Free planetarium

  • 1
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 14
 
User avatar
Hornblower
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 477
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: International Space Station
Contact:

General questions about SpaceEngine

11 May 2017 13:50

Well if you don't want to build a ship and follow it to a destination, you can hold the middle mouse button to look around without changing the direction you're traveling in.
"Space is big. Really big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist, but that's just peanuts to space." - Douglas Adams
 
Tushar saini
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 May 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

12 May 2017 08:31

I use 1.70 GHz processor, but software is of 2 GHz. What can i do ?  Can I use 1.70 GHz processor...Plzz Tell Anyone
 
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 685
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General questions about SpaceEngine

12 May 2017 09:50

Tushar saini wrote:
I use 1.70 GHz processor, but software is of 2 GHz. What can i do ?  Can I use 1.70 GHz processor...Plzz Tell Anyone
 

I assume that you do meet other hardware specifications, then? In that case it could work, I guess, maybe stuttering a bit... But the only way to be sure is installing the thing.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
scharfelimo
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Apr 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

14 May 2017 07:11

Hello again with yet another question!
Is there a way to see the composition/minerals of a of a planet?

SpaceEngine is a great (game :] ) ! I'm most of the time using the data from the randomly generated planets to play around with some physics equations.
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 217
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

General questions about SpaceEngine

14 May 2017 07:51

scharfelimo wrote:
Source of the post Hello again with yet another question!
Is there a way to see the composition/minerals of a of a planet?

Not yet. Currently, only atmospheres have the composition generated.
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 452
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

General questions about SpaceEngine

14 May 2017 14:27

JackDole wrote:
Source of the post You can also copy the 'save-user.cfg' and the 'main-user.cfg'. But since there may have been changes to the 'main-def.cfg', your old 'main-user.cfg' may no longer work properly.

SE automatically patches the main-user.cfg with the new parameters added in the new version. You must copy main-def.cfg from the new version to enable this (this file contains all new parameters).
 
User avatar
Zero_Industria
Observer
Observer
Posts: 11
Joined: 28 Dec 2016
Location: Industria, Ind System, Andromeda

General questions about SpaceEngine

14 May 2017 20:25

I would love to know the technical, and construction specifications of the SS Science.
All hail the Industrian Empire! May her glory rain down upon all like beams of light!
 
Heroofdeath
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 May 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

15 May 2017 14:24

Is there a way to use the autopilot (g key) to take you to a location you have saved in your locations menu?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 685
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General questions about SpaceEngine

15 May 2017 16:31

If you're referring to Ship navigation, right now you need to open the locations menu, click on the select button, hit Target button 2 times (t key), then you hit g key.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
Elevatormusic
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 30 May 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

30 May 2017 22:57

I have one question.
Will Spaceengine have any issues with VRGalaxies? It came up in one of my social media feeds and as soon as I looked at it reminded me of Spaceengine
Thank you.
 
ArtiomSigma
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Jun 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

17 Jun 2017 18:20

Elevatormusic wrote:
I have one question.
Will Spaceengine have any issues with VRGalaxies? It came up in one of my social media feeds and as soon as I looked at it reminded me of Spaceengine
Thank you.

Well I took a quick look at VRGalaxies and assuming it is the android vr app then I would say there is no need to worry they are very different to each other.
 
Pacmanarea51
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Jun 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

20 Jun 2017 16:12

Hello,

I was looking for older versions of Space Engine and got the basic versions (0.9.7, 0.9.6 and 0.9.5) downloaded. However, the patches to some of the older versions are no longer available unless you go to the old site. 

Well, I managed to find my way to the old site, even though the link that is supposed to get me there from the new site didn't work. I went to try and download the 0.9.6.2 patch for 0.9.6. All 3 dowload links are broken. 2 of them are no longer available, and the bottom one (narod.ru) spams me with a registration message. I would not wish to register to an unknown site to download 1 file.

Maybe add these older versions to some other cloud service for easier download?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 685
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General questions about SpaceEngine

20 Jun 2017 16:27

Pacmanarea51, try the links in thread: History of SpaceEngine
...Unless you actually tried there... you're right, probably 0962 patch is no longer available from there.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Mouthwash
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 65
Joined: 22 May 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

23 Jun 2017 03:26

Are there any plans to improve known planets? The surfaces of mapped-out worlds like Titan and Earth are absolutely abysmal compared to the procedural terrain. I landed on the shores of Ligeia Mare and my first thought was that the terrain failed to mesh, but no, that is just how it is.

Also, will there ever be non-sea-level bodies of water? That Dead Sea (as well as the nonexistent sea in Egypt) are hard to look at.
Last edited by Mouthwash on 23 Jun 2017 05:24, edited 4 times in total.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 318
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

General questions about SpaceEngine

23 Jun 2017 05:13

Mouthwash wrote:
Source of the post The surfaces of mapped-out worlds like Titan and Earth are absolutely abysmal compared to the procedural terrain.

Procedural augmentation is planned.

Mouthwash wrote:
Source of the post Also, will there ever be non-sea-level bodies of water?

Yes, eventually.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
  • 1
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 14

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest