Page 41 of 42

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 01 Aug 2020 19:32
by Mr. Abner
For ship orbital parameters, I've seen yellow text for periapsis (get out the asbestos underwear, there may be some friction) and red text (you'll be picking grass and dirt out of your teeth), but I've never seen purple text before. What does that mean?

orbit.jpg

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 10 Aug 2020 18:38
by Mr. Abner
Mr. Abner wrote:
For ship orbital parameters, I've seen yellow text for periapsis (get out the asbestos underwear, there may be some friction) and red text (you'll be picking grass and dirt out of your teeth), but I've never seen purple text before. What does that mean?

orbit.jpg

So... nobody knows. It's a mystery!

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 18 Sep 2020 06:41
by casualexp
Hello,

I'm looking for a comet, the 109P Swift-Tuttle, but I can't find it in the F3 menu. 

Is it because the object is not in the game's database?

Thanks!

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 Oct 2020 00:08
by illusions
I have a problem with audio.

My laptop connect with monitor (BenQ 2480W) and using monitor audio. 

Everytime I running SE the game music start to  play and stopped quickly. The inner music player can not play any music. Click pause or drag progressber doesn't change anything.

My desktop running SE well, so I wonder if the problem comes from the monitor?

Thanks!

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 Oct 2020 14:58
by Mosfet
casualexp, yeah, comet 109P is not in the default database, if nobody did it yet it could be something to work on.

illusions, could you post your se.log file, which is located in your <SteamFolder>\steamapps\common\SpaceEngine\system folder?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 Oct 2020 17:27
by illusions
Mosfet wrote:
casualexp, yeah, comet 109P is not in the default database, if nobody did it yet it could be something to work on.

illusions, could you post your se.log file, which is located in your <SteamFolder>\steamapps\common\SpaceEngine\system folder?

okey, I have uploaded the file. 

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 24 Oct 2020 23:27
by JackDole
casualexp wrote:
Source of the post I'm looking for a comet, the 109P Swift-Tuttle, but I can't find it in the F3 menu.

I made a script for '109P/Swift–Tuttle'. It is here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546&p=34813#p34813

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 28 Oct 2020 08:51
by ncbe
Hi.
I have 2 questions.
1. I'm currently using the latest version of SE 0.99 and just wondering how to search and go to RS or RSC numbered object.
It was possible on older version to move to procedural objects by searching the RS code on the Object Finder menu and then clicking "Go To" button even after the error message shown.
But this method seems not work on the newer version.
2. Is it impossible to use both the older and newer versions on the same hardware?
Whenever I execute the older version it just shuts down.
Thanks in advance.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 28 Oct 2020 15:14
by Mosfet
RS objects can be reached in the same way in both version, plus copy & paste with Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V is possible.
Version 0980 and 0990 have different seeds generating different procedural universes, so procedural objects existing in 0980 may not exist in 0990 or be completely different.
0980 version doesn't start due to incompatibility to recent Nvidia driver updates. A workaround was found by a discord user, if you follow this guide: viewtopic.php?t=7&start=1560#p34434

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 28 Oct 2020 18:34
by ncbe
Mosfet wrote:
RS objects can be reached in the same way in both version, plus copy & paste with Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V is possible.
Version 0980 and 0990 have different seeds generating different procedural universes, so procedural objects existing in 0980 may not exist in 0990 or be completely different.
0980 version doesn't start due to incompatibility to recent Nvidia driver updates. A workaround was found by a discord user, if you follow this guide: viewtopic.php?t=7&start=1560#p34434

Thank you for clearing me up.
It's shame that I may not be able to watch the great sceneries and objects, which I've found so far, on the newest universe any longer.
And the method you informed me to use SE 0.98 works perfect.
Thank you so much again.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 07 Nov 2020 04:22
by casualexp
JackDole wrote:
Source of the post I made a script for '109P/Swift–Tuttle'. It is here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=546&p=34813#p34813

Wow thank you! Sure I will give it a try. 
I was looking for this object because of his relation with the perseid meteor shower event. Also it is believed it could impact earth in the near future.
On a side note, I didn't know it was possible to script objects with so few lines of code. Nice!
Anyway, thanks for the effort! I'll also check your other stuff, it seems great!

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 08 Nov 2020 05:31
by A-L-E-X
I wonder if we can use comets to simulate meteor showers in the program?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 02 Dec 2020 20:42
by Mr. Abner
Related to my query above: When in an hyperbolic orbit — a flyby — Tperi still shows time to closest approach, but Rperi is always in red and always negative. What is it actually showing me?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 09 Dec 2020 08:47
by ireallylovespace222
Hello, I'm here to search for advice on how to install addons on versions older than 0.9.7.2 because my graphics card is simply too weak to correctly render a planet and this happens, yes I checked the troubleshooting thread and nothing worked, I updated my Graphics Card and it still does this thing, by the way, my SE log is all empty, The console is empty and there's nothing to explain why is this happening. So if there's no explanation for this glitch, I would like a way to insert official addons to versions of SE < 0.9.7.1 

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 10 Dec 2020 15:39
by Julian
In the context.cfg file for the music player, is it necessary to have separate playlists for, e.g., Class "Terra/Arid/Life" and Class "Carbonia/Arid/Life"? Would only having one Class "Planet/Arid/Life" playlist work the same way?