Page 3 of 4

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 01 Aug 2019 12:10
by A-L-E-X
Unfortunately I heard the tail end on the weather channel but missed the whole broadcast :(  Currently searching for it online.  I have found as few planetary collision articles but nothing from today.

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 164646.htm

http://www.astronomy.com/news/2019/02/a ... exoplanets

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 125428.htm

that last one indicates a whole new solar system with an earthlike planet may be 31 LY away

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 111328.htm

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 02 Aug 2019 09:54
by JackDole
Who downloads the new update from the Beta-Branch, does not need these asteroids anymore.
They are included in the update.

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 02 Aug 2019 12:33
by soldies502
Its nice to see addons are still as great as they were in 0.980

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 02 Aug 2019 23:55
by JackDole
SpaceEngineer has removed the numbers in front of the first names of this asteroids in the new update of SpaceEngine.

'6312 Robheinlein        ->  Robheinlein'
'5748 Davebrin            ->  Davebrin'
'5099 Iainbanks           ->  Iainbanks'
'25924 Douglasadams  ->  Douglasadams'
'18610 Arthurdent        ->  Arthurdent'
'3582 Cyrano               ->  Cyrano'

Therefore, the asteroids can no longer be found in SpaceEngine with 'Number Name'.
But they can be found with the simple names. (Some asteroids can also be found with '(Number) Name'.

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 03 Aug 2019 12:23
by Kermit
Any chance of adding the Scottmanley one? Especially considering the number of times SE has been featured/cameo'd in his vids.

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 03 Aug 2019 13:53
by JackDole
Kermit wrote:
Source of the post Any chance of adding the Scottmanley one?

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71&start=360#p29405
But the asteroid 'Scottmanley' is already in SpaceEngine.

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 03 Aug 2019 18:00
by Kermit
oops, I suppose it would help if I typed the number in correctly. (hides in embarrassment)

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 04 Aug 2019 03:52
by JackDole
Unknown structure ...

A structure whose purpose is unknown, discovered somewhere ...
scr00242.jpg
scr00241.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/EJnQnFs.gifv
Image
UnknownStructV2.pak
(417.37 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
(Put tis in 'addons'.)
(The star is called 'An'Hysszby'.)

Actually, this is my second version. This version loads a bit faster and the .pak file is slightly smaller. (That's why I can post it here.)



Who also want the background nebula, need this addon: JDVClusterNebulae.pak

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 04 Aug 2019 22:40
by JackDole
Unknown structure ... a patch

I just realized that the planet An'Hysszby II is a bit too close to the structure. (Its orbit goes partly through the structure.)
So I made a patch that moves him a little further away.
An'Hysszby_II_patch.sc
(528 Bytes) Downloaded 14 times

Put it in 'addons\catalogs\planets'.

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 05 Aug 2019 02:13
by JackDole
Black City

The texture is by DoctorOfSpace
scr00242 (2).jpg
scr00242.jpg

(The black hole is called Ebony.)
BlackCityV2.pak
(468.45 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
(Put in 'addons'.)

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 13 Sep 2019 11:21
by JackDole
Planet Nine
(Pure Science Fiction: I gave life to the planet and a few moons as well.)
scr00392.jpg
scr00391.jpg
scr00389.jpg
scr00386 (2).jpg

PlanetNine.sc
(14.82 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
(Put this file in 'addons\catalogs\planets'.)

The SE 0.980 version is here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=175&p=11318#p11318

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 21 Sep 2019 09:25
by JackDole
How to export a system and convert it into a usable script.
(For a system with only one star.)

1. First, you should consider where you want to settle your new system, and create a script accordingly.
Let's call the new system 'MyNewStar System'.
// Filename: MyNewStar.sc
// JackDole 2019.09.21 16:58:54

// ------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------

StarBarycenter "MyNewStar System"
{
    RA 12 34 56.78 // Between 0 and 24 hours.
    Dec 89 67 45.23 // Between -90 and 90 degrees.
    Dist 345.123 // Not too far away. There are problems with the accuracy of the parameters in distant galaxies.
}
// ------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------

This script belongs to the folder '..\Steam\steamapps\common\SpaceEngine\addons\catalogs\stars'. (Or in a nutshell, in the folder 'addons\catalogs\stars'.)

2. Export a system.
    I. Select the star.
    II. Go to the main menu.
    III. Select 'Tools'
    IV. Select 'Export planet script'
    V. In the small window that appears, select 'Export'. There is no feedback from the program that the script was actually exported! (After pressing 'Export', the window remains open, I think that's a bug.)
    VI. If it worked, you can find the file in the folder '..\Steam\steamapps\common\SpaceEngine\export'.
    
3. Rename the script, for example, to 'MyNewStarSystem.sc'. Move it to the folder 'addons\catalogs\planets'.

4. Load the file in an editor. You can use 'Notepad' for that, but I recommend 'Notepad ++'.

5. Do a 'Find and Replace' and replace the 'RS xxxx-xxxx- ...' with the new name of your star, for example 'MyNewStar'.

6. Change the 'ParentBody' of the star to the name of your 'StarBarycenter', in this case "MyNewStar System".

7. At this point, I always remove all asteroids and comets from the script. I usually do a new script with them. The main script can thus be much shorter and clearer. This can be a bit complicated as the asteroids and comets in the new SpaceEngine version are scattered throughout the script rather than at the end of the script as they used to be.

8. Now you have to rename all planets and moons. Simply numbering the planets does not work with scripted planets.
You can also do this with 'Find and Replace'.
I always give the planet the name of the star and a Roman numeral.
Suppose your system has 11 planets. Then you first replace all "11 with "MyNewStar XI. Then all "10 with "MyNewStar X. And so on.

9. That's it! You can now use your own planets in this system. Either you edit a planet in the Spaceengine editor and paste the exported changes into your script, or you create your own planet and replace one of the planets.

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 07 Oct 2019 21:16
by JackDole
Two nebulae and two clusters.
(This addon is needed to get the background for most of my other addons.)

I have updated my home nebula and star cluster.
I added a second nebula and a second cluster.
scr00176.jpg
scr00177.jpg

And the central black hole of the second cluster is a binary black hole.
scr00175.jpg

(If you have the old 'JDVClusterNebulae.pak', it must be removed.)
JDVClusterNebulae-V2.pak
(10.13 KiB) Downloaded 28 times

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 07 Oct 2019 22:18
by JackDole
A 'star' system.

The star is called "Patrick's Star"
scr00168 (3).jpg

Place    "Planet Torrid airless terra"
{
    Ver        990
    Body    "Starlight"
    Parent    "Patrick's Belly"
    Date    "2019.10.07 17:05:17.07"
    Time    +25848C3645D74A52C2ACDA8400
    Pos        (-9A9F6902DFDE1FD07C431A -F06AB1000E3CC7C6B80E779 +3465A47FC24375A4EA791EF)
    Rot        (-0.2018016091989665 0.09329651382483552 0.9687261493594364 -0.1101885592068388)
    Vel        9.0467779e-11
    Stereobase    1
    BindMode    1
    PhotoMode    0
    Exposure    0
}

scr00177 (2).jpg
scr00178 (2).jpg

scr00176 (2).jpg
scr00179 (2).jpg

► Show Spoiler

PatricksStar.pak
(49.09 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

To get the right background you need this addon:
ImageJDVClusterNebulae-V2.pak

JackDole's Universe 0.990

Posted: 11 Oct 2019 02:36
by A-L-E-X
Jack, can you do a system like Stephen King's Midworld from The Dark Tower?  It's a post-apocalyptic world that has two moons, one large one small and is semi-arid with lots of mountains.