Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 16
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

01 Feb 2017 05:47

I hope others try the x303 and report their results, I am curious if it will crash for most people.  I was forced to use DetailDiffMaps due to errors with the model.  I had to generate a very rough UV and then adjust the Detail map to it.  I had many crashes while working on the x303 in 0.9.8.0 but I finished it with the version that is available, the Steam build that is.  SpaceEngineer sent me a test patch to see if it still crashes and it doesn't so hopefully that will go out soon.


As for other ships, I have a couple low quality packs, currently I am trying to port
Image
Image

But I am having some issues so I may be unable to.  I do have some Bridge Commander Stargate ships, including a 303 and 304 but they are very low quality.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Unicron
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Jan 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

01 Feb 2017 13:33

Hey! Doc. X304 work's just fine, but X303 crashes SE. I thought you might like to know. 
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

01 Feb 2017 20:44

Good to know.

I will look into fixing it, but the model was a lot of work as it is already so I may just leave it and it will work in the next patch/update.




Unicron and XBrain130

I tried Prometheus in an older version of SE, 0.9.7.4 and it crashed every time.  I tried editing the SML and it let me spawn the ship, even after I edited the SML back to being the same as it was before.  The program still crashed when I put it inside of a pak 100% of the time, but when loose it seems to load occasionally so maybe that is part of the problem

I have a request for both of you.  Can you do the following

  • Extract the pak file inside of addons, any program like winrar or 7z will do it, and try spawning Prometheus.  I suspect it will still crash 
  • Remove the pak file from the addons directory or else it may continue crashing 100% of the time.
  • Navigate to addons\SGx303-304\textures\spacecraft\Stargate and open Prometheus.sml and do the following edit to either the same section or one of the first couple sections with the DetailDiffMap listing.
    Material "x303Structure"
    {
     DiffColor       (0.364 0.364 0.364)
     SpecColor       (0.175 0.175 0.175)
     SpecPower        132
     SpecMap         "Stargate/hull6spec.*"
     DiffMap         "Stargate/gritpanels.*"
     DiffMapAlpha    "Transp"
     TwoSided        true
     DetBumpMap      "Stargate/zinc03bump.*"
     DetBumpScale     15
     DetBumpHeight    1
    // DetDiffMap      "Stargate/gritpanels.*"
    // DetDiffScale     2
    }


    Now try and spawn Prometheus

Doing this allowed me to spawn Prometheus in 0.9.7.4, it still crashed but by turning off one DetailDiffMap then turning it back on would only crash some of the time. This is how I was doing it while working on the model as well, hopefully if you play around with this a bit you might be able to get it loaded.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
XBrain130
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 267
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Italy
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

01 Feb 2017 22:15

I always keep allmyaddons unpacked for easychecking so I just have to do the commenting. Trying now.

...

Yes, it seems to work!

I quit and reloaded two times, and also destroyed and respawned it, and it looks fine without any crash.
SpaceEngine's Italian Discord server: https://discord.gg/NhQbEbC
 
User avatar
Roswell
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 120
Joined: 05 Nov 2016

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

03 Feb 2017 13:34

HI Doctor of space, I have a big problem with polyphemus. First picture my polyphemus are blurry I don't know why I can't see clearly! The second pictures, I tested with other planet it's look like the real polyphemus thankfully my combo with atmophere "amberworld" O_o and third picture are when I install the new version I got the "fire" polyphemus?
Attachments
scr00000.jpg
Blurry polyphemus O_o
scr00001.jpg
tested with other planet with combo atmosphere.
scr00002.jpg
UH! funny polyphemus like a fire or what!
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

03 Feb 2017 17:11

Roswell,I hadn't checked system as I simply updated SpaceEngineer's addon and uploaded it.  I will look into fixing it up again

On my PC it looks partially correct but has a few brown bands which should be blue, so I will fix Polyphemus color.  I don't see anything like what is in your screenshots.

You may want to make sure you don't have any conflicting addons.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
pfjarschel
Observer
Observer
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Location: Brazil
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

04 Feb 2017 03:21

Doctor, these new ships are beautiful, thank you!!! Now for a much needed therapy journey!
 
User avatar
Mosfet
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 755
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

04 Feb 2017 04:11

pfjarschel wrote:
Source of the post therapy journey

This. Right now it's a perfect description of a typical SE session.
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so". Douglas N. Adams
My mods | My specs: Asus x555ub - cpu i5-6200u, ram 4gb, gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram | IRC freenode.net canale ##SpaceEngineITA
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

07 Feb 2017 05:39

Added Normandy SR1 and Normandy SR2 pack
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

16 Feb 2017 08:51

Added updated probes for 0.9.8.0

Image




Added Ebon Hawk
Image




Added the Millennium Falcon
Image
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
Xoran
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 383
Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

19 Feb 2017 04:28

Awesome ships, DoctorOfSpace :)
Space is too big to understand, so do not try to understand.
 
Pluton
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 92
Joined: 22 Dec 2016
Location: Russia

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

12 Mar 2017 06:10

Avatar mod has a conflict. There is a planet Polyphemus, but Neptune also has Polyphemus the dwarf moon. Sometimes (but not always, donno why) they conjure and Neptune gets that huge avatar planet as a moon and it has all it's secondary moons. Weird thing.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 939
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

12 Mar 2017 06:24

I think that is fixed in 0.9.8.1 but would have to check with SpaceEngineer
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Posts: 505
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

12 Mar 2017 13:32

Pluton wrote:
Source of the post Avatar mod has a conflict. There is a planet Polyphemus, but Neptune also has Polyphemus the dwarf moon. Sometimes (but not always, donno why) they conjure and Neptune gets that huge avatar planet as a moon and it has all it's secondary moons. Weird thing.

This is fixed in 0.9.8.1 by introducing the "unprintable suffix" for object name. So "Polythemus" changed to "Polythemus$AVATAR" in catalogs, while in the game it still displayed as "Polythemus". It will be a "must have" option for fictional planets, if their names conflicts with real objects.
Temporary workaround for this for could be adding alternate name to the Polythemus, say "ALF Cen A 3", and change ParentBody of all its moons to "ALF Cen A 3". This is for beta testers, who have some last 0.981 build with updated catalogs, where the new moon of Neptune was added (but non-printable suffix still not). For other users, no problems, because there is no Polythemus moon of Neptune in 0.98.
 
Tuskin38
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 22
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

17 Mar 2017 19:42

I love that some of the trek ships have FX on their RCS, its a small detail that is really neat.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 16

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest