Free planetarium

 
zVerox
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jan 2017

Problem with textures and planet terrains

08 Jan 2017 05:15

Hello, i have since i have this game a problem with the textures. When i fly to a random planet and land on it, the textures look really bad. I already have the graphic settings on the highest. In the Space Engine trailer looks everything so beautiful with the mountains and stuff like that. How do i look my game as good as yours? Hope you can help me. 
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Explorer
Posts: 220
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Problem with textures and planet terrains

08 Jan 2017 15:22

Hi, could you please attach your se.log which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, as requested in the topmost message of the Troubleshooting and bug reports - 0980 thread?
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
sino200
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Jan 2017

Problem with textures and planet terrains

09 Jan 2017 07:14

Mosfet wrote:
Hi, could you please attach your se.log which is located in your SpaceEngine/system/ folder, as requested in the topmost message of the Troubleshooting and bug reports - 0980 thread?

hi i have the same problem
i can't see the landscape clear
the quality is so bad not like the trailer or other youtube videos
here is my se.log and my settings
Attachments
se.log
(67.56 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
main-user.cfg
(36.33 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
 
zVerox
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Jan 2017

Problem with textures and planet terrains

09 Jan 2017 11:49

My problem is fixed, you have to put the planet details (or how ever it is called.. i play on german) on the highest. That worked for me. 
Its on the right site from the graphic settings
 
User avatar
Salvo
Astronaut
Posts: 68
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Veneto, Italy
Contact:

Problem with textures and planet terrains

10 Jan 2017 02:19

Changing parameters in config file and tweaking options in graphics menu can give even better results, but the performance drops dramatically, that's why the quality is quite low as default. However, since videos can be recorded at fixed frame-rate (not depending by game frame-rate), who makes them usually tends to set the best graphics possible.  :)
The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs
 
wangzixun
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Jan 2017

Problem with textures and planet terrains

19 Jan 2017 11:30

Hi everyone,
I also have trouble regarding the procedural planet textures. The textures are really bad without any bumps, mountains. Far worse than what I see in the other players' screenshots. I have browsed all the posts on this issue and try everything that was told in those posts, but it still remains the same. 
Here are what I did:
1. the cpu is i7 4860HQ, graphic card is GTX980m (3G RAM) with the latest graphic driver
2. the LOD is set to 1.0, I tried 2.0 but it is still the same
3. the game is forced to run on GTX 980M NOT the integrated card
4. I land on procedural planets not solar system planets, tried many different procedural planets already
5. Nothing happened even though I changed the settings according to Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0
6. I reinstalled SE several times
I tried everything I could but in vain. Please help me on this. Thank you all in advance !
 
cjbutl
Observer
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Feb 2017

Problem with textures and planet terrains

22 Feb 2017 15:19

wangzixun wrote:
Hi everyone,
I also have trouble regarding the procedural planet textures. The textures are really bad without any bumps, mountains. Far worse than what I see in the other players' screenshots. I have browsed all the posts on this issue and try everything that was told in those posts, but it still remains the same. 
Here are what I did:
1. the cpu is i7 4860HQ, graphic card is GTX980m (3G RAM) with the latest graphic driver
2. the LOD is set to 1.0, I tried 2.0 but it is still the same
3. the game is forced to run on GTX 980M NOT the integrated card
4. I land on procedural planets not solar system planets, tried many different procedural planets already
5. Nothing happened even though I changed the settings according to Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0
6. I reinstalled SE several times
I tried everything I could but in vain. Please help me on this. Thank you all in advance !

Hey wangzixun,
I think we are having a similar issue in Space Engine, my specs are similar to yours and I've attempted the same suggestions as you. In fact, I even rolled my driver three months back, but have yet to find a solution.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest