Page 5 of 7

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 30 Nov 2017 11:16
by beyond
thank you so much :)

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 11 Jan 2018 19:09
by Kspeher
This mod greatly help me with creating my mod, and I'm very grateful for that. Keep up the good work!

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 31 Jan 2018 17:13
by JediTrekkie
What do I tweak in the script to get the Europa-like terrain? 

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 07 Feb 2018 22:33
by Julian
JediTrekkie, to get Europa-like terrain, cracksFreq must be 0.6 or greater.

rodrigo, on the Help with creating Mods and Addons thread, we were wondering if you could modify the ice world code so that we can choose the color of the cracks ourselves, instead of being limited to Europa-style and Enceladus-style.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 08 Feb 2018 19:04
by RamjetExhaust
Amazing!

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 10 Feb 2018 16:31
by RamjetExhaust
Really cool mod makes planets a lot more interesting.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 18 Feb 2018 23:15
by Roswell
I'm disapointed to stuck on the version 0.9.8.0 -__-'

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 11 Mar 2018 17:35
by kham132
I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask, but I'm using this mod while having this issue, and maybe there is a connection.
How do I get rid of the black spots on planets with complete cloud coverage?
Image
I've edited the attached files a bit, but I don't feel like those are the causes of my issue. Anything will help, thank you!

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 11 Apr 2018 20:31
by kham132
I've made an edit to the clouds so that they'd look more like cloud patterns on Earth.
Earth in real life:
Image
Earth with the shader:
Image
Other planets:
Image
Image
A tidally locked planet:
Image
Keep in mid that I have little to no idea on how the parameters change the looks of the clouds, and this is the best I could achieve. 
Put both the attached files into the addons>shaders file.
 

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 12 Apr 2018 10:46
by Destructor1701
Wow, that's a great start. Definitely has that "noisy" quality of Earth's cloud patterns, and isn't overly sharp or cartoonish, as SE's stock clouds can often look.

It does seem to lack vortices, though. I tend to think the vortices in SE at present are over-simplified.

I hope you keep working on this, because whatever you did - I think you're on to something.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 16 Apr 2018 16:03
by PlutonianEmpire
Ja, very good! That blue planet right before the tidelocked on seems to have that equatorial band of clouds Kham asked for in the other thread! :D

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 16 Apr 2018 18:38
by PlutonianEmpire
Destructor1701 wrote:
Wow, that's a great start. Definitely has that "noisy" quality of Earth's cloud patterns, and isn't overly sharp or cartoonish, as SE's stock clouds can often look.

It does seem to lack vortices, though. I tend to think the vortices in SE at present are over-simplified.

I hope you keep working on this, because whatever you did - I think you're on to something.

When messing around with merging it with my clouds, I noticed it indeed lacked vortices. Adding my code and tweaking it seemed to bring them back.

However, adding my code also seemed to make it almost impossible to reduce the coverage levels, since I have height multiplied by 3 because I hate how shallow the standard SE clouds are, causing high coverage planets to be almost completely obscured

tg_clouds_height.glsl
(7.88 KiB) Downloaded 375 times

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 18 Apr 2018 18:16
by kham132
PlutonianEmpire, try these edits. I added vorticies, and lowered the cloud height

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 18 Apr 2018 23:41
by PlutonianEmpire
kham132 wrote:
PlutonianEmpire, try these edits. I added vorticies, and lowered the cloud height

Ja I did what I could to have extremely tall clouds without sacrificing the clear areas, but no dice ;_;

Specifically, what I was trying to do was to make my cloud mod be as compatible with as many of other people's clouds mods as possible. In my case, the cloud bumpheights have always been too low/too small for my liking, so really I was taking everything together and multiplying the height by 3 to get more dramatic visuals on procedural planets

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 19 Apr 2018 17:35
by kham132
PlutonianEmpire, the CloudHeight parameter doesn't change the actual height of the clouds, rather how intensely they cover the planet. If there was a way to actually change the height of the clouds, I'd guess that it wouldn't be in the shaders.