind my advice then lol.  It might be wiser to clear all the add-ons or even install a second copy of the program (into a different folder of course) and see if that works, and then slowly re-add all the add-ons one by one to see which one "broke" the previous copy of space engine.....
 
User avatar
Cantra
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 371
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Sedna

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

07 May 2020 13:18

A-L-E-X wrote:
Cantra wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
hmmm that's weird.  I was trying to run both 0980 and 0990 at the same time and my second screen went out (but the power button stayed on....strange.)  But both versions work fine individually even with the latest drivers on my end.  Did you try installing an earlier driver?

How do I install an earlier driver. Why doesn't it work with new drivers?

I'm not sure, NVidia drivers have been a bit funky lately; they update drivers to make them compatible with newer games (not to add features) and sometimes that breaks them for older sims.  It's pretty easy to roll back your driver..... 
https://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/150300/en-us
I just typed in the latest version that works with 0980 (which JD stated is 436.02) into my search engine and that came up as the first result.

It doesn't work. I will try re-installing spaceengine. 
 
vox
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 May 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 May 2020 06:16

Not sure if this is the right place to ask and report, because the situation is quite unusual, but since I cannot open a new thread I post here.

I managed to install and run successfully SpaceEngine on a Mac! Well, not exactly, but it runs under VMware. Here is the exact configuration and the problems.

The Mac is an 27" iMac 2019 equipped with a Core i5-9600K and Radeon Pro Vega 48, running under macOS 10.14 (Mojave). I have a Windows 10 virtual machine running through VMware Fusion 11 in an external SSD. So I installed SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1 on it and to my big surprise it opened without crashing! And it runs very fluidly without lag. The same experience on a Macbook Pro failed and I guess the Intel Iris integrated graphics are responsible for this.

Now, while SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1 runs on that virtual machine, it has some glitches here and there. I noticed that some objects (e.g. the Sun, Pluto, etc.) do not appear from near as they should but they appear as transparent spheres. So only the delimiting circle is visible and we can see the stars behind. Is the virtual environment the reason for this or is it a known issue with this version?

I also tried SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0 but no luck. It gives a flickering screen and crashes hard the virtual machine (freezing in the process the whole macOS interface). Fortunately VMware proposes after some time to reboot Windows 10 and the system returns back to normal without rebooting the iMac.
 
vox
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 May 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

28 May 2020 06:24

vox wrote:
The Mac is an 27" iMac 2019 equipped with a Core i5-9600K and Radeon Pro Vega 48, running under macOS 10.14 (Mojave). I have a Windows 10 virtual machine running through VMware Fusion 11 in an external SSD.

Just to make sure that this point is clear (I don't see an edit button to clarify the original post): VMware Fusion is installed on the iMac, the virtual machine resides in an external SSD.
 
CaioTheBR
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Jun 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

01 Jun 2020 08:04

Hello, I am able to play well in the simulator, it is not crashing, but when I get close to some planet or star, it will disappear until it disappears, leaving only its brightness and its orbit, what do I do?
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1777
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

01 Jun 2020 11:46

CaioTheBR wrote:
Source of the post when I get close to some planet or star, it will disappear until it disappears, leaving only its brightness and its orbit, what do I do?

Post your se.log. It is in the 'system' directory of SpaceEngine.
You can use Pastebin for this.
JackDole's Universe 0.990: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
mtorres2006
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Jun 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

04 Jun 2020 13:27

Hi, i tried to install SpaceEngine 9.8 but it doesn't launch and show no error message, I already reinstalled it at least 4 times, but had no success.

I will post below my se.log

Please help me if you can. I'm using a Dell G5 5590 with i7 and gtx 1660ti with windows 10.

Thank you!

► Show Spoiler
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1465
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

04 Jun 2020 15:21

mtorres2006,see this post by JackDole: viewtopic.php?t=7&start=1515#p33458
SpaceEngine 0.980 doesn't work anymore with Nvidia drivers newer than 436.02 for some hardware combinations.
A user of the SpaceEngine Discord server has been able to solve this issue for his computer and someone else confirmed it worked for him too. The message has some images linked so I'll leave a link here: https://discordapp.com/channels/1489338 ... 2265397310
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
mtorres2006
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Jun 2020

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

04 Jun 2020 21:54

Mosfet wrote:
mtorres2006,see this post by JackDole: viewtopic.php?t=7&start=1515#p33458
SpaceEngine 0.980 doesn't work anymore with Nvidia drivers newer than 436.02 for some hardware combinations.
A user of the SpaceEngine Discord server has been able to solve this issue for his computer and someone else confirmed it worked for him too. The message has some images linked so I'll leave a link here: https://discordapp.com/channels/1489338 ... 2265397310

Thank you for your attention Mosfet. I followed the instructions and now it's working.
 
User avatar
Cantra
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 371
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Sedna

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

25 Jun 2020 10:42

My SpaceEngine is not working. I recently just got a new computer, could it have something to do with that?
Attachments
se.log
(10.52 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1465
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

25 Jun 2020 23:25

Yes. Scroll up to my last post in this page and follow the link for a possible solution.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |
 
User avatar
Cantra
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 371
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Sedna

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

02 Jul 2020 10:43

Mosfet wrote:
Yes. Scroll up to my last post in this page and follow the link for a possible solution.

No matter how hard I tried to install the newest driver that would work it didn't work. It was not compatible I suppose. Any ideas there?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1465
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0

02 Jul 2020 14:31

If you did follow the instructions (you need a discord account to see the post) and the solution didn't work for you, no.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
| My mods: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80 | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 12gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram |

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest