Free planetarium

 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
Explorer
Posts: 160
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

17 Jun 2017 06:07

Cesare, if you don't stop making demands and double-posting (or in this case quadruple posting...) you will have to take some time out from the forum.

Cesare wrote:
Source of the post Space Engine must have the ultra texture pack included in the .exe download of the Engine.

This would make the download almost 50 GB, that's absurd for a feature that many people will not even make use of.

Regarding your other requests, do you know how difficult it would be to implement those things, and how long it would take? Given SE's current development resources, it would take at least 10 years. There are more important things to focus on right now.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 970 4096 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
User avatar
spaceguy
Space Pilot
Posts: 119
Joined: 30 Dec 2016

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

17 Jun 2017 06:18

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Cesare, if you don't stop making demands and double-posting (or in this case quadruple posting...) you will have to take some time out from the forum.

Cesare wrote:
Source of the post Space Engine must have the ultra texture pack included in the .exe download of the Engine.

This would make the download almost 50 GB, that's absurd for a feature that many people will not even make use of.

Regarding your other requests, do you know how difficult it would be to implement those things, and how long it would take? Given SE's current development resources, it would take at least 10 years. There are more important things to focus on right now.

I really feel like this guy is trolling.
The profile pic and lack of any politeness and his entitlement gives it away. Doesn't even come off as sincere because he puts so much emphasis on SpaceEngineer needing to follow with his requests. No one can be that unaware of themselves.
 
User avatar
Betelgeuze
Astronaut
Posts: 49
Joined: 24 Apr 2017
Location: Belgium

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

17 Jun 2017 06:30

Cesare wrote:
Please add all those features to Space Engine.

What SpaceEngineer said
SpaceEngineer wrote:
Anyway, I should note: as long as SE is a scientifically accurate Universe simulator, then one day it will implement ALL space objects and phenomenon that are known to modern astronomy (if this would be possible to implement on the personal computers). So you may not bother yourself with questions like "will SE one day have meteor rain implemented". I guarantee that it WILL.
 
User avatar
FastFourierTransform
Astronaut
Posts: 42
Joined: 17 Nov 2016

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

19 Jun 2017 04:27

A year ago SpaceEngineer said here that:

SpaceEngine's cubemap tool can process only the whole map of the planet, not only a part of it. This is the main problem. I haven't time to update the tool, but if you can programming experience, you can do that.

It would be really awesome to have this cubemap tool revisioned, not only to add that feature (that would make high resolution patches like those made by Klud something feasable) but also to make it more user friendly. I think that the major reason that there are not so much texture community addons is due to the complexity of the cubemap tool. If this was enhanced then many of us could start making wanderful adonns (I want to make a high resolution patch for the himalayas, another for the entire valles marineris, another for the moon landing sites, I want to make a map of the Earth in the Jurassic etc...). Maybe this would make more vivid the progress of SE from the outside viewer and would make more people engage in the community. I'm sure that if the time between two consecutive releases was full of community addons like those each moth, then all the anoying comments like "when is the next release?" or "please it has been a while since..." of new members would dissapear.
 
Mr. Abner
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Jun 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

19 Jun 2017 16:27

I can't tell you how many times I've set up the almost perfect screenshot, only to realize I need to rotate the ship or fire up the engines, which then moves the camera to one of the ship-defined cameras, and then I have to try and find that perfect camera spot again. It would be nice to be able to take control of a ship without the camera moving. Or perhaps I am missing something?

Multiple monitors are fairly common these days, it would be nice to have some way of moving the menus, text panels, and other information to a secondary monitor, thus decluttering the main screen.

-Alex
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
Explorer
Posts: 160
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

19 Jun 2017 18:07

Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post  It would be nice to be able to take control of a ship without the camera moving

Press 4 to take control of the ship, and instantly press Esc. Your camera's position should change very little or not at all.

Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post it would be nice to have some way of moving the menus, text panels, and other information to a secondary monitor

Better multi-monitor support is planned.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 970 4096 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717
 
Mr. Abner
Observer
Posts: 7
Joined: 08 Jun 2017

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

20 Jun 2017 18:00

HarbingerDawn wrote:
Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post  It would be nice to be able to take control of a ship without the camera moving

Press 4 to take control of the ship, and instantly press Esc. Your camera's position should change very little or not at all.

Mr. Abner wrote:
Source of the post  it would be nice to have some way of moving the menus, text panels, and other information to a secondary monitor

Better multi-monitor support is planned.

Ah... the Esc key. I had no idea that would cancel camera movements. Thank you, I shall give that a try.  :)
 
User avatar
Julian
Space Tourist
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

20 Jun 2017 23:34

If you're standing on the surface of a planet, but you click on the sky so that the planet is no longer selected, you currently can't reselect the planet just by clicking anywhere on the landscape -- you have to point the camera straight down in order to select the center of the planet. And this doesn't even work at night when the landscape is dark. I know SpaceEngineer mentioned making the mouse cursor work more like a "laser pointer" as part of VR development, but can we also have a keyboard shortcut for "select the object you are currently following"?
 
User avatar
Mosfet
Pioneer
Posts: 489
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

21 Jun 2017 00:42

If I'm not mistaken, this issue is fixed for the next SE version.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods - My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
Explorer
Posts: 266
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

21 Jun 2017 11:35

I have yet to try the other side of the Space Engine program; the spacecraft simulation part. I've only been poking around in the Planetarium for the past few months that I've known about this cool software. I haven't even played any other popular space traveling games, so I couldn't compare my idea with what has been done by others already.

So, as I basically teleport from place to place in the Planetarium side of things, I would enjoy seeing what my travel path looks like, to get a sense of scale and positional bearings. I rarely use the Galactic Map or Star Map (pressing F1) because it becomes cluttered with stars and names very quickly as I zoom away from my current position.

Could different colored lines be drawn here, in the Galactic Map menu (F1), connecting all the places from my travel log? Perhaps even automatically plot future pathways to take, using some maze running algorithm that plots the straightest line, with only some or excluding certain other spectral star types etc...

Kinda like these.

SE Galactic Star Map.jpg

SE Galactic Trade Routes.jpg


I understand realism is key for SE, and I wouldn't want to let this start looking like a knock off of a video game. Maybe something like this is already implemented in the Starship side of SE, but I never see any screenshots of similar things. Just an idea that I think might be do-able, and people would love the sense of exploration, navigation, cataloging etc.
Attachments
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
ARBB
Space Tourist
Posts: 23
Joined: 04 Aug 2016
Location: Doom.
Contact:

General suggestions for SpaceEngine

26 Jun 2017 17:26

Gnargenox, nice idea.

 I think that a new cit lights maps would be great:
 https://www.lightpollutionmap.info/
https://visibleearth.nasa.gov/view.php?id=55167
I like rocambolones. That's why my avatar image is a seal transcending the limitations of woo'tness (Hamlet - Act 5, Scene 1, Page 12) and becoming one with the great turtle.
youtube.com/watch?v=7eKv4BEujFU of a seal.
I think I drank too much mercury.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests