Free planetarium

 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

19 Feb 2017 08:34

Mosfet wrote:
Source of the post Maybe there's the underlying assumption that users approaching the program read website FAQ first, which apparently it's not always true.  

My idea was like this:

idea1-2.png
Attachments
idea1-1.png
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 715
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

19 Feb 2017 08:59

That would be good, but if you take a look at the old forum, under the same conditions, with "PLEASE READ HERE BEFORE" threads and all, not much changed. I'm afraid the fact is usually people don't read.
Now I sound like my dead grandpa LOL
Anyway I would be pleased if some additional info could disprove my point ;)
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

20 Feb 2017 00:58

I don't think it would be hard to implement, would it? Of course, you do not have to implement it, it is just my idea :) Of course, it is probably not very effective using plain white text, maybe some colored or flashing text could be used. like this:

[READ THIS BEFORE POSTING]

Also i think it would be nice if the text on the same page as you use to make topics, or somewhere else easy to see. :)
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
spaceguy
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 181
Joined: 30 Dec 2016

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

21 Feb 2017 17:13

Has SpaceEngineer considered using the community to help create builds of SE for development?
Is it possible or does legal issues arise from that? Or does that already exist? I'm not sure so please don't attack me ;-;
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

22 Feb 2017 08:29

spaceguy wrote:
Source of the post Has SpaceEngineer considered using the community to help create builds of SE for development?
Is it possible or does legal issues arise from that? Or does that already exist? I'm not sure so please don't attack me ;-;

Does the community addon threads in the Mods and Addons subforum count as "builds of SE for development"?
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 245
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

24 Feb 2017 20:42

THIS should be get rid of:

Is it possible to get rid of the pw change requirement?
Attachments
Screenshot_20170224-221941.png
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

25 Feb 2017 04:35

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post THIS should be get rid of:
Is it possible to get rid of the pw change requirement?

Not for me at least :(
Try changing to a new password, then change back to your old one, no guarantee of working though.
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
ettore_bilbo
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 Nov 2016
Location: Italy

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

25 Feb 2017 05:26

Xoran wrote:
Source of the post Try changing to a new password, then change back to your old one, no guarantee of working though

yes, it works...
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 240
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

25 Feb 2017 09:16

I think we should add in some other sections for other languages, like how we did on the old site. So we would have more users on here.
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 69
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

25 Feb 2017 15:48

Why am I being asked often to change my password? It happened twice in a couple of days.
My addons are to be found at JCandeias' Ships

Current count: 2
 
User avatar
Starlight Glimmer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 240
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Somewhere

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

25 Feb 2017 15:50

JCandeias wrote:
Why am I being asked often to change my password? It happened twice in a couple of days.

I have had the same issue. Gone through it at least 3 times today. Can anybody solve this?

Image
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 928
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

25 Feb 2017 17:13

Looking into it.  Will probably require administrator action.  Please stand by.

Added:  For now, it looks like Xoran's suggestion to just alternate between two passwords works.
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

26 Feb 2017 03:26

Watsisname wrote:
Source of the post For now, it looks like Xoran's suggestion to just alternate between two passwords works.

I meant change to new password, and immediately change to old one, but i am very happy about being able to help other people. :)
Please tell us if anyone figured out why this happened :)
Also, this thread about forced password change thing is locked, should it be moved to Archive?
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
User avatar
Watsisname
Science Officer
Science Officer
Posts: 928
Joined: 06 Sep 2016
Location: Bellingham, WA

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

26 Feb 2017 04:00

Okay folks, the good word is that there was a data leak on all websites that use cloudfare, so for the moment we are forcing these password resets to help with account security.  I know it's annoying, but it's the best safeguard we can make, and trust me that it's a lot less annoying than having an account be taken over would be.  So please just put up with it for now.  Thanks!
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 378
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Suggestions & Feedback about the Website and Forum

26 Feb 2017 04:03

Watsisname wrote:
Source of the post Okay folks, the good word is that there was a data leak on all websites that use cloudfare, so for the moment we are forcing these password resets to help with account security.  I know it's annoying, but it's the best safeguard we can make, and trust me that it's a lot less annoying than having an account be taken over would be.  So please just put up with it for now.  Thanks!

Okay then :)
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest