Ultimate space simulation software

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

30 Nov 2018 16:10

Oh I thought you could just graph them on the H-R diagram if you knew their absolute magnitude and color index

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hertzspru ... iagram.png

In this diagram you can plot them just by knowing those two things.


Color Index (B-V) corresponds directly to Spectral Type and Absolute Magnitude corresponds directly to Luminosity.

This is just for basic classification.
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

30 Nov 2018 17:56

A-L-E-X wrote:
Oh I thought you could just graph them on the H-R diagram if you knew their absolute magnitude and color index

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hertzspru ... iagram.png

In this diagram you can plot them just by knowing those two things.


Color Index (B-V) corresponds directly to Spectral Type and Absolute Magnitude corresponds directly to Luminosity.

This is just for basic classification.

That's what I'm currently working on to get a more accurate representation. It's not as simple as it seems, however, Plotting all the points, the trend isn't a horizontal straight line. It's curved.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

30 Nov 2018 22:50

Phunnie wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:
Oh I thought you could just graph them on the H-R diagram if you knew their absolute magnitude and color index

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hertzspru ... iagram.png

In this diagram you can plot them just by knowing those two things.


Color Index (B-V) corresponds directly to Spectral Type and Absolute Magnitude corresponds directly to Luminosity.

This is just for basic classification.

That's what I'm currently working on to get a more accurate representation. It's not as simple as it seems, however, Plotting all the points, the trend isn't a horizontal straight line. It's curved.

Thanks, I was wondering if in the future we could have a small H-R diagram as an option that quickly shows all the stars in a given field of view plotted on it.  And if we click on a particular dot in the diagram (or a star in space) it would show its position in either.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

05 Dec 2018 00:55

With the Gaia add on should the Hipparcos catalog also be disabled or just procedural stars?  Also is there a way to only disable procedural stars for our galaxy and still keep them turned on for other galaxies (since Gaia is only for our galaxy).

Also does the Gaia addon go right into the addons subfolder or into addons/catalogs/stars ?
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

06 Dec 2018 00:03

Also wanted to ask what is the most massive and most luminous star in the Gaia catalog and how massive and luminous is it?  I installed the 1000 LY add on (2 million stars) and also am wondering how far away the farthest star found by Gaia is and would it be possible for you to do an add on for all stars out to 10,000 LY and how many stars would that be?
 
EmperorPeeter
Observer
Observer
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Nov 2018
Location: Estonia

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

06 Dec 2018 15:59

Does someone with GAIA database bother`s to release also list for discovered galaxies? Antlia 2 is one of those discovered galaxies by GAIA. It would be awesome if someone would mind find a time to release that list also.

Best wishes,
Peeter :)
Yes. I`m building a real satellite right now. Planned launch time is June 2019 with ESA rocket.
 
User avatar
Ensabahnur
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 103
Joined: 27 Nov 2016
Location: Romania

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

06 Dec 2018 21:15

Oh yeah I second that request, would love a mod that does that.
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

06 Dec 2018 23:41

I ended up keeping procedural stars on while also installing the 2 million star pak.  Other galaxies and star clusters look really boring without procedural stars on.  Also, in the console it shows a bunch of errors, they seem mostly to be about wrong spectral type, etc.  There are literally a hundred or more of these errors where it says a Gaia star has the wrong spectral type.  I didn't turn off Hipparcos for that reason, and I saw JD uploaded a new Hipparcos file, whats in that file and what is it supposed to do?
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1142
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

07 Dec 2018 00:49

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post and I saw JD uploaded a new Hipparcos file, whats in that file and what is it supposed to do?

This is a file without stars. So an almost an empty file. If you put it in 'data\catalogs\stars', it removes all Hipparchos stars from SpaceEngine.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

07 Dec 2018 23:57

Thanks JD.  Which of these Gaia files would you recommend?  I like the 2M 1000 LY pak myself but I also like the 5M 20+ luminosity pak, can I install both of them together?  The 2M doesn't lag my system.  I wanted to also install the 5M pak to see if they show cluster stars and see what the most luminous and most distant stars they show are.

Also, what is with all these console errors where it says the spectral types are wrong?  Are those stars actually being rendered?
 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1142
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 00:16

A-L-E-X wrote:
Source of the post Which of these Gaia files would you recommend?

I do not know.
I'm using a self-made 2M file, with stars in a radius of less than 7000 Parsek and an apparent brightness over 6.
An apparent brightness above 6 means that many stars that are already in the Hipparchos catalog do not appear in my Gaia catalog.
And I have no console messages.
JackDole's Universe: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=71
JackDole's Archive: http://forum.spaceengine.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=419
JackDole: Mega structures ... http://old.spaceengine.org/forum/17-3252-1 (Old forum)
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 00:43

How do you organize their spectral type?  The console messages all refer to the stars being of wrong spectral type, saying that spectral types XYZ do not exist (they arent in the regular OBAFGKM format.)

I found this on Gaia also and wonder when Gaia's discovered exoplanets and quasars will be included:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaia_(spacecraft)#Mission_progress

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/01/scie ... y-way.html

The Gaia targets represent approximately 1% of the Milky Way population[10] with all stars brighter than magnitude 20 in a broad photometric band that covers most of the visual range.[13] Additionally, Gaia is expected to detect thousands to tens of thousands of Jupiter-sized exoplanets beyond the Solar System,[14] 500,000 quasars outside our galaxy and tens of thousands of new asteroids and comets within the Solar System.[15][16][17]
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 04:09

JD would you want to share that file?  It sounds like you compiled a good list.

The reason why I am not turning off Hipparcos or Procedural is because of this- there are a lot more of these spectral class errors when I scrolled up (also I have a question, is there anywhere previous console messages get saved to from previous running of the program?  I took out the 5M pak because I was getting weird console errors from it and it would not let me write in the console but I want to retrieve the old console errors, are they saved in a log file?)

console1.jpg
console1.jpg (228.33 KiB) Viewed 77 times


console2.jpg
console2.jpg (232.69 KiB) Viewed 77 times
 
A-L-E-X
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1101
Joined: 06 Mar 2017

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 04:38

For Phunnie- when were the latest updates made to the files? In the changelog it doesn't specify that.  I downloaded the files on 11/26 were there any changes made after that?

Also, in the screenshots, the 3M version looks a lot more detailed than the 5M version- is that only because that's a zoomed in view?

What do you make of those console errors?  Will the proper color and type of the stars be shown?

Also I wish there was a way to merge the 2M (1000 LY) and 5M catalogs and remove the duplicates, I totally would get that.  Showing all the stars within 1000 LY AND all the stars with a luminosity 20X the sun's no matter the distance would be neat.  You could also merge out the Hipparcos duplicates.
 
User avatar
Phunnie
Astronaut
Astronaut
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Contact:

GAIA to SpaceEngine catalogs

08 Dec 2018 12:24

A-L-E-X wrote:
For Phunnie- when were the latest updates made to the files? In the changelog it doesn't specify that.  I downloaded the files on 11/26 were there any changes made after that?

No. I haven't had much time.

A-L-E-X wrote:
Also, in the screenshots, the 3M version looks a lot more detailed than the 5M version- is that only because that's a zoomed in view?

That or I might have had a magnitude difference too.

A-L-E-X wrote:
What do you make of those console errors?  Will the proper color and type of the stars be shown?

No idea, I don't get those errors. I think I may know by what it's caused, but I'm not entirely sure how it even happened in the first place.

A-L-E-X wrote:
Also I wish there was a way to merge the 2M (1000 LY) and 5M catalogs and remove the duplicates, I totally would get that.  Showing all the stars within 1000 LY AND all the stars with a luminosity 20X the sun's no matter the distance would be neat.  You could also merge out the Hipparcos duplicates.

I'm working on it. Much easier said than done. The duplicates do not have same RA and DEC so I have to find a range/uncertainty for those duplicates.
Oh. I have a youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/Phunnie
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest