Page 1 of 2

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 02:03
by SpaceEngineer
SpaceEngine's GPU memory requirements are highly dependent on the display resolution. SE needs some areas in the memory called "render targets" to which it renders the image. Their size depends on number of pixels on you screen. Some numbers (on default SE settings):

1280*720 - 525 MB
1920*1080 - 825 MB
2560*1440 - 1248 MB
3840*2160 - 1701 MB

Enabling MSAA anti-aliasing raises up memory requirements. Terrain engine requires 2 GB max, and other systems about 1 GB. So GPU with 4 GB of video memory will be perfect for 1920*1080 screen, but at 4k screen (3840*2160) terrain engine will reduce its cache size, which will limit maximum LOD you can use. For geed experience on 4k screen you need at least 6 GB GPU.

The poll is limited by 10 points, so I can't include all possible resolutions to it (and this is not important anyway, I just need the rough statistics). So please choose the option which is most close to your screen resolution.

As SE does not support native multi-screen, the only way is to run it on multi-monitor setup is by stretching its window across all screens. This is reasonable only on a setup of multiple identical displays, so mixed resolution setups are not included to the poll. Most likely you will run SE on you primary screen (as I do), so choose it.

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 03:04
by vlad01
I voted 900p as that's what I have given my monitor is very old, but I do plan to go 1440p in the near future.  Good to know the foot print of each resolution.

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 05:06
by PlutonianEmpire
1366*768 for me by default (native laptop resolution), but I do give Space Engine larger window sizes, and while the off screen stuff is permanently offscreen, both reshade and SE's native screenshotting will still render the offscreen bits just fine :)

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 05:58
by midtskogen
I'm writing this on a 13440x2168 display.

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 07:50
by N0B0DY
5760x1080 here so I guess it is triple 1080p. SE 0980 performs very well on NVIDIA 2D surround at full screen - no need to have it in window mode :). I hope 0990 will also be the same but can't check it as I don't have access to the beta :(..

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 20:39
by A'kast
I have quite a peculiar setup. Three old square monitors I have assembled together without their bezels, connected to my laptop with NV Surround, it gives me a nice 4000x1024 :lol:
Image

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 20:56
by HarbingerDawn
A'kast wrote:

4000 isn't divisible by 3 though...

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 03 Apr 2019 21:10
by vlad01
should be 3840 (3 x 1280)

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 04 Apr 2019 00:18
by Stellarator
Peering through my 1680*1050 pixels I see that 1080p is in the majority 8-).

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 04 Apr 2019 11:03
by A'kast
HarbingerDawn wrote:
A'kast wrote:

4000 isn't divisible by 3 though...

True, but even taking the bezels out you will see there is a space between the screens, which is why I used NV Surround, because it let's you "simulate" that space so that the image doesn't get distorted. It's actually 1280*3=3840 plus 80 "hidden" pixels between each monitor, so 3840+80*2=4000 :P

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 04 Apr 2019 15:47
by HarbingerDawn
Ok, that makes a lot more sense.

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 05 Apr 2019 00:51
by Salvo
I never opted for multi-monitor systems because I hate having "lines" between them, but a lot of people (at work too) uses them.
I would rather buy something like this  :)

Now I have a "old" 1600x900 HP monitor (it was of my old PC I took 10 years ago), but still works quite well! It has no dots/lines, it is perfectly clear.

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 05 Apr 2019 01:42
by vlad01
I am looking at this for my next monitor.   Its the only flat VA 30+" freesync 144 monitor I could find in Australia. I really wanted the Pixio PX329 but they are only available in the US.  This has almost the same specs and I can get it.

Its also a matte anti glare finish, I can't stand gloss monitors.   So this seems to tick every box. Just waiting on HUB to do a review as they look at colour and response performance as well as providing OSD calibration if needed. Being VA the colours and contrast should be good though.    Can't wait for 1440p !

https://www.lg.com/us/monitors/lg-32GK6 ... ng-monitor

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 05 Apr 2019 10:29
by NathanKerbonaut
1680x1050, here.

What is your display resolution?

Posted: 05 Apr 2019 15:19
by HarbingerDawn
vlad01 wrote:
I am looking at this for my next monitor.   Its the only flat VA 30+" freesync 144 monitor I could find in Australia. I really wanted the Pixio PX329 but they are only available in the US.  This has almost the same specs and I can get it.

Its also a matte anti glare finish, I can't stand gloss monitors.   So this seems to tick every box. Just waiting on HUB to do a review as they look at colour and response performance as well as providing OSD calibration if needed. Being VA the colours and contrast should be good though.    Can't wait for 1440p !

https://www.lg.com/us/monitors/lg-32GK6 ... ng-monitor

32" for a 1440p monitor is huge, I wouldn't recommend it unless you sit relatively far from your screen or unless you have poor eyesight. My 1440p screen is 27" and that's about as large as I would want to go, personally.