Page 6 of 9

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 18 Apr 2017 06:51
by Xoran
Endriex wrote:
Source of the post Every time when I try to find some planets with life I usually select one of stars in cosmos using F2 button. But is there an option to activate something like auto-searching planets? I mean... We selected one of galactics in the universe, and when we activate option we have highlighted all planets with life on choosen galactic.

If you want to find planets with life, try using the star browser, it's the icon with many stars in the left menu thing.

But i don't think searching an entire galaxy automatically is possible. You have to consider that galaxies range from having tens of thousands of stars (the really small ones) to tens of trillions (the big ones)
I think something like that would crash SE :)

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 20 Apr 2017 09:44
by scharfelimo
Hey,
is there a way to change units in this game? It would be nice if there was a way to see the mass in kgs.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 20 Apr 2017 10:04
by Xoran
scharfelimo wrote:
Source of the post Hey,
is there a way to change units in this game? It would be nice if there was a way to see the mass in kgs.

You can't toggle to see mass in kilograms, but i remember seeing an asteroid whose mass was in tons, i remember the mass of the asteroid about 23,052 tons. However i don't think Space Engine generates objects so tiny their mass is measured in kilograms.
But you can toggle some units:

  • Large distances (light-year or parsec)
  • Medium distances (AU or light second)
  • Small distances (kilometer, mile or nautical mile)
  • Temperature (Kelvin, Celcius or Fahrenheit)
  • Atmospheric pressure(Atmosphere, bar, pound per square inch, inch of Hg, mm of Hg or Pascal)

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 20 Apr 2017 15:10
by Mosfet
scharfelimo wrote:
Hey,
is there a way to change units in this game? It would be nice if there was a way to see the mass in kgs.

For objects like planets or moons, you can see mass in Kilograms by selecting the Info window ("I" key).

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 22 Apr 2017 05:34
by Pro_Stig
Can I upgrade SE to a more recent version or do I have to uninstall the old one and install the new one? I have 9.8. beta.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 22 Apr 2017 06:00
by JackDole
Pro_Stig wrote:
Source of the post Can I upgrade SE to a more recent version or do I have to uninstall the old one and install the new one? I have 9.8. beta.

Uninstall the old version.
But you can make a copy of the SpaceEngine folder before and use both versions after installing the new version.

However, the currently latest version is SE 0.980 !

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 22 Apr 2017 06:36
by A-L-E-X
Sounds like any add ons need to be cloned to another folder and then added back, or else you'll have to track down whatever add ons you manually added!  Should I clone the configurations folder too or else I'll lose all my settings?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 22 Apr 2017 08:20
by JackDole
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Should I clone the configurations folder too or else I'll lose all my settings?

You should copy the file 'places-user.cfg' if it exists. It contains your saved locations. Which of course may not exist anymore in a new version of SpaceEngine.

Furthermore, you should copy the file 'user-eng-db.cfg'. Or the file that corresponds to your language. If it exists. It contains your own named objects.

You can also copy the 'save-user.cfg' and the 'main-user.cfg'. But since there may have been changes to the 'main-def.cfg', your old 'main-user.cfg' may no longer work properly.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 23 Apr 2017 20:20
by Xiox
How do I change screenshots to be taken as PNG rather than JPG? I looked it up and changed ALL of the config files to take screenshots in PNG format, but they're still being taken as JPG.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 23 Apr 2017 20:27
by Xiox
Nvm, I figured it out. 

(Also, any way to edit a post?)

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 Apr 2017 04:43
by JackDole
Xiox wrote:
Source of the post (Also, any way to edit a post?)

You must first make 10 posts before you can edit your post and create your own threads.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 06 May 2017 18:03
by Canleskis
Image

Found this planet recently, almost 13 Earth masses and a diameter of more than 1.7 times the diameter of Earth which means (according to SE) it has a density of 13.478 g/cm3, a heck of a lot. Is this even possible? What this planet should be composed of then if it's the case?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 06 May 2017 19:21
by HarbingerDawn
Canleskis wrote:
Found this planet recently, almost 13 Earth masses and a diameter of more than 1.7 times the diameter of Earth which means (according to SE) it has a density of 13.478 g/cm3, a heck of a lot. Is this even possible? What this planet should be composed of then if it's the case?

It could have a similar composition to Earth, with the difference in density being the result of gravitational compression. Density does not directly correlate with composition, you must also take planet mass into account.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 07 May 2017 04:23
by Canleskis
HarbingerDawn wrote:
It could have a similar composition to Earth, with the difference in density being the result of gravitational compression. Density does not directly correlate with composition, you must also take planet mass into account.

I see now, thanks a lot for the answer!

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 May 2017 13:39
by albrtx24
How do I move camera without changing the direction of where I'm travelling to?

Or in other words, like an autopilot. Set a destination and allow me to look around, like if you would be travelling in a space ship and you look by a window.


Thanks.