Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
JackDole
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 1054
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: Terra

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

20 Apr 2018 01:09

kham132,
the 'Height' parameter in the Clouds section alters the height of the clouds.
Otherwise this addon would not work.
scr00043.jpg

The inner layers are cloud layers. With negative value for the height.
 
User avatar
Gnargenox
World Builder
World Builder
Posts: 603
Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Location: 179° 56′ 39.4″ +0° 2′ 46.2″ @ 7,940 ± 420 pc

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

20 Apr 2018 05:39

Perhaps you mean Bump Height of the cloud layer. Or Bump Offset, I'm not sure what the difference is between those. I think if you have oceans, the cloud Bump Offset should match the ocean's depth, the Height being the elevation above sea level and the Bump Height the actual thickness of the clouds. I'm probably wrong though lol
CPU: AMD FX-8350 8 core processor 4GHz / GPU: GeForce GT 730 @ 1920x1080, 60Hz with 1GB adapter RAM / RAM: Patriot Signature 4GB 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 (only 2GB work, don't buy it) / Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming MS-7693
 
User avatar
kham132
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 61
Joined: 05 Nov 2016
Location: here

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

20 Apr 2018 19:36

Or maybe the "float height" parameter in the 'tg_clouds_height' file.
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 409
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

02 May 2018 20:16

kham132 wrote:
Or maybe the "float height" parameter in the 'tg_clouds_height' file.

Ja, that is what I had been assuming would manipulate the thickness (bumpHeight) of the clouds without actually affecting the area size (coverage) of the clouds. I tried several variations inside the actual brackets as well, still no luck.
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
rodrigo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Feb 2017

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

30 May 2018 18:23

I upladed an update for 0.9.8, including a "ground roughness" effect that follows the terrain color change in terras, deserts and titans

Image
 
rodrigo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Feb 2017

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

30 May 2018 18:25

I wonder if SpaceEngineer could look into this shader modification to see if this could be done with the next update. It's pretty effective to increase realism
 
User avatar
tRetro-Visor
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 178
Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Location: Chile
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

31 May 2018 01:12

The update somewhat gives cliffs to shores. very interesting
Image
Image
Good Job on these. A shame the shaders in 0.990 are password protected
 
User avatar
PlutonianEmpire
Pioneer
Pioneer
Posts: 409
Joined: 02 Nov 2016
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

03 Jun 2018 15:22

I was looking through the code, and I noticed that some of the hills and montes were given variable features based on the rivers. Very neat!

This also reminded me of a post I saw on reddit, where this guy posted a pic of a portion of the Sahara that looked like lazy texturing, and found out these mounds of dune formations, were actually called Dune Stars. Would it be possible to do something similar with the SE dunes, and make them variable like the hills and montes are?

One idea might be to use dunesFraction as the controller, rather than the rivers like with the Montes?

Image

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dune#Star
Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
User avatar
Julian
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 116
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

03 Jun 2018 15:51

PlutonianEmpire wrote:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dune#Star

You could achieve something similar on a custom planet with a low hillsMagn and a very high hillsFreq.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest