Free planetarium

 
User avatar
swefan
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 03:45

New and alternative looks for procedurally generated planets. (V02)

Land, ice, mountains, vegetation(this need a fix), all the textures are 1024X1024 vs 256X256 default, and noise removal for all surfaces.
The overall look is much more detailed and clean, obviously the game will need more time for loading the textures, so this mod is perfect for making beautiful screenshots, less for exploring.
I don't know how it runs in other system, runs very well with my system (gtx970G1,i5-4690K,8GBRam) anyway it needs only more video memory than the default, not more computing power. 
I plan to change some textures so this is only the first version.

Image

Image

Image
Some images
► Show Spoiler






Installation method 1 NO-NOISE (this works only if your GLSL version is 4.50 NVIDIA):


► Show Spoiler


Installation method 2 with NOISE (works for all GLSL version):


► Show Spoiler


Warning: don't change this line in the main-user.cfg :

PlanetTextureRes        256 // texture resolution (use only power of 2!)

if you set this to 512 or 1024 in conjunction with my mod it will kill your framerate and make the game runs very laggy!!!

*anyway you can try to change this value and see how it goes




and if you changed this line (from my previous installation instruction):

PlanetDetailTexScale    16384

to: 

PlanetDetailTexScale    4096

restore it to the default value: 16384



download: V02

My .ini for RESHADE 3.0.4 (whith SMAA activated): 
Reshade_SE.zip
(3.24 KiB) Downloaded 216 times
Last edited by swefan on 27 Nov 2016 22:47, edited 35 times in total.
 
User avatar
swefan
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 03:46

Extreme edition
Textures aren't enlarged so more details, but this causes lag on surfaces (amount of lag depends upon your setup)
as reference with my pc: gtx970G1,[email protected],3Ghz,8GBRam, Lod set to 1 good performance, Lod set to 1.5 I get decent performance, with Lod set to 2 I get lag and textures start to glitching

Installation:
Follow one of the two installation methods described above, and before you run the game: (after point 4 and before point 5 if you choose NO-NOISE)
1 open swefan.H.pak\textures\common\ and replace atlas.cfg whit the one included in EXTREME.zip
2 open main-user.cfg find

PlanetTextureRes        256 // texture resolution (use only power of 2!)


and change to

PlanetTextureRes        1024 // texture resolution (use only power of 2!)


Download:
EXTREME.zip
(1.07 KiB) Downloaded 99 times


RESHADE_ini_2.zip
different .ini for reshade
(3.25 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
Last edited by swefan on 27 Nov 2016 23:03, edited 8 times in total.
 
User avatar
Kexitt
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Vorkuta
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 03:54

Where is the link?
 
User avatar
swefan
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 03:58

Kexitt wrote:
Where is the link?

I'm sorry, first time i share something in this forum, it says "File too Large"

Wait some minutes...
 
User avatar
Kexitt
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Vorkuta
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 03:59

Upload on Google drive.
 
User avatar
Kexitt
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Vorkuta
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 04:12

On this screenshot cracks seem bulging
► Show Spoiler
 
User avatar
swefan
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 04:21

Kexitt wrote:
Upload on Google drive.

Done, but there is something insanely too slow, probably my Internet connection, it will take a bit of time
Kexitt wrote:
On this screenshot cracks seem bulging

Some things seem beautiful other horrible, It depends on how procedural generation uses the textures
 
User avatar
Kexitt
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Vorkuta
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 04:24

swefan wrote:

Some things seem beautiful other horrible, It depends on how procedural generation uses the textures

Does SE uses Normal maps? If it does, cracks bulginging because of incorrect normal map.
 
User avatar
swefan
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 04:31

Kexitt wrote:
swefan wrote:

Some things seem beautiful other horrible, It depends on how procedural generation uses the textures

Does SE uses Normal maps? If it does, cracks bulginging because of incorrect normal map.

There isn't normal map or bump, specular ecc. only diffuse map with static shadows
 
User avatar
Kexitt
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Vorkuta
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 04:33

swefan wrote:
Kexitt wrote:
swefan wrote:

Some things seem beautiful other horrible, It depends on how procedural generation uses the textures

Does SE uses Normal maps? If it does, cracks bulginging because of incorrect normal map.

There isn't normal map or bump, specular ecc. only diffuse map with static shadows

Thanks for answer. But how do I download this mod?
 
User avatar
swefan
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Location: Italy

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 04:35

Kexitt wrote:
Thanks for answer. But how do I download this mod?

Read some message above...
 
User avatar
Kexitt
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Vorkuta
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 06:30

I'm still waiting
 
User avatar
Quarior
Space Pilot
Posts: 136
Joined: 11 Oct 2016
Location: Local Universe/Laniakea/Virgo SC/Local Group/Via Lactea/Orion–Cygnus Arm/Sol System/Gaia
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 08:59

Kexitt wrote:
I'm still waiting

swefan wrote:
Installation:

1) Before installing start the game and go in the Space, close Space Engine
2) delete the cache folder (SpaceEngine/cache)
3) open "main-user.cfg" (SpaceEngine\config) under "Planet rendering settings" find: 
"PlanetTextureRes 256", change to "PlanetTextureRes 1024" 
under "Procedural planets generator settings" find:
"PlanetDetailTextures true" change to "PlanetDetailTextures false"
4) copy the L.pack or H.pack into addons (SpaceEngine/addons)
5) run the game (90% of planets will be invisible!) close the game
6) delete "glsl" folder (SpaceEngine\cache\shaders\yourGPUdrivers\glsl) replace with my "glsl" folder.
7) done.

download: V01

If you prefer, start Space Engine, go very far from the celestial bodies, delete the cache folder, change in config/main-user.cfg :
PlanetTextureRes 256

to
PlanetTextureRes 1024

and
PlanetDetailTextures true

to
PlanetDetailTextures false

Paste swefan.H.pak or swefan.L.pak on addons folder, run Space Engine, close Space Engine, delete the glsl folders in cache/YourDrive/models/ and paste glsl folderof the zip in this folder.
Last edited by Quarior on 03 Nov 2016 09:06, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Kexitt
Space Tourist
Posts: 25
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Vorkuta
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 09:05

This mod does not work for me.
 
User avatar
NathanKerbonaut
Space Tourist
Posts: 23
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Confederacy of Humanity
Contact:

Re: 1K-Worlds

03 Nov 2016 09:20

Nice pics! I'll give this a go once I get the opportunity :)
Lover of cute typhlosions and space games. Profile pic source: http://bit.ly/2fiRJmW
My mods: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=173
I'm Thomas988 on the old forums, in case you need to know.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests