Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
Mouthwash
Explorer
Explorer
Topic Author
Posts: 163
Joined: 22 May 2017

Ringworlds?

13 Apr 2018 08:37

Is it theoretically possible for SE to have ringworlds or Dyson Spheres? Probably would be a mother to load them, but being able to explore a real-size ringworld even on low quality/LOD would be amazing.

Here's what I'm talking about:



I personally wouldn't care about any sort of design realism. Just give me a crust and some landscape/atmosphere on top, and I'm happy. :lol:
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 513
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Ringworlds?

13 Apr 2018 11:20

I've seen Mods of Hollow Worlds, by the mad modding genius Jack Dole on earlier versions of SE. Simply a Selena with a hole on one side and a tiny sun visible on the inside. Im sure you weren't able to enter the hole, but the interior was a full sized plant landscape only convex. I imagine it wouldn't be hard to enlarge the hole, add another on the other side and enlarge it too so you end up with a Terra looking ring in scale with a normal sized star in the center. Again you couldn't land. Maybe his magic is using transparent textures, maybe it is the clipping created by adding an invisible sphere partially inside a visible one. Who knows.
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 814
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Ringworlds?

13 Apr 2018 12:05

Gnargenox wrote:
Source of the post mad modding genius Jack Dole

8-)

Mouthwash wrote:
Source of the post Is it theoretically possible for SE to have ringworlds or Dyson Spheres

A Dyson sphere.
A hollow world.
A kind of ringworld.
The attempt of another ringworld in the old forum (Niven's Ringworld, but it has a different name).

You can not land in the ringworlds and in the hollow world.


(My username is JackDole, not Jack Dole.)
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1030
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

Ringworlds?

13 Apr 2018 12:59

Technically these sorts of things are in the to-do list, but they are for a much later time 
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Posts: 631
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Ringworlds?

14 Apr 2018 02:34

Technically it is not complex - just change the equations which morphs the cube (basic geometry of the terrain engine) into inverse sphere, or into a ring (throw out north and south faces of the cube, and "circularize" the rest). There are two problems though. First, we have to add a second non-inverse terrain which will cover the outside, add some static geometry to represent borders/engines/whatever. And the most important problem: atmosphere. Brunetone's code is designed for a spherical planet, I don't know if it is possible to adapt it to the ring. Yes I saw his Rama demo, but it seems filled with the air uniformly, while ringworld have a vacuum in the center.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest