Ultimate space simulation software

 
User avatar
SpaceNer
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 32
Joined: 28 May 2017
Location: Proxima B

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

17 Jul 2017 14:18

Thanks for toning down the spiky rocks, but i don't like this terrain thing shown in some of my  pictures.
I don't like the top detail and the "wing shapes" on the tip of mountains, hills, dunes, etc
Its like its low detail, very low detail. I want those fixed to be normal tops like the normal spaceengine tops or tops that are detailed
Attachments
Screenshot_107.png
Screenshot_108.png
Screenshot_109.png
 
User avatar
donatelo200
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Posts: 36
Joined: 08 Dec 2016

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

17 Jul 2017 19:00

I've noticed that volcanoes "magma" doesn't line up with the volcano itself in version 0.9.8.1.Image
CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)
 
User avatar
Jackdaw
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 44
Joined: 05 Jul 2017
Location: TRAPPIST-1 e
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

19 Jul 2017 02:46

Wow, it looks just GREAT! 
► Show Spoiler
"...perch`e i nostri discorsi hanno a essere sopra un mondo sensibile, e non sopra un mondo di carta."

CPU: Intel Core i7 5700HQ GPU: NVidia GeForce GTX 970M RAM: 16 GBs
 
rodrigo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Feb 2017

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

19 Jul 2017 03:49

donatelo200 wrote:
I've noticed that volcanoes "magma" doesn't line up with the volcano itself in version 0.9.8.1.


 I just recently got access to 0.9.8.1 so I´ll look into it.
 
User avatar
Jackdaw
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 44
Joined: 05 Jul 2017
Location: TRAPPIST-1 e
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

19 Jul 2017 03:51

rodrigo wrote:
donatelo200 wrote:
I've noticed that volcanoes "magma" doesn't line up with the volcano itself in version 0.9.8.1.


 I just recently got access to 0.9.8.1 so I´ll look into it.

How did you get access to 0.9.8.1? Just curious. 
"...perch`e i nostri discorsi hanno a essere sopra un mondo sensibile, e non sopra un mondo di carta."

CPU: Intel Core i7 5700HQ GPU: NVidia GeForce GTX 970M RAM: 16 GBs
 
rodrigo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Feb 2017

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

19 Jul 2017 03:59

 I´ve solicited beta testing back when it was open, but never really downloaded until recently... Just forgot to check my messages!
 
rodrigo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Feb 2017

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

19 Jul 2017 06:50

SpaceNer wrote:
Thanks for toning down the spiky rocks, but i don't like this terrain thing shown in some of my  pictures.
I don't like the top detail and the "wing shapes" on the tip of mountains, hills, dunes, etc
Its like its low detail, very low detail. I want those fixed to be normal tops like the normal spaceengine tops or tops that are detailed

Try editing main-user.cfg, change PlanetDetailTerra value to 0.003
 
rodrigo
Space Tourist
Space Tourist
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Feb 2017

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

19 Jul 2017 12:23

New Update to fix small bugs
also included 0.9.8.1 version fixing the volcano lava issue
 
User avatar
Betelgeuze
Space Pilot
Space Pilot
Posts: 86
Joined: 24 Apr 2017
Location: Belgium

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

27 Jul 2017 04:43

I need Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds download for SE 0.9.7.3 version because SE 0.9.8.0 version is not working on my old computer  I need save my money for new computer to get SE 0.9.8.0

Also Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds SE 0.9.8.0 is incompatible for SE 0.9.7.3
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

03 Aug 2017 09:30

I tried these shaders and I just thought I'd drop a small note.

I'd absolutely love them if they were an addition to what SE currently gives us instead of a replacement. I'd love to have Rodrigo's landforms added to SpaceEngineer's for one very good reason: terrain generation needs a whole lot more variety to avoid looking more or less the same pretty much everywhere (except perhaps pseudo-rivers; since they're overall unrealistic I wouldn't mind to have only Rodrigo's version because it looks less artificial). I know Rodrigo can't do it himself, though, but do I wish in the near future there could be several versions of the various landforms, like there is now for hills.
My addons are to be found at JCandeias' Ships

Current count: 2
 
User avatar
Julian
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 73
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

05 Aug 2017 12:30

Rodrigo, the technique you're using to generate rivers now looks very interesting, but sometimes it becomes obvious that one riverbank has rounded terrain, and the opposite bank has ridged terrain. They're like two halves of a mould.

scr00114.jpg
 
User avatar
Julian
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 73
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

05 Aug 2017 12:50

JCandeias wrote:
I know Rodrigo can't do it himself, though, but do I wish in the near future there could be several versions of the various landforms, like there is now for hills.

It might be possible to add code to Rodrigo's mod that generates an invisible fractal noise pattern over an entire world's surface, and parts of the surface with one range of noise values can use SpaceEngineer's shaders, and another range of values can use Rodrigo's shaders. The ranges can be determined by a random number unique to each world. However, this may end up making terrain rendering a lot slower. SpaceEngineer warned us on the old forum not to put too many "if" statements into a shader.
 
User avatar
JCandeias
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 70
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
Location: Portugal

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

05 Aug 2017 16:56

Would they blend into eachother seamlessly, though?
My addons are to be found at JCandeias' Ships

Current count: 2
 
User avatar
Julian
Astronaut
Astronaut
Posts: 73
Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

05 Aug 2017 17:46

I don't know! This is probably going to take someone who actually knows how to write GLSL.
 
User avatar
HarbingerDawn
SE Team Member
SE Team Member
Posts: 367
Joined: 22 Aug 2016
Location: CT, USA
Contact:

Rodrigos Terrain & Clouds Mod

06 Aug 2017 11:45

rodrigo wrote:
Source of the post also included 0.9.8.1 version fixing the volcano lava issue

Just got around to testing it, and I still have this issue.
Ryzen 7 1700 OC to 3.8 GHz, 32 GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6144 MB VRAM
Posts on old forum: 8717

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest