Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

24 Dec 2018 07:45

JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1426
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

JackDole's Universe

24 Dec 2018 16:51

Thanks, the types and textures of this pak are the same as the other pak aren't they?

Also do you have a solution to my vibrating/flickering textures problem on planetary landscapes?  It usually happens when I have the planetary browser open but when I close it it's still there (the pictures of planets in the browser blink too) and the loading textures icon on the upper right keeps spinning.

JD, I tested it, and it works for planets g and h but not e and f, the terra planets, they still come up as "object not found" in saved locations.  I noticed in doing searches that while planets g and h show up under tau cet as well as tau ceti, planets e and f only show up under tau ceti but do not show up under tau cet.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1426
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

New Intel Graphics Driver potentially breaks Spaceengine

27 Dec 2018 22:56

JackDole wrote:
joaohimself wrote:
Source of the post I really want solution...

If you scroll slightly down the download page, you can read the system requirements.
There it says:
Minimum: Nvidia or AMD card.
There is nothing written that SpaceEngine also works with an Intel card.
If you are lucky, SE will work with an Intel card. If you are unlucky, then SE does not work.
The only solution for you would be to buy another graphics card. (Nvidia or AMD, with at least 2 gigabytes of VRam. The requirements have increased.)

JD referring to your mod and add on thread and the Tau Ceti system revised pak
JD, I tested it, and it works for planets g and h but not e and f, the terra planets, they still come up as "object not found" in saved locations.  I noticed in doing searches that while planets g and h show up under tau cet as well as tau ceti, planets e and f only show up under tau ceti but do not show up under tau cet.
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 00:11

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post JD referring to your mod and add on thread and the Tau Ceti system revised pak
JD, I tested it, and it works for planets g and h but not e and f, the terra planets, they still come up as "object not found" in saved locations.  I noticed in doing searches that while planets g and h show up under tau cet as well as tau ceti, planets e and f only show up under tau ceti but do not show up under tau cet.

Here is an update for 'TauCetiWL.sc':
TauCetiWL-Cor.sc
(12.11 KiB) Downloaded 49 times

Remove the old file.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1426
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 00:21

Thanks JD!  Now all the planets can be saved?  Remove the pak file and put the .sc file in the add-on folder?

Also, regarding the paks that can change the random number generator of the program and change procedural systems, does that only apply to galaxy add ons and cluster add ons?  If I add a pak for another galaxy will that also affect the procedural systems in the Milky Way (an example is Phunnie's local group add on.)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 01:10

You need the new 'TauCeti_V2.pak' file! You just have to remove the old 'TauCetiWL.sc' file.

As far as I know, only galaxy addons change the random number generator.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1426
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 01:22

Thanks JD I found it!  Glad I didn't remove the new V2.pak folder.  If only galaxy addons change the random number generator, would that mean that Phunnie's local group add on would change it- since the local group refers to our local cluster of galaxies?

"Also localgroup file is a fix for galaxies. The file should go in addons/catalogs/galaxies or data/catalogs/galaxies." According to Phunnie  It's localgroup.sc
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 01:32

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post If only galaxy addons change the random number generator, would that mean that Phunnie's local group add on would change it

Most likely. Furthermore, you should ask Phunnie. (In his thread.) I do not use galaxy addons.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1426
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 01:35

JackDole wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post If only galaxy addons change the random number generator, would that mean that Phunnie's local group add on would change it

Most likely. Furthermore, you should ask Phunnie. (In his thread.) I do not use galaxy addons.

I did ask about two weeks ago, I think he is away for the holidays.  I noticed you mentioned what affects the RNG in another thread, which is why I figured you would be knowledgeable about these things.  The Tau Ceti add on works perfectly now :) I really hope the F planet is discovered to have rings like you have included in your depiction, a planet like that would have an amazing display!
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 01:40

Toon
I have been asked what exactly 'FixedPosPolar' does.
With 'FixedPosPolar' you can position an object over another object over a fixed point. The second object rotates with the first object, so it always stays above the same position.
The parameter are: 'FixedPosPolar (Longitude, Latitude, Height)'

The attached script positions a red moon over Beijing.
// Filename: Toon.sc
// JackDole 2018.12.27 07:02:40

/*
    For example, if you want to position an object over a fixed point on Earth, you can use FixedPosPolar ().
    The values are: FixedPosPolar (Longitude, Latitude, Height)

    This script positions a red moon over Beijing.
*/

// Beijing  39° 56' N, 116° 23' E = 39.93333333 N, 116.38333333 E

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DwarfMoon "Toon"
{
    ParentBody  "Earth"
    Class       "Desert"
    
    Radius      100
    
    Oblateness  0
    
    Color       (1.0 0.0 0.0)
    
    Surface
    {
        ModulateColor (1.0 0.0 0.0 0.0)
    }
    
    FixedPosPolar (-63.61666667, 39.93333333, 9371)
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toon.sc
(831 Bytes) Downloaded 54 times
scr00174.jpg
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1426
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 02:22

Thanks JD sounds like a geostationary satellite!
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

28 Dec 2018 03:13

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post sounds like a geostationary satellite

Not really. For a true geostationary orbit, the distance is too small.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

01 Jan 2019 11:37

A moon with a moon ... (for SE 0.980)

I noticed that my addon 'A moon with a moon ...' does not work properly in SE 0.980.
I developed this addon with SE 0.980_e. And SE 0.980_e uses the parameters 'SemiMajorAxisKm' and 'PeriodDays' on different moons. These parameters can not be understood by SE 0.980.
I have therefore created a new .pak file.
(This .pak file also contains the moon 'Soar'.)
SereLleuLeud0980.pak
(40.01 KiB) Downloaded 34 times
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

02 Jan 2019 11:34

2018 VG18 (Farout)

My version.
scr00032.jpg

// Filename: Farout.sc
// JackDole 2018.12.18 16:16:33

// SE 0.980

// https://ssd.jpl.nasa.gov/sbdb.cgi#top
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DwarfPlanet "2018 VG18/Farout"
{
    ParentBody  "Sol"
    Class       "IceWorld"      //"Asteroid"
    AsterType   "Sednoid"       // "TNO"
    
    AbsMagn     3.2498
    
    Radius      250
    
    DiscDate    "2018.11.10"
    
    Surface
    {
        ModulateColor  (0.864 0.513 0.875 1)
    }
    
    Orbit
    {
        RefPlane        "Ecliptic"
        Eccentricity    0.7717437510349855
        SemiMajorAxis   95.23712927242569
        PericenterDist  21.73846988992007
        Inclination     31.71377520866712
        AscendingNode   247.4427078740553
        ArgOfPericen    32.88824233518356
        MeanAnomaly     73.76581889010136
        Epoch           2388887.345475182301
        //Epoch           2458440.5
        Period          929.43
        MeanMotion      0.001060460825511582
    }
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Farout.sc
(1.11 KiB) Downloaded 74 times
(Put in 'addons\catalogs\planets'
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

JackDole's Universe

02 Jan 2019 22:38

Ultima and Thule
My first version.
scr00032.jpg
scr00031.jpg

UltimaThule.sc
(2.15 KiB) Downloaded 102 times
(Put in 'addons\catalogs\planets')


Updated version:
UltimaThule-V0.2.sc
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest