Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 1112
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

15 Jan 2018 23:03

It's an interesting design. I both dislike it and like it for various reasons.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
Tuskin38
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

16 Jan 2018 12:20

Woah, where is that discovery from?
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 1112
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

17 Jan 2018 18:05

Tuskin38, same place I got the other from

https://metlesitsfleetyards.deviantart.com/gallery/

This guy has some great stuff, I have ported quite a few models from here.




Tuskin38, I experimented with the 750m length of the Discovery and I can't say it looks right at all.  The purported length of ~420m for Shenzhou however is about as large as the Discovery should be.  

At 420m the Discovery saucer matches the saucer size, engineering hull size(slightly larger on Discovery), and general layout of the TOS ship.

Image
Image

I will do some adjustments with those values for the Shenzhou as well, but much like the JJprise I will probably end up including 2 versions.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
Tuskin38
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

18 Jan 2018 05:41

At 750.5, the inner saucer of the Discovery matches the Constitution almost exactly, and the bridge modules are the same size.

An artist I follow came to around a 750 conclusion before the official numbers came out based on observations from the show. If you look at the shuttle bay and the size of the view screen when people are standing near it, it works out.

But having two sizes would work. Gives people options.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 1112
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

19 Jan 2018 01:36

Tuskin38, I thought about that earlier but there is an issue with doing that in SE

Image
Image


With the astronaut test Harb and I do for scaling, it makes the Discovery 850m long
Image


What I am thinking about doing is getting it to be 750m long from edge of the sauce to end of the nacelles and listing it as U.S.S. Discovery(750m) and having one that is more appropriately scaled at around 420m.

But I can't do one where the inner saucer matches the Connie saucer without making it nearly 1km long.  :(




In other news I found a model I can't include, the SM file is 750MB and the model is heavily unoptimized but it certainly looks pretty.

Image 
Image
Image
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
Tuskin38
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

19 Jan 2018 06:21

It might just be that Discovery model itself it's proportions are off. 
Here is a size chart someone made over a TrekBBS using an official render of the ship

https://i.imgur.com/86rwEK5.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/d7qCxUA.jpg

So yeah, I guess just make the model you have whatever size makes sense.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 1112
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

19 Jan 2018 14:16

Tuskin38 wrote:
Source of the post It might just be that Discovery model itself it's proportions are off.


Probably true, even slightly being off can be exaggerated quite a bit when making something that large.

Tuskin38 wrote:
Source of the post Here is a size chart someone made over a TrekBBS using an official render of the ship


Those sizes just irk me to no end.
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
starcom
Observer
Observer
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Jan 2018

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

20 Jan 2018 08:01

Doc. Hepl please with voyager, Your first link is old and broken.
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 1112
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

30 Jan 2018 20:04

Assuming the shader doesn't change too much and I can keep updating ships to use the new PBR system here is a little sneak peak of what I have been working on for 0.9.9.0.

Image
Image
Image
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
Tuskin38
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

31 Jan 2018 11:27

Those are beautiful 
 
User avatar
DoctorOfSpace
World Builder
World Builder
Topic Author
Posts: 1112
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: SpaceX Mars Colony
Contact:

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

31 Jan 2018 18:16

Tuskin38, the biggest problem is the number of ships I have to convert and how they work.

There is a loss of spec maps, which are way too much work to convert to PBR maps.

Here is an example

Probert Ambassador and C in different exposure modes
Image
Image

Viewed from the bottom in auto exposure
Image

So without proper PBR maps and just using engine basic PBR for roughness/metallic you gain a more realistic shine and environmental wrapping, but lose the hull plating and specular shine.

As far as I know, specular map support is not supported for PBR
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor - RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 - GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Quando omni flunkus, moritati
 
User avatar
tornadotodd
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 120
Joined: 20 Dec 2017
Location: Oklahoma

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

01 Feb 2018 21:44

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Tuskin38, the biggest problem is the number of ships I have to convert and how they work.

There is a loss of spec maps, which are way too much work to convert to PBR maps.

Here is an example

Probert Ambassador and C in different exposure modes


Wow that's a huge difference,, I hope that you will be able to do most of them.. 
Image
Image

Viewed from the bottom in auto exposure
Image

So without proper PBR maps and just using engine basic PBR for roughness/metallic you gain a more realistic shine and environmental wrapping, but lose the hull plating and specular shine.

As far as I know, specular map support is not supported for PBR
 
Tuskin38
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Jan 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

03 Feb 2018 07:58

You screwed up your quoting there.
 
User avatar
Stab74
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 50
Joined: 26 Mar 2017

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

03 Feb 2018 17:04

DoctorOfSpace wrote:
Tuskin38, same place I got the other from

https://metlesitsfleetyards.deviantart.com/gallery/

This guy has some great stuff, I have ported quite a few models from here.

Holy ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎ that guy has made a V-ger cloud model.  I wonder how well this would work in SE if it was ported in at it's proper 2 AU size. :)
 
Falk76
Observer
Observer
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Feb 2018

DoctorOfSpace's Mod Emporium v0.9.8.0

13 Feb 2018 02:20

Hi :) @DoctorOfSpace How do you import the ships into the space engine ? 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests