Free planetarium

 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 521
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

12 Apr 2017 07:53

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post DR does fps really matter with space simulators?

To me it does, in SE the physics can actually slow down if your fps decreases, so the fewer times I can have that happen the better.  I guess it is all up to personal preference.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

12 Apr 2017 19:17

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post DR does fps really matter with space simulators?

To me it does, in SE the physics can actually slow down if your fps decreases, so the fewer times I can have that happen the better.  I guess it is all up to personal preference.

Well, based on your recommendations I actually purchased two graphics cards and more memory.  I hope it helps, right now I use the program at a lowered resolution (1024x768).  I also keep AA and AF turned off (to keep GPU temps under control.)  Do you find that AA and AF add a significant amount of detail to the textures?
 
A-L-E-X
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

12 Apr 2017 19:23

Watsisname wrote:
A-L-E-X, instead of making several posts in a row, it's better to make one.  You can edit after the fact, and separate responses to different people by using quotes or the hr tag like Doc showed in another thread.

But what if the mathematics are worked out?


For mathematics to be able to be worked out, it must have a rigorous theoretical framework conducive to making quantitative, potentially falsifiable predictions.  If it achieves that, then it becomes a model.  If those predictions are falsified against observations, then it is a rejected model.  If they are consistent with observations, then it is a working model.  If they are consistent with observations at the same time that the null hypothesis and other models are rejected, then it is a successful theory.

Let's take Poplawski's idea as an example.  Sir Roger Penrose thinks that we could find evidence in the Cosmic Microwave Background.  I know we haven't found statistically significant results yet, but there do seem to be some irregularities in the data.


What does "irregularities" mean?  To support Poplawski's idea, they must specifically fit his model.  Data that are inconsistent with one model do not imply that another model is more likely to be correct.  Could be related to something else entirely -- even simple uncertainty if it isn't statistically significant.

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Source of the post Like an endless, repeating cycle of the exact same events, lives, planets, and Schixculub extinctions, with no opportunity to be different.

Heh, the nihilistic perspective of this is fun to think about.  Would it be more depressing to live in a universe where everything you do doesn't matter because it is doomed to repeat endlessly exactly the same, or to live in a universe where everything you do doesn't matter because it is doomed to heat death? :P

Well, there have to be quantified confirmable predictions that the theory makes that others do not make.  The CMBR data Penrose referred to (the "irregularities") are about patterns he said he discovered in the data that are above and beyond that which could be expected to be there as random fluctuations in the data- that it is of statistical significance- it's been disputed by others who analyzed the data from the Planck satellite.  Penrose's contention is that the patterns found in the CMBR point to our universe having in the distant past bumped into other universes.  Others contend that those patterns are just random fluctuations not at a level that rises to statistical significance.
I think of superdeterminism that way.  There is no free will, everything that was fated to happen, actually occurs.  Either in our timeline or a different one.  Actually, I never believed in free will anyway.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 521
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

12 Apr 2017 19:26

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post  Do you find that AA and AF add a significant amount of detail to the textures?

Only if you know what to look for when it comes to AF, as for AA that is a big one as it gets rid of those annoying jaggies on edges.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

12 Apr 2017 19:45

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post  Do you find that AA and AF add a significant amount of detail to the textures?

Only if you know what to look for when it comes to AF, as for AA that is a big one as it gets rid of those annoying jaggies on edges.

I've currently purchased two cards to run in SLI, one has 2 GB of GDDR5 the other has 4 GB of GDDR5 (they are different versions of the GT 730).  I am limited by my board not being compatible with anything newer than PCI-e 2.0 unfortunately.   I also just purchased 4 GB of DDR2 RAM, to upgrade from my 2 GB, which is also the limit of my mobo, but with a bios hack I can use up to 4 GB.  I need to make a new build.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 521
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

12 Apr 2017 19:47

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post (they are different versions of the GT 730)

You will sadly be limited to only 2GBs if you run SLI.  You may need to run the 4GB card as the primary card and then use SLI only in apps that support it.  I don't know what kind of perf gain or loss you will experience though.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
A-L-E-X
Explorer
Posts: 247
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

12 Apr 2017 19:56

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post (they are different versions of the GT 730)

You will sadly be limited to only 2GBs if you run SLI.  You may need to run the 4GB card as the primary card and then use SLI only in apps that support it.  I don't know what kind of perf gain or loss you will experience though.

Thanks, I might need to send back the 2 GB card then and replace it with another 4 GB GT 730.  I only got the 2 GB DDR5 card because it's made by a reputable manufacturer- EVGA- the only one who makes the 4 GB DDR5 card is Zotac- and I'm unsure of how good they are.  Would SLI be a great benefit in SE, Doc?
I have multiple monitors so I could possibly forego SLI and just run everything in "surround mode" with one screen hooked up to the 4 GB card and the other one hooked up to the 2 GB card, no? And then run SE on the screen hooked up to the 4GB card?

I don't believe you can run SLI with multiple monitors anyway, you have to run them in "surround" mode if you want to use both monitors separately.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 521
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 02:44

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Would SLI be a great benefit in SE, Doc?

For SE I don't know.  I think it works but I don't personally run SLI so SpaceEngineer would have to answer that.
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post possibly forego SLI and just run everything in "surround mode" with one screen hooked up to the 4 GB card and the other one hooked up to the 2 GB card, no? And then run SE on the screen hooked up to the 4GB card?

That is also something I don't know.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
jasperhb
Space Tourist
Posts: 31
Joined: 03 Feb 2017
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 05:49

Maybe puff up the Magellanic Clouds? They look a little flat in the current version, and perhaps can be incorporated in the volumetric cloud release.
 
User avatar
longname
Space Tourist
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Location: ∞/The Multiverse/The Universe/Local Cluster/The Milky Way/Orion Arm/Sol System/Earth-Moon/Earth/UK

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 06:18

Accretion disks seem to go faster than light, especially around RSC 0-1-7-32-5327-0-0-0 S* (My SE is modded, may be different), which has an accretion disk 2.7 times FTL.
Previously as "connorneal2005"
"I am a futurist. I don't want to believe humans won't become futuristic." - Me
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 521
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 06:40

longname wrote:
Source of the post (My SE is modded, may be different)

The most important question is what mods?
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
longname
Space Tourist
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Location: ∞/The Multiverse/The Universe/Local Cluster/The Milky Way/Orion Arm/Sol System/Earth-Moon/Earth/UK

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 06:51

Interstellar, Trappist 1 (Official, By SpaceEngineer) Jupiter animated clouds by someone I forgot (Dug around for a bit, didn't find it) An inaccurate depiction of Planet 9 by me and Black Whirl.
Previously as "connorneal2005"
"I am a futurist. I don't want to believe humans won't become futuristic." - Me
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 521
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 07:18

Might be my modified accretion disk in that case, I shrunk down the radius but I don't think I adjusted the rotation rate for the current released mod so you have FTL disks.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
longname
Space Tourist
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Location: ∞/The Multiverse/The Universe/Local Cluster/The Milky Way/Orion Arm/Sol System/Earth-Moon/Earth/UK

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 07:26

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Might be my modified accretion disk in that case, I shrunk down the radius but I don't think I adjusted the rotation rate for the current released mod so you have FTL disks.

I have the interstellar system mod, not the accretion disk mod.
Previously as "connorneal2005"
"I am a futurist. I don't want to believe humans won't become futuristic." - Me
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
Pioneer
Posts: 521
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

13 Apr 2017 07:28

The Interstellar mod has a shader included in it which affects accretion disks. 
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE 11GB
Quando omni flunkus, moritati

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest