Page 7 of 8

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 22 May 2019 02:57
by Messier
HarbingerDawn wrote:
Messier wrote:
Source of the post am I talking rubbish?

Yes

Ah. Straight to the point I see. Oh well, I tried...

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 26 May 2019 01:22
by SuperMarioFan126
Apparently nobody understands that volumetric clouds in SpaceEngine are impossible. (except for SE mods and SpaceEngineer himself)

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 29 May 2019 19:41
by Julian
SuperMarioFan126 wrote:
Apparently nobody understands that volumetric clouds in SpaceEngine are impossible. (except for SE mods and SpaceEngineer himself)

It's not impossible, it just takes more effort. What about this: use the base SE cloud shader, but smoothly fade in a volumetric shader when the camera gets to a certain distance from the clould layer, and smoothly fade out the polygons of the base shader (but what do you do about zoomed-in views?) Where the base shader is transparent, the volumetric shader must also become transparent.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 04 Jun 2019 21:54
by SuperMarioFan126
Ah.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 18 Jun 2019 12:42
by Terran
I agree that it is not impossible, but rather extremely impractical. It would probably require a decent modification to the engine to pull off, I can totally see it being done though. (by space engineer that is)

Personally I would recommend a fractal that is reflected and modulated to save performance, and somehow stretched or something to appear more cloudlike. I would ditch transparency for the most part unless it could be done without causing massive lag. I have poor experience with this kind of programming so all I can say is: without an engine update to allow for this, no modification can pull this off.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 26 Sep 2019 07:58
by SalgadoUniverse
How do I install this modification for the most recent version of steam? probe install it in the following path C: \ Program Files (x86) \ Steam \ steamapps \ common \ SpaceEngine \ addons

however I do not see any modification in the lands of the planets and moons.

I want to install this modification so that the biomes of the planets with more landscape diversities are more realistic.

can anybody help me?

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 26 Sep 2019 11:42
by donatelo200
You have to delete the cache before the mod will load.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 10 Mar 2020 14:54
by spectralSquire
When I try to install this mod manually, I get a ton of weird rendering issues and visual artifacting in game. I took a screenshot of a particularly nasty example: 
► Show Spoiler


Is there anything I'm doing wrong here, or does this mod simply not work anymore with modern versions of Space Engine?

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 10 Mar 2020 17:50
by Mosfet
The latter. It doesn't work well right now, it does that.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 11 Mar 2020 22:27
by JackDole
spectralSquire wrote:
Source of the post  get a ton of weird rendering issues and visual artifacting in game. I took a screenshot of a particularly nasty example:

As far as I know, this has nothing to do with Rodrigo's Mod. (At least not only.)
I am not using this mod and I also have the problem occasionally. Deleting the 'cache' folder in the SpaceEngine directory helps.
(I suspect it has something to do with the graphics settings being too high and insufficient VRAM available.)
scr00122.jpg

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 14 Jun 2020 14:11
by Julian
Rodrigo, thanks for making the 0.990 version of your mod available on Steam Workshop. I've noticed one peculiarity sometimes: grass growing on top of snow.
Image

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 16 Oct 2020 12:54
by LigH
I tried to install the PAK file for v0.99 on v0.990.41 and got an error message that shaders could not be loaded.

But then I found that it is available in the Steam workshop, and this one works nicely.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 17 Oct 2020 04:38
by A-L-E-X
HarbingerDawn wrote:
Messier wrote:
Source of the post am I talking rubbish?

Yes

Hey HD, from your sig I see that you have a Ryzen 3700X...how much of a boost in performance is it over the Ryzen 2700X and what board are you using?  It says you have 64GB RAM, is it in a 16x4 configuration or 32x2?  Thanks, I'm considering upgrading my 2700X to the 3700X and I have an Asus X470-F Gaming board.

Also, will this mod work well with 0.990 or should I not put it on there?

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 21 Oct 2020 12:23
by A-L-E-X
Got a question....I downloaded Rodrigo's Mod from the workshop, but I found there's a regular version and a "Beta" version?  Is the regular one the one to get?  I also downloaded a separate clouds add-on that says it requires Rodrigo's Mod as well as a Trappist-1 mod that says it uses it.  Should I also add the "Beta" Rodrigo's Mod also, or just stick with the regular one I now have?

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 21 Oct 2020 23:54
by JackDole
If the normal version works for you, stick with it. If not, take the beta version. But only ever take one version!
(By the way, Rodrigo's mod will probably no longer work in the next version. It would then have to be changed again.)