Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1323
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 12:46

Phunnie wrote:
Source of the post No idea, I don't get those errors.

The 'x7V', 'x4V' (and so on) errors are in your '2M.csv' file. (I have not tested the other big files.)
(The '800k.csv' file contains an 'x7V' error.)
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 12:54

JackDole wrote:
Phunnie wrote:
Source of the post No idea, I don't get those errors.

The 'x7V', 'x4V' (and so on) errors are in your '2M.csv' file. (I have not tested the other big files.)
(The '800k.csv' file contains an 'x7V' error.)

Ah. I see them now. Thanks Jack. I'm currently working on redoing the spectral classes using the HR diagram anyways. Almost done. The code is already ready it's just taking a little while to convert.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 16:07

Updated to V2.9. All details in changelog. 
Basically just replaced the way spectral classes are assigned and also diversified the spectral classes.

Please leave any bugs or suggestions in this thread. I'll try to do things as fast as I can. Finals are soon though, so I'll try to do things whenever I'll have free time.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1434
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 22:35

Thanks Phunnie, for now I switched from the 2M pak to the 5M pak, it does take slightly longer to load but not by much (a little over a minute) and I didn't experience any lag using it, then again I only went up to Mag 10.5.

This pak also has the errors but interestingly, the 5M pak has less errors than the 2M pak does.   There were a total of 59 spectral class errors and 3 errors of duplication.  I screenshotted everything into 5 files, so let me know if you want to see those.   The white dwarf Gaia pack also has errors- a total of 4.  There was one more console error which came from a different addon (intergalactic stars).  I see all of this is in se.log and the console, but they only save the errors from the latest run of the program.  The errors do not impact the simulation at all, that only happened when I was trying to run the 2M and 5M pak at the same time lol and then the console wouldn't let me input anything.

For now I left everything on, even with the 5M pak, I have procedural stars and Hipparcos running with it, no lags.
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1434
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 22:38

Oh I just saw your last message, should I redownload the 2M and 5M paks then?
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1434
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 22:42

JackDole wrote:
Phunnie wrote:
Source of the post No idea, I don't get those errors.

The 'x7V', 'x4V' (and so on) errors are in your '2M.csv' file. (I have not tested the other big files.)
(The '800k.csv' file contains an 'x7V' error.)

There were less errors in the 5M pak file, but I still counted 59 spectral class errors as well as 3 errors of duplicate stars.

I decided to post the 5M pak console errors here because I am going to use that pak.

err1a.jpg


err2a.jpg


err3a.jpg


err4a.jpg


err5a.jpg
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 22:56

A-L-E-X wrote:
JackDole wrote:
Phunnie wrote:
Source of the post No idea, I don't get those errors.

The 'x7V', 'x4V' (and so on) errors are in your '2M.csv' file. (I have not tested the other big files.)
(The '800k.csv' file contains an 'x7V' error.)

There were less errors in the 5M pak file, but I still counted 59 spectral class errors as well as 3 errors of duplicate stars.

I decided to post the 5M pak console errors here because I am going to use that pak.

err1a.jpg

err2a.jpg

err3a.jpg

err4a.jpg

err5a.jpg

Already fixed the spectral class x#V bug. The last few errors have nothing to do with the catalogs I posted. They are caused by FFT's white dwarf catalog conflicting with preexisting catalogs.
Last edited by Phunnie on 08 Dec 2018 22:58, edited 1 time in total.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1434
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 22:58

Thanks I'll go download both the 2M and 5M paks.  By the way, they can't be used together can they?
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 23:00

What do you mean? If you mean FFT's catalog and the the one I posted, yes they can be used without any issues together. They can still both be used with default catalogs too, but might cause some warnings. Nothing to worry about, it will not impact your performance or gameplay. SE has a mechanism that auto deletes one of the duplicate. The problem arises when two stars have the same position but are not named the same, e.g. GAIA DR2 and Hipparcos. SE doesn't know if the star is a duplicate and therefore must be manually removed (or done using some code which is being worked on :P.)
Last edited by Phunnie on 08 Dec 2018 23:06, edited 1 time in total.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1434
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 23:05

Phunnie wrote:
What do you mean? If you mean FFT's catalog and the the one I posted, yes they can be used without any issues together. They can still both be used with default catalogs too, but might cause some warnings. Nothing to worry about, it will not impact your performance or gameplay. SE has a mechanism that auto deletes one of the duplicate.

No I mean can I install both your 2M (<1000 LY) catalog and your 5M (>20x) catalogs together and use both at the same time?
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 23:09

You could, it might take a while to load because SE will have to delete a substantial amount of duplicate stars. I'll keep that idea in mind and I might make other paks in the future when I'll have time. I do really want to make a pak with giants and above only, as well as some based on apparent magnitude and perhaps even cross sections of the milky way to hopefully get some sort of structure.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
User avatar
JackDole
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1323
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 23:24

Phunnie wrote:
Source of the post Updated to V2.9. All details in changelog.

Can you publish the new program you used to create the new catalogs? And the parameters necessary for the Gaia query?
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
Star Engineer
Star Engineer
Posts: 1434
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 23:32

Phunnie wrote:
You could, it might take a while to load because SE will have to delete a substantial amount of duplicate stars. I'll keep that idea in mind and I might make other paks in the future when I'll have time. I do really want to make a pak with giants and above only, as well as some based on apparent magnitude and perhaps even cross sections of the milky way to hopefully get some sort of structure.

Thats understandable however on the Gaia wiki page I saw that they were also talking about discovering thousands of exoplanets and it would be useful to have sunlike stars and even red dwarfs included because planets discovered around those stars could be habitable.  They also mentioned quasars, and it would be nice to have a full catalog of quasars in SE.
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 23:35

Well for one it is the most incomplete thing on earth, and is only useful for one thing. Converting a specific SE catalog to another specific SE catalog. The one I used for clusters is even worse. It has one for creating a cluster and one for removing it from the main sheet. It's also wirtten in C++ and not python so it would be able to parse and write millions of lines in a csv file faster, so it's an .exe file. As for the gaia ADQL query, I'm still using the first one you told me to use :P I do, however have an optimized version of the converter that can convert over 20x faster than the original C++ one that I could post. It won't fix clusters though.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 23:38

A-L-E-X wrote:
Phunnie wrote:
You could, it might take a while to load because SE will have to delete a substantial amount of duplicate stars. I'll keep that idea in mind and I might make other paks in the future when I'll have time. I do really want to make a pak with giants and above only, as well as some based on apparent magnitude and perhaps even cross sections of the milky way to hopefully get some sort of structure.

Thats understandable however on the Gaia wiki page I saw that they were also talking about discovering thousands of exoplanets and it would be useful to have sunlike stars and even red dwarfs included because planets discovered around those stars could be habitable.  They also mentioned quasars, and it would be nice to have a full catalog of quasars in SE.

I agree, having quasars would be nice. However, I have no idea what to query in the ADQL search to get the data for galaxies. Once I figure that out, I'll add galaxy paks, or include them in each version.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: snyper1188 and 1 guest