Page 3 of 8

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 17 Jul 2017 14:18
by SpaceNer
Thanks for toning down the spiky rocks, but i don't like this terrain thing shown in some of my  pictures.
I don't like the top detail and the "wing shapes" on the tip of mountains, hills, dunes, etc
Its like its low detail, very low detail. I want those fixed to be normal tops like the normal spaceengine tops or tops that are detailed

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 17 Jul 2017 19:00
by donatelo200
I've noticed that volcanoes "magma" doesn't line up with the volcano itself in version 0.9.8.1.Image

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 19 Jul 2017 02:46
by Jackdaw
Wow, it looks just GREAT! 
► Show Spoiler

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 19 Jul 2017 03:49
by rodrigo
donatelo200 wrote:
I've noticed that volcanoes "magma" doesn't line up with the volcano itself in version 0.9.8.1.


 I just recently got access to 0.9.8.1 so I´ll look into it.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 19 Jul 2017 03:51
by Jackdaw
rodrigo wrote:
donatelo200 wrote:
I've noticed that volcanoes "magma" doesn't line up with the volcano itself in version 0.9.8.1.


 I just recently got access to 0.9.8.1 so I´ll look into it.

How did you get access to 0.9.8.1? Just curious. 

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 19 Jul 2017 03:59
by rodrigo
 I´ve solicited beta testing back when it was open, but never really downloaded until recently... Just forgot to check my messages!

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 19 Jul 2017 06:50
by rodrigo
SpaceNer wrote:
Thanks for toning down the spiky rocks, but i don't like this terrain thing shown in some of my  pictures.
I don't like the top detail and the "wing shapes" on the tip of mountains, hills, dunes, etc
Its like its low detail, very low detail. I want those fixed to be normal tops like the normal spaceengine tops or tops that are detailed

Try editing main-user.cfg, change PlanetDetailTerra value to 0.003

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 19 Jul 2017 12:23
by rodrigo
New Update to fix small bugs
also included 0.9.8.1 version fixing the volcano lava issue

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 27 Jul 2017 04:43
by Betelgeuze
I need Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds download for SE 0.9.7.3 version because SE 0.9.8.0 version is not working on my old computer  I need save my money for new computer to get SE 0.9.8.0

Also Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds SE 0.9.8.0 is incompatible for SE 0.9.7.3

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 03 Aug 2017 09:30
by JCandeias
I tried these shaders and I just thought I'd drop a small note.

I'd absolutely love them if they were an addition to what SE currently gives us instead of a replacement. I'd love to have Rodrigo's landforms added to SpaceEngineer's for one very good reason: terrain generation needs a whole lot more variety to avoid looking more or less the same pretty much everywhere (except perhaps pseudo-rivers; since they're overall unrealistic I wouldn't mind to have only Rodrigo's version because it looks less artificial). I know Rodrigo can't do it himself, though, but do I wish in the near future there could be several versions of the various landforms, like there is now for hills.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 05 Aug 2017 12:30
by Julian
Rodrigo, the technique you're using to generate rivers now looks very interesting, but sometimes it becomes obvious that one riverbank has rounded terrain, and the opposite bank has ridged terrain. They're like two halves of a mould.

scr00114.jpg

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 05 Aug 2017 12:50
by Julian
JCandeias wrote:
I know Rodrigo can't do it himself, though, but do I wish in the near future there could be several versions of the various landforms, like there is now for hills.

It might be possible to add code to Rodrigo's mod that generates an invisible fractal noise pattern over an entire world's surface, and parts of the surface with one range of noise values can use SpaceEngineer's shaders, and another range of values can use Rodrigo's shaders. The ranges can be determined by a random number unique to each world. However, this may end up making terrain rendering a lot slower. SpaceEngineer warned us on the old forum not to put too many "if" statements into a shader.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 05 Aug 2017 16:56
by JCandeias
Would they blend into eachother seamlessly, though?

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 05 Aug 2017 17:46
by Julian
I don't know! This is probably going to take someone who actually knows how to write GLSL.

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

Posted: 06 Aug 2017 11:45
by HarbingerDawn
rodrigo wrote:
Source of the post also included 0.9.8.1 version fixing the volcano lava issue

Just got around to testing it, and I still have this issue.