Page 33 of 35

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 07 Jun 2019 20:42
by Madrixe
Hello, and thank you for the upcoming release of Space Engine!! I will buy it for sure!! I have a little question about the version to be sold June 11. The camera path recording is implemented in this version?? 

Ty for your response! 

Joe

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 08 Jun 2019 00:57
by Mosfet
Madrixe wrote:
Source of the post The camera path recording is implemented in this version??

Camera path recording is a feature available in SpaceEngine PRO version.
https://store.steampowered.com/app/1026 ... ngine_PRO/

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 Jun 2019 02:11
by IVIemories
Is there a VRAM cap for this game and can I disable it?

Even though I have 11GB of VRAM space engine never seems to use more than 8GB

I'm on the steam version btw

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 Jun 2019 08:01
by jmgraves8
Does this program have a method for distorting the image for use in a fulldome planetarium, akin to the spheric mirror distortion used by Stellarium?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 Jun 2019 08:24
by ipagewebsite
What is included in commercial use? In standard Spaceengine can I make videos for my channel on youtube?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 Jun 2019 09:42
by Mosfet
jmgraves8, SpaceEngine standard version does have fish-eye projection with a rendering resolution of 1024, with various parameters (See the image below). Unlimited resolutions (depending on hardware limitations) are available with the commercial license of the PRO version, distributed as DLC from the Steam page.

ipagewebsite, as long as you don't monetize your videos, you can use the standard version, otherwise you'll need the PRO version. Features included are listed in the link above.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 Jun 2019 09:46
by Mosfet
IVIemories, look at your SpaceEngine\config\main-user.cfg, try and tweak

VideoMemorySize         2048     // maximum size of video memory (Mb) to be used by SE

by changing that parameter. Make a backup of that file first :)

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 Jun 2019 15:50
by A-L-E-X
Mosfet wrote:
jmgraves8, SpaceEngine standard version does have fish-eye projection with a rendering resolution of 1024, with various parameters (See the image below). Unlimited resolutions (depending on hardware limitations) are available with the commercial license of the PRO version, distributed as DLC from the Steam page.

ipagewebsite, as long as you don't monetize your videos, you can use the standard version, otherwise you'll need the PRO version. Features included are listed in the link above.

Whats a rendering resolution of 1024?  The highest resolution I use is 1080P.  I have a 6 GB video card and 16 GB RAM.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 11 Jun 2019 19:36
by IVIemories
[quote="Mosfet"][ref]IVIemories[/ref], look at your [b]SpaceEngine\config\main-user.cfg[/b], try and tweak

[font=Courier New]VideoMemorySize         2048     // maximum size of video memory (Mb) to be used by SE[/font]

by changing that parameter. Make a backup of that file first :)[/quote]

Yep that was the issue.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 12 Jun 2019 19:33
by Madrixe
[quote="Mosfet"][quote="Madrixe"][post]29436[/post] The camera path recording is implemented in this version?? [/quote]
Camera path recording is a feature available in SpaceEngine PRO version.
https://store.steampowered.com/app/1026 ... ngine_PRO/[/quote]

Wow ty for the info! i ave buy the pro version! :)

But now i ave a little problem, when i try to chose a codec in the list i dont ave mp4 format? how can i install this codec ? pls

ty

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 13 Jun 2019 06:13
by khaos526
2 Questions.  First is do you need to be upgraded by someone from "observer" to a different level so you can post a new thread in Questions or General Forums (or any other forum)?  Or do you need to have like say 10 posts first as an observer before you can create a new thread?

  2nd is about Space Engine and Steam [i](since I can't create a new thread for it)[/i].  SE 9.8.0e that I've had for quite a long time works great.  I discovered that SE is now on Steam and decided to buy it so I could get the newest version and have it updated a automatically and show my support as well.  My issue I found is that I cannot save any names I change in the Wiki at all when I exit SE.  When I exit, it defaults the names in the Wiki for planets, starts, Nebula's etc to the default name.

  The old 9.8.0e version will save them as soon as I put them in the wiki regardless how I exit the game.  Is this a bug or is there some setting I need to change?  Noticed also that the new Config folder for Steam's version is missing a lot of the standard CFG files that the older 9.8.0 version has, including the cfg that saved all my renamed wiki's...

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 13 Jun 2019 12:31
by vagavbond77
Hi,
is possible to write cache to another location? in another disk for example.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 14 Jun 2019 00:52
by Mosfet
Madrixe, SpaceEngine, be it standard or PRO version, doesn't provide codecs for video recording, but it uses whatever codec is installed in your Windows operating system. So if you want to record videos in MPEG 4 format, you need to install a codec for that separately.
I use a linear video editor from time to time and I took SE videos for testing purposes, I'm not an expert, however to encode mp4 files I have K-Lite Mega Codec pack.

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 14 Jun 2019 09:47
by Sascha81
What does ColorVary mean?

General questions about SpaceEngine

Posted: 15 Jun 2019 18:15
by LucasMV
I can't set LandLOD to higher than 1, when I try to do it using the console it tells me the value is restricted between -1 and 1. Anyone knows how can I solve this? Maybe tweaking something in the cfg files, but I'm not sure what.