Free planetarium

 
G_S
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 May 2017

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

23 Oct 2017 20:40

Could somebody please explain me what I'm doing wrong? I want to glue a texture.
Cubebox.exe is working very well but I have a problem with the Glue.exe
Error: Can't Open FIle:

Image

When I change StartU/V to -29 and -27:
Image
Last edited by G_S on 26 Oct 2017 01:07, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Posts: 489
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

24 Oct 2017 01:18

1) You specified a wrong folder, D:/test/in does not has tile files (as text in the terminal says). You must specify D:/test/in/neg_x and so on.
2) Even that folder indeed has no files called 0_x_x.png except 0_0_0.png (as text in the terminal says). Zero level has one tile, first level has 4 tiles, and so on. If you want to stitch the most detailed level, choose the right prefix (6 or whatever?) and OutWidth/OutHeight (they must be TileWidth * 2prefix, TileHeight * 2prefix).
3) U and V indices cannot be negative.
4) It seems that you want to convert the cubemapped texture back to cylindrical. Glue.exe cannot do that, it only can merge each of cube faces back to a single large square textures.
 
User avatar
MineCrafter473
Observer
Observer
Posts: 11
Joined: 01 Sep 2017

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

24 Oct 2017 02:45

I have a question. I saw a mod that added the grand canyon with high detail that even the hd and ultra packs. I am trying to do that with my local city. I used google maps downloader to get the high quality images but now I have ran into a problem. I cant get this level of detail in a cylindrical map to convert with cubemap.exe because it is to high resolution. the section I want is not to bad but I don't know what to do from here.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Posts: 489
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

25 Oct 2017 13:05

Unfortunately, CubeMap.exe cannot be used for that. You have to use some GIS software to do conversion.
 
G_S
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 May 2017

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

26 Oct 2017 01:04

SpaceEngineer wrote:
1) You specified a wrong folder, D:/test/in does not has tile files (as text in the terminal says). You must specify D:/test/in/neg_x and so on.
2) Even that folder indeed has no files called 0_x_x.png except 0_0_0.png (as text in the terminal says). Zero level has one tile, first level has 4 tiles, and so on. If you want to stitch the most detailed level, choose the right prefix (6 or whatever?) and OutWidth/OutHeight (they must be TileWidth * 2prefix, TileHeight * 2prefix).
3) U and V indices cannot be negative.
4) It seems that you want to convert the cubemapped texture back to cylindrical. Glue.exe cannot do that, it only can merge each of cube faces back to a single large square textures.

Thank you for the detailed information. I did a very simple test:
258x 258 prefix 0
(in the RAW file is still missing a part of South America?)
Image
Second test:
516x 516 (2x 2) RAW file is totally corrupted!
Image
Any suggestions?
Thank you.
 
User avatar
MineCrafter473
Observer
Observer
Posts: 11
Joined: 01 Sep 2017

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

26 Oct 2017 06:07

what GIS software would you recommend.
 
User avatar
SpaceEngineer
Author of SpaceEngine
Author of SpaceEngine
Posts: 489
Joined: 17 May 2016
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Contact:

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

26 Oct 2017 09:35

G_S wrote:
Source of the post Thank you for the detailed information. I did a very simple test:
258x 258 prefix 0
(in the RAW file is still missing a part of South America?)

Are you sure your tiles are 258*258, not 256*256?
G_S wrote:
Source of the post Second test:
516x 516 (2x 2) RAW file is totally corrupted!

Glue.exe is not designed to merge tiles with a border. It will merge them, but the result will be incorrect: it will not skip borders, so you will have doubled pixel columns at each 258th column, and so on with rows.
MineCrafter473 wrote:
Source of the post what GIS software would you recommend.

I am not familiar with them, maybe you can ask Klud.
 
G_S
Observer
Observer
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 May 2017

Glue.exe question (textures stiching)

27 Oct 2017 02:18

SpaceEngineer wrote:
G_S wrote:
Source of the post Thank you for the detailed information. I did a very simple test:
258x 258 prefix 0
(in the RAW file is still missing a part of South America?)

Are you sure your tiles are 258*258, not 256*256?

Yes: 258x 258. This is a standard texture from the Solar system Ultra download. I just want to study how the script is working. I thought somebody mention that the tiles becoming after export with cube application 258x 258.
Is my default_glue.gcf correctly set up?  https://i.imgur.com/6HqVpta.jpg
Thank you

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest