Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
TheRedstoneHive
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 107
Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Location: Kepler-186 f
Contact:

More accurate lunar/solar eclipses

23 Jun 2017 20:32

I find that when I put in a date and time of a lunar eclipse and try and simulate it in Space Engine, sometimes the Earth misses the Sun or only partly covers it when it was predicted to be a Total Lunar Eclipse. The eclipses also don't happen at the exact time that they were predicted to be. I also find that even when the Moon is fully covered by the Earth's shadow.. Earth's Atmosphere does not project any Red-ish colour therefore no "Blood Moon". 
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Topic Author
Posts: 505
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

More accurate lunar/solar eclipses

24 Jun 2017 03:02

Solar/lunar eclipses are not accurate due to lack of accurate orbital solution for Earth and Moon (and other planets/moons). The next version will have those solution (numerical model of the Solar System), so eclipses will be accurate.
Reddening of the Moon in the eclipse shadow is not supported yet.
 
Moop515
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Jun 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

25 Jun 2017 09:10

Heyy, here's a question, is it possible to find titans with mutlicellular exotic life on the surface and multicellular organic life subglacially?
 
User avatar
Spacer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 278
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: mevaseret zion, israel

General questions about SpaceEngine

25 Jun 2017 09:28

Moop515 wrote:
Heyy, here's a question, is it possible to find titans with mutlicellular exotic life on the surface and multicellular organic life subglacially?

yes
"Exploration is in our nature. We began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan
 
Moop515
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Jun 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

25 Jun 2017 10:26

Wow ok, how rare are those?
 
User avatar
Sigma
Observer
Observer
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jun 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

25 Jun 2017 12:10

At what point in development do you feel would be right to start putting in the cosmic event features? (bodies colliding, star life cycles, black holes eating stars, etc.)
 
User avatar
Spacer
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 278
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: mevaseret zion, israel

General questions about SpaceEngine

25 Jun 2017 14:15

Moop515 wrote:
Wow ok, how rare are those?

they quite rare, i found a few but if you will search with the star browser i guess you will find them quick  :)
"Exploration is in our nature. We began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan
 
User avatar
Kirby
Observer
Observer
Posts: 9
Joined: 21 Jun 2017
Location: Bremen, Germany

General questions about SpaceEngine

29 Jun 2017 07:30

Will you add more songs to the game's playlist in future updates?
“As for me, I am tormented with an everlasting itch for things remote. I love to sail forbidden seas, and land on barbarous coasts.”

Herman Melville
 
User avatar
spaceguy
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 181
Joined: 30 Dec 2016

General questions about SpaceEngine

29 Jun 2017 11:11

What would it take to achieve photorealism in SE.
Something akin to this https://youtu.be/qlO7rJKGJ6s?list=LLNUXCkVpfuUZac504laTHgQ&t=221
How would it be done and could it ever be possible?

I don't know where to really ask this, so sorry if I'm being off-topic.
;x
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 749
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General questions about SpaceEngine

29 Jun 2017 14:21

spaceguy wrote:
Source of the post What would it take to achieve photorealism in SE.

Next version will have many controls allowing a completely customized visual experience, you'll see.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
glintscollide
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Jul 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

14 Jul 2017 08:22

how can i go to a planet directly from the PLANETARY SYSTEM toolbar above?is it possible?
my existence precedes the origin of the universe
I, deliverer of god. organizer of solar systems.
heaven is lasting. earth is enduring.
i am forever and you are of me.
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 749
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

General questions about SpaceEngine

14 Jul 2017 08:30

You mean with a mouse click or similar? I's implemented in the next version. I'm afraid right now you can only select your target, then press G key.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
glintscollide
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Jul 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

14 Jul 2017 18:30

damn!it become complex...if you try to search some planets in different solar systems named A or B it gives you nothing in return...obviously...
my existence precedes the origin of the universe
I, deliverer of god. organizer of solar systems.
heaven is lasting. earth is enduring.
i am forever and you are of me.
 
User avatar
Ozie
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Jul 2017

General questions about SpaceEngine

17 Jul 2017 01:21

What unit is height measured in for the LandTo scripting command? I'm using version 0.9.8.0.

For distances close to a given object it seems to be kilometers. However, for distances significantly further, but still within visible range, height seems to be measured in something else. And it’s not astronomical unites or light years. Thanks.
 
Mr. Abner
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 120
Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Location: Mississauga

General questions about SpaceEngine

21 Jul 2017 04:44

Here's a simple question: What is the difference between "CorrEngines" and "TurnEngines"? Is the first for lateral movement and the second for rotation? And if so, what units are used?

Oh... one more, will ships and bases eventually be rendered in the atmosphere? Currently, and from what I have seen of 0.9.8.1, they are still drawn on top of the atmosphere.

-Alex

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest